We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whole Hog

The Whole Hog
Ranked #2 of 80 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very, very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stumbled upon this unassuming 'take away' upon a stay in Lyme Regis. Well what a find! We truly had one of the tastiest lunches we have had in a while. Soft, white baps loaded with roast pork, crackling, stuffing, apple sauce and gravy. What a winning combination and a welcome treat! We will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 291samanthah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    35
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic pork sandwich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Went down to lyme for bank holiday weekend, we popped down to the Whole Hog for a bite to eat ,it turned out to be Sunday lunch on a bap!!!
Absolutely tremendous!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very tasty pork bap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Second time of visiting The Whole Hog and wasn't disappointed. My partner and I both had the roast pork which was loaded into a soft bap. Its not something you have everyday but its worth looking forward to. The location of business is tucked away with access off the main road opposite a bookshop at the bottom of the town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank garyj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“a roast dinner in a roll!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Noticed this place for the first time, they do a roast (we had pork and apple) and then shred the meat, put it in a roll with apple sauce, onions and stuffing and then gravy. I have to say it didn't need the onions, they overpowered it a bit and I don't recommend eating it on the beach as you will be divebombed by seagulls! but its definitely a nice way of having a light roast lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plain & Simply Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Drop in & order at the counter & watch whilst the meat is cut & pulled, none of this watching the meat being scooped out of luke warm water & wishing they'd cut the piece you're looking at.
Lovely soft, fresh rolls. Plenty of extras if you want them.
Ideal snack on the go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Whole Hog also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Whole Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing