We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveller rating
515
243
105
44
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
243
105
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poulett room cream tea sea view lyme bay lovely hotel scones main restaurant wine list car park breakfast and dinner scallops lovely setting no lift relaxing break fantastic views jurassic coast return visit
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 931 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Beautiful decor. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Room smallish but everything you could wish for, very clean and a view of the cob. Very comfortable. Food in both restaurants excellent except for one crab starter which I think they missed off something tomatoey. Good wine.

Will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nora54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear Nora54

Thank you for writing your review, so pleased that you enjoyed our stay with us and hope to welcome you back next time you visit Lyme Regis.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Whilst on a self catering holiday we celebrated with an early dinner for two in the table d'hote restaurant at the Alexandre Hotel. There is also an a la carte menu should you prefer. The menu was good and varied with international cuisine, but we chose: -
Brixham Crab & Scallop Ceviche for starters
Beef Fillet & Hake and Pork Belly and Hake for a main course
Lemon Panna Cotta and Raspberry Cheesecake for desert.
A bottle of Pinot Grigio wine.
All perfectly cooked and presented, but for the raspberry cheesecake, which had an overly thick base. Still a really enjoyable meal though. Be aware that that the scallops are served uncooked

Room tip: Dinner only
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rodswetnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear rodswetnam

Thank you for writing your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and I note your comments which I will pass onto the chef.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

My husband’s daughters arranged a celebration lunch for his 90th birthday. The setting was lovely, the food very good and service was excellent so he had a very happy birthday. We look forward to returning and staying in this very pleasant hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Hazelnut38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear Hazelnut38

Thank you for writing your review, I am so pleased that your husband enjoyed his 90th birthday celebration with your family at our hotel and restaurant. We look forward to seeing you all again in future.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Recently attended the Tattinger Champagne evening in the amazing new orangery at the Alexandra. Great food drawn from local producers and service together with interesting talk on the world of champagne. The Alexandra is a classy place to visit for either a stay or food...

Room tip: all rooms are different in terms of size, view, price etc
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidrH6368VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear David R

Thank you for writing your review, so pleased that you enjoyed our evening event in the new Orangery. We will be holding more similar dinners in future, check out our website or notice boards for more information.

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Wow, this lovely hotel did not disappoint. We were booked in for two nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, we could not have been more delighted that we had chosen to celebrate this milestone at the Alexandra. Staff were delightful, the room wonderful (what a view), very spacious, the surroundings breathtaking. Sunday night we stayed in and dined in the ‘older’ of their two pretty restaurants, for the simple reason that we preferred the menu to that of their newer offering. Food was faultless, as was service. Good selection of wine, including some very local (and delicious) vino. The breakfasts were quite the most beautifully presented I’ve ever eaten, tasty too. The gardens are lovely, we made use of the small deck which has lie flat loungers, easy to snooze for a while here. All in all I would jump at the chance to stay here again. If you are considering staying here, look no further, you will missing out if you do! Lyme Regis itself is a very pretty little town. We found a lovely lady who makes silver jewellery down in the Mill, as luck would have it some pieces had freshwater pearls in them...30th wedding anniversary...a purchase was deemed necessary. There is a working potter in the next building, very reasonably priced. A local photographer has a nearby gallery which is worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank BalhamBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrateam, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear BalhamBlonde

Thank you for writing your review, so pleased that you chose to celebrate your 30th wedding anniversary with us and that you enjoyed your stay, we wish you both many more happy days together!

Regards

Sean Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews