We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated and far too expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overrated and far too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having trawled through numerous hotel reviews, we opted for this hotel due to positive feedbacks. Our feedback in short:
-Extortionate prices for such small and basic rooms with no sea view. Room door had 1" gap at bottom so could hear creaky floors and voices in hall clearly.
-Took road side room to front so barely got any sleep due to noisy vehicles throughout the night. Complimentary earplugs would have come in handy.
-Breakfast was ok..nothing to write home about. Pleasant garden and cliff views to rear of breakfast room.
-Convenient private car park accross the road, though dare not ask to keep you your car there after check-out...a big no, no!
-Location is ok. Only a 5-8 minute walk from the Cobb.

I couldn't comment on the service as didn't have much interraction with the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    153
    57
    24
    9
See reviews for
48
244
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having spent a lovely weekend at this hotel last year we decided to come back again for a couple of nights and we were not disappointed. We had a standard room this time instead of a sea view and it was just as comfortable. The service from the staff was first class and they couldn't do enough to help. The food in the restaurant was excellent and there were ample portions. I even bought some fish in the local fish market which the hotel kept for me in their fridge until we left. We will be back!

Room Tip: Have stayed in a sea view room which was very nice although it did not have any chairs to sit in. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie635679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked the Mariners partly on the strength of the reviews and partly because of the large car park as we had been to Lyme some years previously and knew how bad the parking is in the town.
My impression is that it needs to decide whether it is a traditional style hotel or a modern boutique hotel. The reception area, bar and dining room are modern with lovely stone floors and light coloured furniture. The reception area is a bit untidy, and I found the bar area a bit dark due to the small windows, but very pleasant. The lounge with lovely views over the garden and the bay is more traditional, but some of the chairs are in need of re-upholstering and the carpet in need of replacing, but it is a nice area to have a pre dinner drink.
We asked for a sea view room and no 12 has a dual aspect with stunning views across Lyme Bay, but was let down by some small niggles. The shower room is very small and has a very low ceiling so my 6ft 3in tall husband did struggle a bit, particularly in the small shower cubicle. The curtains in the room were coming away from the rail and did not close very easily, they had to be pulled very firmly which has caused the problem. The valance on the bed was not placed properly so hung over the bed more one side than the other and it was grubby where people had caught their shoes in it. The furniture was adequate with a large built in wardrobe, but there was no chair or small table that you normally get in hotels so that you could sit have a cup of tea and enjoy the view. The carpet had seen better days, but the overall impression is that it is reasonably clean but scruffy. The staircase and corridors are also a bit tatty.
The food is excellent and consists of very hearty portions of good quality ingredients. It isn't cheap but it is good.
The biggest asset of the hotel apart from the large free car park just over the road is the staff. They are all charming, friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were all very cheerful.
Would we stay again? Possibly, if we specifically wanted to visit Lyme again, but we did think that it was a bit expensive at £150 for B&B for the standard of the room.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are away from the road, which is quite busy at certain times of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast and room immaculately clean. My only complaint was that I was given a room with an adjoining door. The couple in the adjoining room were up late and although they were not being excessively loud, the noise carried through the door and I had a poor nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treefro9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights while on a training course on business and then stayed another 2 nights with my family. The hotel really looked after us, especially Stuart the manager. The restaurant has delicious food, the bar has lovely wines and the rooms are all quirky and cute, welcoming and great. Breakfast was also really nice. We had a fab time and would not want to stay anywhere else if returning to Lyme Regis.

Room Tip: Family room is so cute, with adjoining kids bedroom equipped with toys and books!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were staying at another B&B in Lyme Regis and walked into the Mariners restaurant" off the street" despite being very busy we received a warm welcome and found a table.
The ambience was pleasant and the staff absolutly brilliant and friendly.As for the food it was presented with style and tasted divine. So much so that we booked again for the next evening!!
This was just as good as the plate of empty mussel shells !! evidenced another excellently cooked and prepared meal.A great dining experience thank you.

Room Tip: We just used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

With pre-dinner drinks served in the spacious and comfortable lounge and then being escorted into the grand dining room, we felt as if we were being treated like royalty. This was the first evening of our vacation in Lyme Regis.and what a start!
The meal was superb as were the staff.
Cannot praise the hotel enough for making us so welcome (and we weren't even staying there!).
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lignumbowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing