We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mariners Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$192
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
180
180
65
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
180
65
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parksea viewsteep hillold buildingexcellent restaurantpretty gardenlovely hotelrooms were very cleanfull englishsmall hotelnight breakcomfortable loungestayed one nighttown centresingle roomnice roombreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I had a lovely three day break at the Mariners. Modern rooms in such a historic building. Really friendly staff with a relaxed ambience. Will definitely be returning in the very near future. Found the dinner menu to be a bit pretentious, over elaborated, should keep it relatively simple. Sorry chef. Ideal location for the town, however there is a nice walk up-hill when returning to the hotel, bus stop right outside.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked a weekend in August for my birthday. The rooms were clean and adequate, although the staircases and landings were very tatty and in need of decoration. The bar was lovely as was the dining room. The lounge at the back had lovely sea views but was furnished like an old people's home. The hotel is in a good location with it's own car park. The restaurant food was excellent although a little pricey, especially when compared with Mark Hix just down the road. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter with sea views
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have dined quite a few times at The Mariners Hotel over the five years that we have been visiting Lyme Regis. As usual we were given a friendly reception and were able to relax in the lounge overlooking the garden and distant coastline. You can choose at leisure from either the Bar Menu, or the Restaurant Menu so quite a comprehensive choice. The dining room also has lovely views and we were fortunate enough to have a table near the window on the evenings that we dined there. Service was efficient and attentive and the food was varied, plentiful and very reasonably pricedand expertly cooked.

Would not hesitate to dine there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Weymouth was full so we booked at short notice the Mariners on Expedia. It was on 'offer' of £260 for Friday/Saturday for two of us. The hotel is nicely located at the top of the main drag. It has the huge advantage of having its own carpark across the road so making the usual parking nightmare in Lyme so easy. Everywhere is within walking distance. We had a nice welcome at check-in from a number of friendly staff. Noting previous reviews, we were not expecting too much of the room (no.2) and so it was. A bit plain but was functional enough with a comfy bed. The room was at the front of the hotel and with the windows open there was quite a lot of traffic , delivery van and people noise. We choose to eat at the restaurant on the Friday, and following a drink of locally brewed bottled beer we sat down to a half full room. I ordered monkfish goujons and then dressed devon crab. Absolutely delicious and at a fair price with prompt service. We decided to eat there on the Saturady as well and the food was equally excellent. Breakfast was also good and they were more than happy to mix and match items from the cooked menu. Bearing in mind the good location I still think the £130 per night B&B is a bit steep. At £100 it would be OK. However I do highly recommend the restaurant and that would encourage us to go to the Mariners again.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel because of the road noise. Rooms at the back have a good view of the coast.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights over the August bank holiday and had a blast with friends. Place is pretty well organised and located, stayed in room no.1 & would have liked a larger double bed - just don't believe that couples sleep in 4'6" double beds these days - and curtains that made the room dark, but it didn't spoil the stay, and we would probably use again. Bar was good and garden quite pretty,

Room Tip: Ask for a proper size double bed or twins.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews