We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food + Great Views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 September 2012

On arrival we were welcomed and shown into the bar where we ordered our food and drink and as it was a sunny day we chose a table in the garden. The garden furniture is very comfortable and there is an extensive view over Lyme Regis. The staff were courteous and helpful and the food was good and very reasonably priced. It was a relaxing experience after a long drive and a great start to our holiday. We had not been before but we would dine there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed in Lyme Regis for a long weekend for our wedding anniversary. Booked a table at the Alexandra Restaurant as a special treat, having read its own blurb about how wonderful it was. Arrived and sat in the garden for a pre-dinner drink. Must have waited a good 10mins before someone came to take our drinks order. By the time it arrived we were wanting to sit down to dinner.

Had a nice table by the window - there the enjoyment of our evening ended. We were not brought any complimentary bread and olive oil and had to ask for some. I had soup, which also arrived without bread. My husband and I both ordered lamb cutlets for our main course. Beware - do not order lamb cutlets! For a fairly substantial sum of money we received two lamb cutlets each. We were shocked and could not believe our eyes!

Food tasted ok, but was definitely not fantastic, which I would have expected at their prices. Service was definitely NOT up to scratch. Apart from managing to ignore our existence for most of the evening, I noticed that one of the waiters was actually wearing trainers with his uniform, which looked most unprofessional.

On paying the bill we were asked if we'd had a good evening. We told them how disappointed we had been, but they didn't really seem to care, probably because they have "bigged" themselves up so much in their advertising, that they can rely on people who, like us, have believed the advertising and found out the hard way, that it is actually a complete rip-off!

Or, did we just get them on a bad day.............?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Didabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Our group of 6 booked 3 rooms here.....we had a standard room, a Hinton and a Gould. All rooms were beautiful, and very big. We had breakfast and dinner here both nights. All meals were delicious, with fresh, local ingredients. We also had the afternoon tea....yummy! Fresh scones, jam and Devon cream - scrumptious! We found the staff to be really helpful, and happy to go the extra mile. As soon as you leave the hotel, you are in the heart of Lyme Regis, with excellent shopping, including lots of fresh pastry shops. We did not find the parking a problem at all. Leave your keys at reception, and they take care of everything. We loved watching the sunset from the loungers on the sweeping lawns that overlooked the ocean. Dream location. Lyme Regis is such a beautiful spot, we would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: Go for a Hinton or Gould room
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel ticks quite a lot of boxes, but you do have to remember that it was built 300 years or so ago, consequently it has a smallish bedrooms (to accommodate ensuites), no lift and a car park where you wouldn't want to park your new Bentley!

A recent 'Farrow and Ball' makeover gives the whole place a nice feel.

The staff are very pleasant and obliging and the silver service restaurant serves good food - although there is some stiff competition in the town.

The views from the back of the hotel are beautiful.

All seaside hotels like the Alexandra face a bit of a dilema - especially the smaller ones - how do you keep a place like this going when the 'grey pound' cannot afford to come any more, or if they decide to cruise (and which would be cheaper than staying here for a week)?

The answer must surely be for the proprietors to show their faces a bit more and make the guests visit a bit more special' rather like the way that the Francis family does at the Star Castle on the Scillys.

After all, the fun and buzz of running a place like this must be to met nice people and to get you away from some of the beaurocratic nonsense demanded by local local and national government and the EU.

How about 'Hix at the Alexandra' - now that could be good!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We Stayed at this hotel thinking it looked romantic. That is exactly what we got, a wonderful peaceful calm hotel with staff that always had a smile and nothing was too much trouble. The room we had was lovely with beautiful views across their gardens and out to sea. The food at this hotel was gorgeous we also enjoyed the extra touch of them congratulating us with an indoor firework they brought to our table after dessert. The breakfast was also very good, great selection very tasty I recomend the kegeree that really was good.
If anyone is thinking of going to Lyme Regis we truely recomend it and take the trouble to stay at this hotel it really is worth it. Although it was quite exspensive we didn't mind as it was an anniversary treat, we would have loved to have stayed longer Well Done Alexandra! Thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are good to ask for. Although you may have problems with the stairs if you ha...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in the Alexandra Hotel Lyme Regis.
Totally, last minute stay and managed to get a great room with sea view.
Wonderful views towards the harbour and see.
Lovely decor and superb food.
A real hidden gem if you haven't been here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubadivingmakoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I would give this hotel two stars or less but it does have a friendly staff. That's as far as I'll take it. We stayed in the family apt equipped with a kitchen. It seemed ok when we booked but when we got here we were taken to the apt which has the two bedroom windows facing the main road. The entry into the apt is a foot away from any parked car so really u open the door and there is the parking lot in your face. The double bedroom has carpet which is damp and sticky and stinks of mildew and is just cheap carpet. The smell never went when we stayed there. We complained to the staff who were ready to address our issues but took most of the day doing it. In the end the manager gave us one night free but said she could do nothing more but put beds in the living room for the adults and to close the smelly room off. I'm sorry, the hotel is advertised as luxury, it's not especially when the rooms have no view, have smelly cheap carpets and a single room crammed in with a bunk bed and are being charged at over 320 per night. And why would the manager think it is ok to cramm a family of five in a living room and single room? We told the staff they should have told us the location of the apartment and sent us photos. I'm going to try to post pictures, if I can't now, they will be coming in a day or two. Save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
161 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
825 reviews
16.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Pound Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range: £115 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Dower house built in 1735 with large garden, panoramic views across Lyme Bay's Jurassic UNESCO World Heritage site coastline and the famous Cobb harbour. Pathway to beach through gardens. Treatment room and Gym. Sea view restaurant with attentive service. Delicious food using seasonal local produce. Total Seaside Chic. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Lyme Regis
Alexandra Lyme Regis
Alexandra Hotel And Restaurant Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing