We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old building- would recommend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely old building- would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We managed to get a last minute room and there was also an offer for eating here. Lovely old traditional room with shower and seperate bath. Nice big old beamed hall where you eat breakfast and the breakfast was lovely with local produce, yummy.

They also had a swimming pool and jacuzzi however we did not use these facilities + parking space.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Royal Lion Hotel. I was very pleased to learn you how much you enjoyed your time with us.

We really value constructive feedback about our product and services and we will take your comments and will discuss them with the team in order to continue to build upon our well deserved reputation for warm hospitality.

We look forward welcoming you back to The Royal Lion Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    203
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
99
347
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
mansfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

we have just returned from a 2 night dinner bed and breakfast at the ROYAL LION HOTEL. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and the food in the resurant was superb and high quality. Having the car park helped as lyme regis is a very busy town so we left our car safely in the car park and explored this lovely seaside gem .

Room Tip: try and ask for a room at the back of the hotel as its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debs r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Royal Lion Hotel. I was very pleased to learn you how much you enjoyed your time with us.

We really value constructive feedback about our product and services and we will take your comments and will discuss them with the team in order to continue to build upon our well deserved reputation for warm hospitality.

We look forward welcoming you back to The Royal Lion Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
352 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This charming old hotel lies in the heart of Lyme Regis and seems to be the best option in town.
There are some B&B places but one of those places that I have checked asked the ridiculous price of £ 90,- (!). The hotel is a maze of corridors, stairs and nicely decorated lounges for private conversations. There is a bar and a restaurant. The bar serves excellent bar food which is probably due to the fact that it comes from the same kitchen as the more expensive fancy restaurant.

I had a single room with breakfast for £ 60,- (April 2012) The room was somewhat on the dark side but reasonable. It was on the inside of the building so very quiet.

There was no WiFi internet reception in my room but good working high speed internet was available in the bar and the nice lounge above the bar which was very comfortable.

Breakfast in the restaurant was part self service (juices, cereals, yoghurt, etc.) and part ordered from a menu (full English breakfast or various cooked choices) and of good quality and quantity

The hotel lies about a half hour walk from what is probably the best accessible part of the Jurassic Coast where you can see hundreds of fossilized ammonites which lived around 200 million years ago.

All-in all a good choice hotel when you want to explore this part of the coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside as traffic on the steep street in front of the hotel maybe noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Royal Lion Hotel. I was very pleased to learn you how much you enjoyed your time with us.

We really value constructive feedback about our product and services and we will take your comments and will discuss them with the team in order to continue to build upon our well deserved reputation for warm hospitality.

We look forward welcoming you back to The Royal Lion Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just returned from a two night stay, Dinner Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in Room 3 which was lovely. Breakfasts and Dinners excellent.The Dinner menu changed nightly. Wine list was interesting as all the wines were priced the same and good value for money. We will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: Room 3 had a door opening onto a terrace and each room on that side had a table and chairs on the te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Royal Lion Hotel. I was very pleased to learn you how much you enjoyed your time with us.

We really value constructive feedback about our product and services and we will take your comments and will discuss them with the team in order to continue to build upon our well deserved reputation for warm hospitality.

We look forward welcoming you back to The Royal Lion Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Unfortunately went for a cheaper hotel £140 per room with a balcony,,The view was great..On arrival the receptionist was very dippy and hardly knew her way around the hotel..The bar was pricey 2 pints £8.50..The breakfast was delicious but we heard the head waiter being rude to some families, he was ok with us..The room next door was being decorated which was quite noisy, we complained and we were told they would stop but the next day it continued..
It fairness they did give us a discount but weekends away from a busy life are precious..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to The Royal Lion Hotel. I was concerned to learn you were disappointed with your experience.

Let me apologise that on this occasion, we neither met your expectations, nor the standards we set ourselves at The Royal Lion Hotel. I do of course remember speaking to you with regards to the issues you raise within your review, and have taken steps to ensure your comments raised have either been resolved or learnt from, in particular the issues surrounding our, now complete, redecoration work of our balcony rooms, which I feel we did not perhaps address correctly. However I felt that, during our conversation, we had come to an amicable conclusion, and was therefore surprised and upset to read your review which stated you “wished we had stayed at Hotel Alexandra”.

I would however like to thank you once again for your comments, we understand that it is only from gaining feedback, such as yours, that we can continue to build upon our well deserved reputation for warm hospitality and good food.

Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Royal Lion was amazing, from day one. The location is fantastic, except for the fact that it's on the main road which is a steep hill and drivers tend to use the wrong gear which equals loud engines at 2am. The swimming pool is excellent, the food is amazing quality and the staff are very friendly. I must admit, we originally booked a cottage through this hotel but it seems the hotel double booked so we got a hotel room. They lied and told us it was being refurbished, but we saw guests staying at the cottage during our stay. Bad move.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your review of The Royal Lion Hotel, I was disappointed to read your comments about your visit in July 2011, some 9 months ago.

Please let me assure you that at the time of your visit The Cottage was undergoing refurbishment work, however a member of stays was using an upstairs bedroom as a temporary base in their off duty time. I therefore feel it is unfair for you to post the comment “They lied”, when in fact this was not the case. Particularly in light of you stating that “the hotel was amazing, from day one”, and that “The swimming pool is excellent, the food is amazing quality and the staff are very friendly.” and more over to have let such a length of time elapse before writing this review, which now reflects badly upon us, and could therefore put off prospective guests from booking.

Should you wish to discuss this further, perhaps you might take the opportunity to call be direct through the hotel switchboard, when I would be pleased to hear any further comments you might have.


Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I chose the hotel due to its location right in the town and close to the sea.. not too far up the hill which is quite steep!
Very helpful reception staff and it was no problem to change the room as I was in the original part of the building overlooking the road which was quite noisy. I moved to a room at the back in the newer part with lovely views towards the hills. clean and comfortable with kettle and tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits.
Very good breakfast with a good choice, self serve juice, cereals, fruits and waiter service for hot food and tea and toast..
Ideal for visiting the beach, museum and local shops. There is a bus just down the hill which links with the London trains.
The hotel has a pub which serves food and a full restaurant. I did eat there one night and it was very good and freshly cooked.
There is an indoor pool for guest use with a jacuzzi and small sauna, towels are available at no charge. Also a games room with a pool table and ping-pong table. Dog friendly too!
I liked the small lounge areas for a quiet read or to access the free Wi-Fi, one on the 1st floor and one on the ground, also there is a larger lounge by the bar.
There is a decent sized car-park but don't know if free as I travelled by train.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back in the newer part are quieter and there is a door which accesses the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Royal Lion Hotel. I was very pleased to learn you how much you enjoyed your time with us.

We really value constructive feedback about our product and services and we will take your comments and will discuss them with the team in order to continue to build upon our well deserved reputation for warm hospitality.

We look forward welcoming you back to The Royal Lion Hotel in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
3.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lion Hotel

Property: The Royal Lion Hotel
Address: 60 Broad Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the idyllic town of Lyme Regis, 'the Pearl of Dorset', is the Royal Lion Hotel, a stunning haven located in the middle of the High Street, with its own private car park. Lyme Regis is a picturesque town on the West Dorset border, part of the Jurassic Coast, a World Heritage site. Steeped in history, it is renowned for its fascinating past, mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086, the unique fossils found in the cliffs and beaches, and for being the central location of the novel and the 1981 film, 'The French Lieutenant's Woman'. Situated less than 100 metres from the sea, the Royal Lion Hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the locale. Built in 1601 as a coaching inn, the Hotel has been extensively refurbished, yet still retains much of its history and unique charm. Oak beams, wood panelling and open fires help to create a warm, welcoming and comfortable atmosphere, with new additions of its own swimming pool and other facilities. Wi-Fi, although not available in the bedrooms, is available to guests in several areas of the hotel. Privately owned and managed, the Royal Lion Hotel has gained an enviable reputation for its friendly service, world class food and wine and leisure offerings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Lion Lyme Regis
Royal Lion Hotel Lyme Regis
The Royal Lion Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing