We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stop over!”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Having previously stayed elsewhere in Lyme, this was our first visit to The Mariners. Our room was fine with a great view over the bay - it would have been lovely, had the weather allowed, to sit on the balcony! We had a a friendly and helpful welcome and the evening meal was enjoyable. We would certainly return if we were heading to/through Lyme.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Mariners Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great little gem of a hotel.

GOOD POINTS
excellent breakfast
Comfortable room at the front of the hotel no 3 ...... The first room that we saw was at the back, had no view and was a little gloomy
Friendly professional staff
Good fast wifi throughout
Good size hotel car park over the road

BAD POINTS
You need to be good at walking hills, the hotel sits quite high over the town

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a very pleasant family birthday lunch here. We had been two years ago and decided it was time for a return visit. We were not disappointed. There is a lounge with views out to sea where you sit to wait your table being ready with a drink and choose from the menu. Don't understand why reviews complain about the staff. There were very professional and welcoming and the young man who carved the meat couldn't have been politer. The food was very good. My wife had the terrine which she pronounced excellent as were my whitebait and our son's asparagus. Main course carvery was also very good, although some people might say that the two choices rather than the usual three was a little limited. Only our son could manage a sweet, a large portion of rhubarb and apple crumble! Very fairly priced, attractive décor in the restaurant, and attentive service. Thoroughly enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewartrSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just got back from a three night break at this wonderful hotel. Being February we were not able to take advantage of the wonderful garden and the view from there, but the view from our room was fabulous.
Everything was pristine, breakfast was lovely, staff very helpful and friendly.
I will be recommending this place to friends and family and be coming back in the future.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view, well worth the extra.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I recently visited this hotel, described as "boutique" to me. I had tried to check with the owner before arrival that everything would be fine for my trip and it took him a while to get back to me each time. On arrival, the hotel was just reopening after the Christmas break and there was a sign on the door saying CLOSED. This stayed for a further two days. The carpets were up with tools everywhere, there was a strong smell of paint everywhere - including in my bedroom. The facilities were fine. But I'd recommend staying at Kersbrook down the road, where the people are responsive, there was no mess and confusion and it was very homely. This was my preference by a long way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berry54v1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinersLymeRegis, Owner at Mariners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

The Mariners is a beautiful 17c. hotel which had been closed the previous slow week in January, allowing us to redecorate the stairs and landing and fit new carpet at a time not to inconvenience guests.

This guest had called a number of times wanting to check in early in the morning which we helped with and accommodated. The new carpet wasn’t fully fitted when she arrived but was ready for the normal check in time of 2pm.

The closed sign referred to was for the restaurant which re-opened as planned, later in the week. Would we do the same again? Yes, because we have a reputation of being friendly, helpful and giving excellent service as many reviews on this web site testify.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had an overnight stay here with Sunday lunch the next day. This is a quaint old building with modern amenities such as wi fi in the rooms. The room was bright , airy and beautifully decorated,the bathroom modern and clean. As someone with a bad back the bed is very important and this one was good. The room we had was very quiet. The views from the back rooms ,lounge and dining room are fantastic. There is a pretty garden.The car park is large and only over the road. It is a short down hill walk to the town centre which obviously makes it up hill on the way back, but my husband and I did not find it hard and both of us are over 70. Service was excellent and friendly.
The only difficulty with this delightful Inn might be for any one with limited mobility as the stairs are steep and narrow.Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank DevonBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

.....with what has been said about the "2013 Christmas Break at the Mariners". My wife and stayed for 3 nights over the Christmas period, and it's lovely to be able to to tell Stuart and his staff how much we really enjoyed the experience. Hospitality genuinely given is a pretty precious commodity, and at Christmas time even more so, so thank you all for looking after us so well! Food was a delight; imaginative and beautifully cooked, and it was no surprise to see the locals filling all available tables for Christmas Lunch. A Christmas to remember!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouralgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
254 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range: £111 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing