We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mariners Hotel(Lyme Regis)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
452
221
94
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
221
94
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscream teasea viewlyme baylovely hotelsconeswine listcar parkmain restaurantsunday lunchscallopsno liftrelaxing breaklovely gardenjurassic coastreturn visithigh standardold building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a lovely family run hotel just a few minutes from the beach, the cobb and local shops. Our room (23) was small but well designed with beautifull views over the bay. The bed was comfortable and the fluffly towels and bathrobes were most welcome. We ate in the restaurant twice and both meals were excellent if slightly overpriced. Breakfast was a bit mixed, my partners cooked breakfast on day 1 was superb but my eggs benedict was served with a split sauce that should never have left the kitchen. On day 2 the cooked breakfast was poor with overcooked eggs, undercooked bacon and watery mushrooms the buffet however had a good choice and excellent croissants - so really not sure what was happening in the kitchen. The star of this hotel is however the garden with its sweeping views over the bay and plenty of comfortable places to sit. We would recommend this friendly, comfortable hotel but hope that the breakfasts improve.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JayneHTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Annon and spouse visited the Alexandra with friends recently. One of several trips to this spectacularly placed hotel in Lyme Regis and I'm afraid were extremely disappointed. Not in the location, it's wonderful, but, something's happened to the food and service.
The service was slow and very unprofessional, in fact at one stage what appeared to be a "wedding guest" came tripping down the stairs into the conservatory with two plates of food! No really! I can only assume it was the Hotel manager off duty, giving a helping hand perhaps.
The food mediocre and very pricey, the conservatory very cold and waiting staff that need re-training.
Please, please can you address these problems, because this hotel could be fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnnonCrewkerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We visited Dorset for our 30th wedding anniversary and chose the Alexandra Hotel for our first night. The location is breathtakingly beautiful and our room (6) overlooked the gardens and the sea. Whilst expensive, it was mid-August and we just had a most wonderful time. We ate dinner in the Restaurant and food was delicious.

We have visited Lyme Regis before and remembered that it was a special place, however, this visit really confirmed that view. Next time, we are going to stay in the Alexandra for much longer.

Room Tip: Room 6 (Poulet room) had magnificent views but you pay a premium, however, it was well worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here by myself for a mini break. The hotel's location is brilliant. The gardens overlooking the Cobb is such a fantastic place to chill out with a glass of wine or cream tea. It backs on to a lovely walk down to the sea front and if you walk out the front of the hotel, you can walk to the shops. I would definitely stay here again. A little gem in a fabulous town. I didn't eat in the restaurant but can really recommend eggs Benedict for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

What a beautiful hotel and setting. The food was excellent (compliments to the chef and kitchen team) but please, as other reviewers have commented, sort out the somewhat erratic service and give the young people you employ on dinner and breakfast service some basic training. The hotel and its guests deserve better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JAL989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews