We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!!!”
Review of The Whole Hog

The Whole Hog
Ranked #2 of 81 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chard
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner seen this place a few times but never went in, we decided to give it a try today instead of the local fish & chips and it definitely didn't let us down! The pork and apple sandwich with everything is to die for, the crackling was the best I've had and the pork was tender and juicy, very friendly service and the orange juice was perfectly refreshing on a lovely hot day, highly recommend a visit! :-D

Helpful?
Thank BillyVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    35
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Still great”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

4th year of visiting and still just as good. Managed to eat here twice during the week (there has to be a limit!) and the pork rolls are just as good as I remember. Pork, stuffing, onions, gravy, apple sauce and a bit of crackling if you're lucky. Fully stuffed roll that will keep you going for ages, just be warned that they close once they sell out which can be before midday. On the road on the left hand side at the bottom of the hill (underneath new Sea Salt shop). Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We love it!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Yummy is all I can say, every time we come to lyme we look forward to getting a pork bap to eat on the beach it is so delicious. Be warned get there early on a Saturday as they sell out fast!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimsum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Best takeaway meal I have ever had”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It is a simple concept - a roast meal in a large bap. The meat was cooked to perfection. All the trimmings came as standard. We sat on the seafront to eat our most splendid of sandwiches. My husband is not usually keen to eat takeaway food and prefers a pub lunch...but he was beguiled by the lovely smells emanating from this small shop...he certainly did not regret trying something new. When we return to Lyme Regis we will certainly be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MestaChios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tender and Tasty”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This fantastic restaurant offers a yeast/gluten free option. My roast pork was tender and very tasty and came with all of the trimmings except the huge soft bap! A brilliant 5* lunch as usual. My family love to go to this restaurant when they visit. It's their favourite one in Lyme. They do sell out every day so get there early!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shamawarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Whole Hog also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Whole Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing