We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just added 3 more nights to the estimated 160 nights we have spent at this hotel over the past 30 years and it just leaves us wanting to come straight back. The welcome is always warm, the rooms get better on every visit and are very clean , the food is good in all areas and the quirkiness of the building makes for an interesting experience. The hotel is in the middle of the main shopping street, has its own car park and a swimming pool and is good for families. Difficult to fault this hotel which is why we keep coming back!

Room Tip: If you can spend the extra, go for a balcony room in the new part of the building, the views are sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanMaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear IanMaw

Thank you for your recent review of your time at The Royal Lion Hotel. I was delighted to read your wonderful comments regarding your experience over a great number of years. The team and I may only take the credit for more recent times; however I am so pleased you feel so warmly about this historic landmark hotel in the centre of beautiful Lyme Regis.

I know all the team are very grateful for such praise for their hard work to ensure we maintain our enviable reputation for warm hospitality, fine food and a comfortable homely feeling.

I look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Yours sincerely


Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    209
    51
    17
    4
See reviews for
102
365
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

/We needed a few days away and had stayed here before, we had 3 days on a 3 course Dinner, Bed and breakfast package, not particularly cheap but a lovely ground floor room with a private outside terrace and a glimpse of the sea.
The staff are great, friendly and helpful, the standard in the Restaurant is high, though I gather you can also eat in The Inn, a bar/lounge on the ground floor, and we would do this another time to be a bit more relaxed.
We will go back again.....for me it was good to be able to have a swim in the indoor pool

Room Tip: Room 19 is good, 2nd floor with good views but 2 lots of stairs, nice bathroom. Room 2 also nice but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Joan H

Thank you for most complimentary review of your stay at The Royal Lion Hotel in Lyme Regis. I was delighted to learn you had chosen to make a return visit to the hotel.

I was glad you felt the team were once again friendly and helpful, and that the standard in The Oak Room Restaurant was extremely good. I will pass along your comments to all the team who made such an effort to ensure you time with us was such a great experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Lion Hotel when next you have an opportunity to visit Lyme Regis.

Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Beautiful building, fantastic staff, very comfy and roomy bedrooms/bathrooms, great service. The breakfasts are lovely, great selection and lots of local produce, the best black pudding I have had in years. The rooms are serviced quickly and professionally, the bar food is good and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. Residents lounges, a lovely pool and spa and small sauna, it's simply the best place we have ever stayed in. They do special deals on 3 - 4 or 5 night stays but it is well worth the money regardless. It's right in the middle of the high street so it's easy access to the shoreline east and west and all the other wonderful local shops. Have just had the most wonderful 3 days thanks to the accommodation and especially the staff who work such long hours but are consistently polite, helpful, friendly and just lovely. thank you!

Room Tip: rooms start from £120 per night for a standard room although you can pay more for a larger room or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Heather S

Thank you for taking the time to complete a delightful review of The Royal Lion Hotel. I was so pleased to learn how much you had enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel.

I have already taken the opportunity to pass on your wonderful feedback and thanks to all the team involved in ensuring your room was so comfortable, serviced quickly and professionally, your breakfast and food from our Inn was lovely, and who provided such excellent service throughout your stay.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Royal Lion Hotel, once again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just had a cousins' reunion here , 11 of us on our annual get together. Our balcony room was superb, views over the town roofs and all along the Jurassic coast....Italy eat your heart out. The bar food was great. We did not have formal dinner there but reports were excellent from other residents. The three night deal, which we missed was very good value. Right in the centre of town, minute from the sea front and the parade. Good breakfasts though one of my cousins had a bit of a dry hard kipper one morning. Rest fine.An excellent stay.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are best for views but usually go first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Terry L

Thank you for your excellent review of your time at The Royal Lion Hotel. I was so pleased to learn how much you had enjoyed your stay.

I have already passed on your feedback to our Housekeeper and her team, our chef, and all those who ensured your reunion was so superb. I also must agree that the view from our balcony rooms cannot be beaten, on a clear day you can see the coast line all the way to the golden cap and beyond, and the Jurassic coast truly is something to rival Italy.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Royal Lion Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have spent a week at this lovely old coaching inn. We were lucky that the weather was superb for our whole stay. We found all the staff charming and helpful and booking half board was well worth it as the meals in the Oak Room restaurant were varied and delicious and the staff there very efficient. We stayed in a superior room with a little balcony which was great and well worth the extra money. The swimming pool and jacuzzi was a very welcome addition to our stay and used every day. We had a lovely holiday and hope to return to this hotel very soon. Having a car park was also a great help.

Room Tip: Would recommend paying for a superior room if you are staying for longer than a short break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Margaret E

Thank you your recent review of The Royal Lion Hotel, I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed good weather during your stay and found our traditional hotel so very lovely.

I was of course also very please that you found all the members of the team which you met during your stay so charming and the food delicious in our Oak Room Restaurant. The addition of our swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi to have topped of your time with us, I will pass on your delightful comments to all those who made you visit to The Royal Lion Hotel such a success.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on many future occasions.

Yours sincerely


Mark Dridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We chose to stay at The Royal Lion for a long weekend because of its central location and because it had its own car park. We were also encouraged by the reviews others had written and, it's fair to say, we weren't disappointed.
The hotel's buildings are a combination of the old, original coaching inn combined with a more modern extension. Our room was one of the balcony rooms which overlooked a small public car park and the rooftops of the cottage properties and other buildings. Best of all, there was a lovely sea and coastline view.
The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well appointed. Free Wi-Fi is available in-room. Tea/coffee making facilities are also provided in-room.
Breakfast is served in the hotel's restaurant, and there is a good selection of dished to choose from. The restaurant staff are quietly efficient and professional.
We had dinner there on one evening, and it was very good. I noticed the menu changes on a daily basis, and the hotel uses fresh, local produce.
Check-in and check-out were dealt with politely and efficiently. We were particularly grateful to one of the Receptionists for tracking down a taxi for a return journey to River Cottage on a Saturday evening. Local buses stop running after 9:30pm and so if you need a taxi on a Saturday evening it's advisable to book in advance.
The Royal Lion has an 'Olde Worlde' atmosphere, but it strives to achieve high standards. We certainly didn't have any reason to complain about anything, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G-BOAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear G-BOAC

Thank you for completing a review of your recent long weekend at The Royal Lion Hotel, Lyme Regis. I was so pleased to read that your enjoyed your time with us and would not hesitate to choose to stay again.

It was a pleasure to learn that you found your balcony room, with its beautiful view of our jurrassic coast so appealing and in addition so spotlessly clean and comfortable. I will of course pass on your delightful comments to our restaurant and reception teams, as well as all those involved in ensuring your time at The Royal Lion Hotel was so very enjoyable.

I look forward to welcoming you back, once again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely old hotel ... Very nice stay ...David our breakfast waiter very very good although we found the restaurant a little too old fashioned.... Great views in Lyme Regis a lovely peaceful break ....Also thanks for the upgrade lovely room huge bathroom very spacious :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Ian F

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Royal Lion Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much.

It is pleasing that you found David to be so very good, he has only just joined the team and therefore I am glad to learn he has already made a positive impression. I will pass on your thanks to David and all the team involved in ensuring your time with us was so special.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Lion Hotel on many future occasions.

Yours sincerely

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
3.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
429 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
494 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lion Hotel

Property: The Royal Lion Hotel
Address: 60 Broad Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the idyllic town of Lyme Regis, 'the Pearl of Dorset', is the Royal Lion Hotel, a stunning haven located in the middle of the High Street, with its own private car park. Lyme Regis is a picturesque town on the West Dorset border, part of the Jurassic Coast, a World Heritage site. Steeped in history, it is renowned for its fascinating past, mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086, the unique fossils found in the cliffs and beaches, and for being the central location of the novel and the 1981 film, 'The French Lieutenant's Woman'. Situated less than 100 metres from the sea, the Royal Lion Hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the locale. Built in 1601 as a coaching inn, the Hotel has been extensively refurbished, yet still retains much of its history and unique charm. Oak beams, wood panelling and open fires help to create a warm, welcoming and comfortable atmosphere, with new additions of its own swimming pool and other facilities. Wi-Fi, although not available in the bedrooms, is available to guests in several areas of the hotel. Privately owned and managed, the Royal Lion Hotel has gained an enviable reputation for its friendly service, world class food and wine and leisure offerings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Lion Lyme Regis
Royal Lion Hotel Lyme Regis
The Royal Lion Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing