We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mariners Hotel(Lyme Regis)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
452
221
94
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
221
94
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscream teasea viewlyme baylovely hotelsconeswine listcar parkmain restaurantsunday lunchscallopsno liftrelaxing breaklovely gardenjurassic coastreturn visithigh standardold building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We celebrated my sister's birthday with afternoon tea at the hotel. The friendly staff couldn't have been more helpful, accommodating a special request without demur and making the whole experience a special one for our party. The ambience of the hotel is wonderful -relaxed, but with interesting nooks and crannies. If you like "things marine", the models of old ships in the reception area merit more than a passing glance -they're good!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMDorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear HMDorch

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us here at the Alexandra Hotel. I was delighted to read that you so enjoyed your afternoon tea with us on your sister's special day. The model ships are my favourite too!

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We loved everything about this hotel - the friendly and professional staff, the tasteful decor and the delicious food. We just felt so relaxed and looked after for the entire weekend. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubadivingmakoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Scubadivingmako

Thank you for writing your review of our hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Alexandra one day.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location. Amazing views across Lyme Bay.
Staff were very friendly and helpful with knowledge of the surrounding area.
Food was superb with great service and reasonable price.
I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to a return visit in the summer months.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thehappymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear The happymoose

Thank you for leaving a review on your stay at the Alexandra. I am pleased to hear that you found the quality of the food and service to be excellent throughout your visit and that you enjoyed the lovely views across Lyme Bay. We look forward to seeing you again.


Regards


Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having had a lovely afternoon tea at this hotel in the summer we thought a lunch with family before Christmas would be a treat. There was attentive service from the start and we ordered the a starter and turkey for two of us and pork for the other family member. We needed to ask for bread for our starter and when the main arrived we were asked if there was anything else we required. We asked for cranberry sauce and apple sauce. 10 minutes later we were told that neither was available! Later during the meal the Maitre D' asked if we were enjoying our meal , we told him about the sauces and he was surprised as he said of course they were available. He went off we assumed to get them but never returned.

Service was very attentive , in fact we had 3 waiters visiting our table regularly removing plates , glasses cutlery which we didnt use. It was rather too attentive as each time it interrupted conversation. We were the only diners in the conservatory.
No apology was made for the sauces when we paid and when we were leaving the hotel receptionist asked if all was ok and we repeated our disappointment again we were told this shouldnt have happened but no offer of compensation or attempt to offer a coffee etc.
An event spoilt by lack of attention to detail, who ever heard of a 'special Christmas lunch with all the trimmings with turkey and no cranberry sauce] !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank geoffval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear geoffval

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor, I am very sorry that your lunch experience at the Alexandra did not live up to your expectations following your summer visit. We do of course provide both Cranberry and Apple sauce to accompany our menus and I must admit to being somewhat confused as to why you failed to receive them, I sincerely apologise for this happening and I will look into the matter immediately. I am also sorry that you found our standard of service to be over the top, we always try our best to deliver a quality customer experience and I apologise if you found this to be too intrusive.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent the weekend here on one of the hotel's winter packages and it was wonderful!

Fantastic views of the Cobb - but inside the hotel is just as lovely. The food was fantastic and the service was brilliant too. Even our 9 year old son was warmly welcomed - and children aren't always welcome at places like this!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank 2014arg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear arg206

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. All are welcome at the Alexandra and it was a pleasure to have your young son visit us. Our hotel is both child and dog friendly, allowing everyone to fully enjoy what Lyme Regis and the beautiful surrounding area has to offer. We hope and look forward to meeting you and your family again one day.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews