We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing weekend at the London”

The London Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The London Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing weekend at the London”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My sister,husband and I spent yet another relaxing long weekend at the London,our fifth in four years(usually just have a weekend in the summer but got in an autumn break aswell last year!)My sister had a twin bedroom in the main house(en suite)and we had our usual garden room.The new owners Nick and Angela are lovely(though we will miss Jon!)and Trish provides a very varied breakfast with as much as you want/need to start the day!Access to the beach and centre of Lyme is a couple of minutes walk away.The use of the garden (including a summer house to sit in if the weather is not so kind to you)and the views(if the weather IS good) is an added bonus!!Our only worry is that we may not be so lucky in getting a reservation next summer as the amount of rooms available is being reduced from 10 to 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
338 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent two nights at The London and found it utterly charming and comfortable. The hosts were helpful and friendly. the center of Lyme is just a short walk away and the view of Lyme Bay from the garden is simply spectacular. Though not a full breakfast, it was quite nice and high quality. the room was very spacious and comfortable. I would not hesitate to return or recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlanticTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We arrived at 3pm and checked in straight away.
The new owners have just taken over (that day) so was a little bit hit and miss but were very friendly and helpfull. We had a garden room which was ok, I wouldn't say accomadation was a 4 star but it was ok. The view however from the garden was a 4 star and breath taking. Lyme Regis town was a 3 min walk so the location was perfect. We had a fish and chip supper in the town. Our daughter had a sofa bed, we had to ask for the sheets and douvet cover as there was not any in the room. We put the cover on the douvet and started to make up her bed, wasn't that clean to be honest. The seagulls woke us up for breakfast in the morning, we were tols on booking that breakfast was continental only so cereal and toast was ok. The good thing was we were able to leave our car in the car park after we checked out and that gave us plenty of time to spend in Lyme Regis town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily11903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taunton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

we stayed for 3 nights at the London and were very happy with the service. John was very welcoming and helpful and we felt quite at home. The room was great and the breakfast was lovely and we all enjoyed the garden with wonderful views. The London is ideally placed, just a short walk into town and free parking for guests. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathryn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Our second visit,and again a wonderful experience. Comfortable,clean,and what a view from the garden overlooking the Jurassic coast! Everything was done to ensure our stay was enjoyable. The staff were friendly, and the breakfast delicious.We stayed in a smaller room in the house, then moved to a larger garden room. Both are comfortable,but recommend a garden room as there is more space.Only a 5 minute walk to the sea and the centre of Lyme was an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a superb familyroom with beds, sofa, table, refrigerator, bathtub and tea, coffe and biscuits. The mainbuilding was a couple of hundred years old and that's where breakfast was served. The garden was lovely and the view was absolutely fantastic over the sea and cliffs. We brought our afternoon tea out there and enjoyed the sceenery.
They have free wifi but unfortunately it didn´t work in our room which was too far away from the main building.
The staff was very helpful and sweet. We'd love to come back. I guess the price was ok since Lyme Regis is a popular city to visit. It was a nice walk in to town either close to the sea or along the narrow street. The pavements are very narrow so you have to walk in line. The host and hostess made us feel like we were at home.

Room Tip: I think we hade the most quiet room in the annex. But there you are not able to use the wifi because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 4 nights. We would recommend a garden room which gives you more space and a couch. The room, although old, was comfortable with ensuite. Breakfast was an extensive continental with fruits, yogurts, range of cereals, toasts, fancy cheeses and sliced meat. We would recommend this place. A real advantage - it's beside the sea and does not necessitate climbing hills which many places in Lyme Regis do.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Garret B & B
The Garret B & B
#28 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#15 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London Guesthouse

Property: The London Guesthouse
Address: 40 Church Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th Century former coaching inn now offering comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices (from £60 for a double with shared bathroom, £65-£75 for a double en suite, and £95-£110 for a family room, all including breakfast). Free parking in our own private car park.Great views from the garden overlooking Lyme Bay.Just 4 minutes walk to Lyme Regis seafront and town centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The London Guesthouse Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing