We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird”

Dinosaurland Fossil Museum
Ranked #7 of 29 things to do in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A traditional museum with more than 10000 specimens on permanent display.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Weird”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is the kind of museum that reminds one why there are degree programs in museum science (and I will go out on a limb and say that this is not a museum curated by the holder of such a degree).

This rather large former church is packed to the gills with fossils, which is certainly to be expected given that it is a fossil museum. But there is also an inexplicable taxidermy exhibit, a small exhibit about the building's past life as a church, and a bizarre diorama of various geological eras and the life on earth during those times. There is even an installation representing what dinosaurs might look like today if they had survived - and it looks bizarrely like something inspired by old episodes of Doctor Who.

The museum has its good points, of course, but is primarily a jumble of fossils and other...stuff...arranged confusingly and accompanied by explanations of dubious factual merit. It's an eccentric place that is packed with oddities but holds questionable scientific or historical value.

At £5 a ticket, the museum is really too poorly laid out and to strangely curated to make it worth a visit. I feel deeply for the people who run the museum, as various signs posted throughout make it very clear that they feel unsupported by the local government, but it simply is not a factual museum so much as it is an eclectic collection and the reflection of a personal passion. Not worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank leralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    63
    17
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great visit”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were taken here by friends of ours that have 2 boys (we have 2 girls), and to our delight I was amazed at what this museum had inside! Fossils, bones, maps, stuffed animal, history, geography its endless. All owned and run by one mans passion for things of the past, and perspective future.
The building itself is a grade 2 listed former church, that the owner is currently renovating to bring back its former glory. He is making the most of its structure with his upper trail of evolution!
The kids had a questionnaire to keep them entertained through the visit, which was entertaining and educational. A quick chat after with the owner, shows that this really is his life's work under one roof.
With a brief history of mankind, evolution, the former church, and life all in one place, its an amazing job that can not be praised enough of in a review. An absolute credit to what he has done,
The visit lasted maybe a little over an hour, so its not a day or even half, so it can easily be fitted around fossil hunting itself (of which we found some on he nearby beach), or whatever you have going on.
Parking could have been an issue, but we used the car park just outside of the town which was easily accessible and signed on the way in, for 2 quid all day, that can not be refused, A 5 min walk and your there
All in a great little museum that is a collection of a mans dedication to his work, recommend to fulfill your day out in Lyme Regis.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KRIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very interesting and packed with fossils and information”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Technically this is a museum but actually it is a huge private collection built over many years by a passionate couple (I met the gentleman who owns it on the way out and he was very pleasant and enthusiastic). It is located in what was once a church and the layout inside is somewhat unique but sensibly designed. There are literally hundreds of samples, although many are similar to each other. The owner provides a lot of information and you could spend hours reading through everything and come away an expert. I would say however that it is probably not really for younger 'dinosaur' enthusiasts and more for older children and adults who are more interested in the geologic and history of the area and of fossils. Having said that the museum has created some displays on the top floor to provide the kids with something to look at (models basically). I wouldn't visit again, not because it wasnt worth a visit but because I don't think I would get any more from doing so. I would however recommend others to visit although if you have kids (maybe 9 and under) you might feel that you should have left them at home or spent the entry fee on ice cream instead as I am not sure they will appreciate it too much

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank darrow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much better than the museum in Doechester”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having had a dull experience at the Dorchester dinosaur museum, we were cautious about trying this one, however we had no need to be cautious as we had a super time. Highly informative, interesting displays, really well set out (for such a small space and such a huge collection) the children loved it. Great quiz to complete, kept them focused and ensured we missed nothing.
This was a real treat. You won't be disappointed, especially if you've tried the museum in Dorchester. It's much better.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blueandsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adults and kids enojyed it and we learned lots”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It cost £16 to get in (family ticket), which isn't too bad I suppose. Lots of artefacts to look at and lots of interesting information to take-in. A quiz for the kids to do which really helped to keep them amused. I learned some amazing facts about the formation and evolution of the planet. Don’t bother with this one if your kids get bored easily or aren’t into natural history. But we all really enjoyed it (kids are 8 and 10) and recommend it if you have an hour to spare.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markcook32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinosaurland Fossil Museum also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to Dinosaurland Fossil Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing