We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adults and kids enojyed it and we learned lots”

Dinosaurland Fossil Museum
Ranked #6 of 29 things to do in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A traditional museum with more than 10000 specimens on permanent display.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adults and kids enojyed it and we learned lots”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It cost £16 to get in (family ticket), which isn't too bad I suppose. Lots of artefacts to look at and lots of interesting information to take-in. A quiz for the kids to do which really helped to keep them amused. I learned some amazing facts about the formation and evolution of the planet. Don’t bother with this one if your kids get bored easily or aren’t into natural history. But we all really enjoyed it (kids are 8 and 10) and recommend it if you have an hour to spare.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markcook32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    61
    15
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

2 adults a 9 year old and a 10 year old. Not overpriced, and ALL of us learnt soo much. We were given a quiz to answer and were all fascinated. Quirky little rooms packed floor to ceiling. Lovely chat with the extremely helpful owners who pointed out how to find our own fossils on the beach. Souvenir shop not over priced. Lovely hour spent.

Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor and boring”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Some bits are interesting. But ultimately it's a tired old museum in desperate need of a refresh and modernisation to engage adults and children. The exhibits are a mishmash of extinct and current and it is very cluttered with a musty smell.

Go if you are keen to support local businesses, if not then I wouldn't bother.

Helpful?
1 Thank RDStruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must for those that love dinosaurs !”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a place that you can see the owners have a real passion for what they have collected, an amazing array of bones and fossils and worth the entrance price with a great shop too you come away really feeling that you have witnessed real history !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“kids loved it!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We went with our kids who absolutely love fossils and dinosaurs. The kids had really enjoyed looking for fossils across the jurassic coast and this museum was crammed full of them with dinosaurs to boot.
The kids happily browsed the museum for a number of hours which had a wealth of great information.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fonzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinosaurland Fossil Museum also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to Dinosaurland Fossil Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing