We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room - fantastic sea view”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Its really only worth paying the preium prices for this hotel if you have a sea view room, which we did. Last year we could see the Cobb whilst laying in bed, this year in Room one we had to move a chair to the window, but what a view!
Room was very clean and nicely decorated, bathroom refurbed and modern, a bit bijou though. Tiny bath with shower over, which did run a bit "hot and cold" unpredictably.

Its a small car park, but personally we have no problem leaving keys at reception so they can shuffle double parked cars around as needed.

There is a lovely lawn and patio area overlooking the sea, also there are comfy sunloungers which we were lucky enough to use for a couple of hours and enjoy the rarity of sun this year!
Food and service was good, but one thing I found a bit annoying was that if you stay on a Friday and Saturday night then you MUST pay for an evening meal on each of those evenings. We had especially travelled to Lyme for an event on the Saturday evening, luckily we booked dinner at 7pm and were able to be where we wanted soon after nine, but I would rather have had the flexibility of making my own eating arrangements that evening.
All in all a pleasant stay in a relaxing atmosphere, falling somewhere between "good" and "very good" but slightly pricey for the size of the room.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must to get the best from your stay
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herewardtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We should have stayed at the Alexandra Hotel for two nights 16th & 17th Aug, 2012. We were on our way home after spending three nights in Dartmouth. Expected the best at this hotel, sadly the room reminded us of staying at an elderly Aunts house, the bathroom was very nice and had obviously just been modernised, really uptodate. However the bedroom was classed as a garden room, flat roofed annexe room, bed very comfortable and linen and towels were all good, the room we could only describe as dowdy (room 37) . We complained and at first told that they were fully booked and could not move us, so we told them we would leave in the morning, having spent just one night instead of two. However later when going in for dinner they said a room would be available and we could change if we wished. We decided we would wait and see what dinner was like. Unfortunately that too was nothing special, we decided to leave the next morning, without seeing the room.
Great location, but would not chance staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank April-illy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The staff (in particular Liz, Louise and the bartender) are mostly very good and yes the views are spectacular, particularly from our room (19). Unfortunately the room, for a superior, is very small, as is the bathroom, one other point worth a mention, our bed sheet had a tear/cut in it, which we assumed would be picked up by the room attendants the following morning as it would have been impossible to miss. The sheet wasn't changed for the 3 nights we stayed. Like other reviewers have mentioned, we also waited over an hour for 2 teacakes and a coffee and when we suggested that maybe they had forgotten us, or perhaps mislaid our order the waiter simply replied, "no" and that they were "busy". Although the breakfast and dinner staff in general were pleasant and helpful and the food was fine, the long waiting time was really off putting. This is a highly regarded hotel with equally high prices. In summary, I felt there were numerous other important customer touch points which this hotel failed to consider, or deliver.
All a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Although our room (19), had stunning views, it is on the top floor, which is a bit of a climb if you...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We ate in the Conservatory (no children allowed in restaurant) two years ago and scoped the facilities and decided on a 2 day stay here on the way to St Ives this year. Lovely airy, spacious room with sea view on second floor with good decor and superbly comfortable bed. Breakfast - excellent - exemplary kipper and smoked haddock for breakfast and good service. Staff were friendly and we enjoyed afternoon tea and drinks on the lovely lawn loungers overlooking the sea and guests' children teamed up for fun in the garden and the play area (a free trampoline is a boon for energetic kids!). Children are welcome but don't dominate proceedings and the conservatory is a nice space for evening meals. HOWEVER - lack of attention to detail means that it falls short of being excellent, and at this price, I do expect excellent. Not having a trained barman around on a lazy sunny August Friday after 5pm is odd - a lovely waitress Googled my mojito (undrinkable and sent it back) as he wasn't around plus another guest mixed his own. In conservatory - menu read well but was let down by food quality. The lobster was not as advertised, bread may be freshly baked but looked like a bread machine was in action (and had a cake-like crumb) and 3 meagre half slices served on a side plate was odd - a generous basket (charged accordingly) would have been nicer. The salads were mostly dark lollo rosso and contained cold tomato and cucumber with huge chunks of raw red onion - so no balance of flavours or finesse - the saffron mayo and chicory and broad bean accompaniment to the lobster was absent and the lobster was fridge cold and had no dressing at all (please send the chef to the Porthminster Cafe in St Ives to see how lobster should be served). Plaice was small and the chips were grey and pale - not stored in water so turning black and not fried properly til golden. Because of these details, we were on edge during both suppers, the bill was not adjusted despite promises and extra items were added to our bill which meant that checking out was an anxious and stressful time checking out while we went through all the dockets, while other guests waited at reception, which embarrassed them and us - so we ended up paying for unsatisfactory items. Advice - tighter supervision is needed in the kitchen, or have they lost their award-winning chef? Plus tighter management in bar and in accounting. We may not visit Lyme, let alone the Alexander hotel, next year - when paying these rates - £800+ for two days DBB with extras of drinks and afternoon teas (happy to splurge now and again) we expect no worries or stress, especially with the basics of food, drink and service so we can relaxxxxxx. We'd LOVE to love this place but worry we'll be wasting our money next year.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are lots of stairs and corridors as should be expected in a period building.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sybarites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Went for wedding anniversary. Room was not the one we'd originally asked for but was nice overlooking garden but small. En suite was good. Deal included dinner in restaurant which was overpriced and pretentious and we also felt rushed. Coffee wasn't included. Ate in conservatory on the 2nd eve which was better although service was slow. Breakfast - they served the toast first before the cooked and just one slice per person. Given the cost of the stay we thought whilst the hotel is in a beautiful position and lovely the food was overpriced and not up to the high standard we had expected.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millgood0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel is in a really stunning position. Amazing views across the bay, very close to the beach and town, plus a lovely garden with comfortable seats. Occasionaly you might feel a little distracted and think you have stumbled across the extras from a film set from Agatha Cristie or Cluedo, but it adds to the charm! Service was very good and an excellent breakfast. The main restaurant was rather too formal for our liking but the conservatory menus is good.
All in all an excellent place to stay for several nights, not cheap but the position couldn't be bettered.

Room Tip: We had a large room on the second floor with a bay window. Very comfortable with amazing view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seebee046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Being an old building (part dates from 1735) means each room is a different shape, making it more interesting. The contents of the rooms are, however, exactly what you would expect of a good 21st century hotel: en suite rooms with modern decor. There is a Wifi hotspot and laptop on the 1st floor. Lunch and dinner are served in either the Restaurant or the Conservatory - the food is excellent and there is a separate menu for vegetarians. The garden overlooks the sea and has comfortable chairs, settees and sunloungers. Note: Lyme Regis has steep hills, but these given panoramic views of Lyme Bay. I have stayed in this hotel many times and will stay here many more times in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main stairs are quieter, and those overlooking the car part do get some traffic...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoB186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
439 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
162 reviews
16.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Pound Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range: £115 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Dower house built in 1735 with large garden, panoramic views across Lyme Bay's Jurassic UNESCO World Heritage site coastline and the famous Cobb harbour. Pathway to beach through gardens. Treatment room and Gym. Sea view restaurant with attentive service. Delicious food using seasonal local produce. Total Seaside Chic. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Lyme Regis
Alexandra Lyme Regis
Alexandra Hotel And Restaurant Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing