We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Rose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Bernadette (the owner) opens the door to her B&B with a lovely smile. The rooms are clean with a basic style but they have everything you need (wifi, TV and a cup of tea). Typical charming victorian house with impervious staircase and wooden floor. Amazing location literally 2 seconds walk from the beach. I had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia2972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

lovely Bernie runs this cute and historic B&B right by the sea. After a terrible experience at Berrydowns with a very rude, patronising and argumentative landlady Bernie was a welcome relief! The house is very old, and some of the beams are from ships sunk in the Spanish Armada! recommended x

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrpiratepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have visited Lyme Regis lots of times and have always stayed in different b&b's but this one is what Lyme Regis is all about. Its quirky, friendly and full of character and Bernadette is a delightful host who can't do enough for you. Yes it is creaky, windy stairs and uneven floorboards but it's a 17th century house with all the character. If you want a posh hotel - Lyme Regis isn't for you, visit Bournemouth instead!

It doesn't have all the mod cons i.e. en suite and flat screen tv but why would you want to stay in your room when you're in Lyme!

We love Lyme and will always come back and stay at the 'Little Rose'.

P.s. The breakfast is fab!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharp240503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

If you want to experience Lyme Regis from a 17th century cottage with character, this is the place for you. The landlady, Bernie, could not have been more helpful or friendly. We were very late arriving and she went out of her way to accommodate us. The stairs to the upper storey could present a challenge to some people, but were part of the charm of an historic building, and Bernie helped us carry all our (many and heavy) bags up to the second storey rooms. The location was perfect for accessing the life of Lyme, though awkward for loading and unloading. Again, Bernie provided excellent and accurate information to help with this and parking. The breakfast was excellent and the shower very good. Very good value for money. Four literary minded, well travelled, not so young women who can still manage the stairs.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the front room as it can be noisy. No fitness centre or swimming pool. Accident...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We were hoping for a warm, cosy stay in an old character B&B in the centre of Lyme Regis but............. we were in for a shock. We regret unpacking and staying the three nights as things went from bad to worse. The room was on the second floor and the second staircase was rickety and unsafe especially as the only bathroom was on the first floor. It was unsafe even in the day time and scary when half asleep in the early hours. The room, the staircases, the bathroom and separate w.c. were all unclean. No waste bin, no spoon for coffee, no milk and crockery left unclean with no where nearby for us to wash them. No service to the room during the three days. Day two brought an invasion of large black meat flies. We asked for these to be dealt with and was given a can of fly spray. The resulting dead flies were still there when we left on day four but new flies constantly appeared. Please think twice before visiting. Veggie breakfast had little imagination.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stopped off in Lyme Regis on our way to Cornwall in August. We had the great fortune to find Little Rose on-line and booked. We had no idea what to expect but from the conversations between the landlady Berni and my girlfriend, we knew it would be a homely place. The building is very charming and very old, and thankfully has not been modernised to excess. It was a delight to stay here and Berni was a delight to meet. The breakfast was amazing, with probably the best sausages (many comments in the visitors book reflected both Berni's hospitality and sausages) I have had.
This place is not for everyone, so if you want big flat screen TVs and modern feel, this would not be right for you. If you can see the charm in a place with a warm friendly landlady then book right away. Oh and sausage lovers ... this should be your mecca.
I hope my advice of coming on Trip Advisor will help and my girlfriend and I wish you all the best Berni, a lovely lady that deserves a very successful business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Little Rose of Lyme Regis is an olde worlde listed building which has become a bed and breakfast. Its pretty much in the centre of old Lyme Regis, with the Fossil shop, information centre and of particular interest to me, the museum. Whilst speaking to Berni ( the landlady ) I discovered that she named the B&B after a painting by J A M Whistler, a famous artist that stayed in Lyme Regis. Having Dabbeled in painting in oils off and on, I painted a copy of "The Little Rose of Lyme Regis and sent it on to Berni, which she has since hung in the breakfast room!
Absolutely delightful place to stay with a cracking breakfast and friendly landlady Berni.
It's my pleasure to recommend it to all visitors to Lyme Regis.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
Thank reginald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyme Regis hotels
0.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
0 mi away
The Old Monmouth
The Old Monmouth
#8 of 45 in Lyme Regis
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clovelly Guest House
Clovelly Guest House
#13 of 45 in Lyme Regis
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#11 of 45 in Lyme Regis
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
#23 of 45 in Lyme Regis
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Church Street | Kenmore, Lyme Regis DT7 3BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Little Rose Bed & Breakfast Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing