We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel With Character.”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Came for my Birthday celebrations, traditional hotel on Silver street approx 10 minutes walk from Lyme. Comfortable spacious room on top floor, excellent food in the restaurant and excellent breakfast. Staff were outstanding. Free parking across the road, what's not to like? Will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djh&cjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a very enjoyable 3 night stay. Our room was very clean and tidy and nicely presented and very spacious. Our room was Room 1 on the first floor and we had a balcony overlooking the garden, well worth the extra to get a room this nice. Stunning views out to sea from both windows and of course the balcony. Lovely garden which we took advantage of as the weather was really nice. The hotel sits high up on the hill so you will need to be brave if you want to walk into town. The free patrons Car Park on the opposite side of the road is a nice touch and its nice and safe too. The staff were very friendly and helpful and also put some fish in their fridge for me to keep it fresh. The food here was outstanding and we ate in the bar or restaurant all three nights of our stay. To be honest, the food was that good that we didn’t bother taking a chance with other restaurants in the area when we knew we’d get a top class meal here. One point to note is that if you intend eating here do ask for a table when you sign in as it is a popular destination with the locals and guests are not automatically reserved tables.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a sea view room at the rear of the hotel, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pud1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The friendliness of the service was a major plus of this hotel: from the manager down everyone was cheerful and polite. High marks also for the quality (and generosity) of the breakfasts, the superb view from the residents’ lounge and a lovely garden overlooking Lyme (sadly too cold for us to enjoy in February). They also have a (free) patrons’ car park just across the road. Minor niggles were no mirror or power sockets near the dressing table – the latter meaning we had to boil the kettle on the floor – and the rather flimsy plastic nature of the shower installation, which duly broke while in use, although to be fair the hotel did repair it promptly the following day.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, the rear rooms are quieter and with superior views over Lyme Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallTraveller274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Having previously stayed elsewhere in Lyme, this was our first visit to The Mariners. Our room was fine with a great view over the bay - it would have been lovely, had the weather allowed, to sit on the balcony! We had a a friendly and helpful welcome and the evening meal was enjoyable. We would certainly return if we were heading to/through Lyme.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great little gem of a hotel.

GOOD POINTS
excellent breakfast
Comfortable room at the front of the hotel no 3 ...... The first room that we saw was at the back, had no view and was a little gloomy
Friendly professional staff
Good fast wifi throughout
Good size hotel car park over the road

BAD POINTS
You need to be good at walking hills, the hotel sits quite high over the town

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a very pleasant family birthday lunch here. We had been two years ago and decided it was time for a return visit. We were not disappointed. There is a lounge with views out to sea where you sit to wait your table being ready with a drink and choose from the menu. Don't understand why reviews complain about the staff. There were very professional and welcoming and the young man who carved the meat couldn't have been politer. The food was very good. My wife had the terrine which she pronounced excellent as were my whitebait and our son's asparagus. Main course carvery was also very good, although some people might say that the two choices rather than the usual three was a little limited. Only our son could manage a sweet, a large portion of rhubarb and apple crumble! Very fairly priced, attractive décor in the restaurant, and attentive service. Thoroughly enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewartrSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just got back from a three night break at this wonderful hotel. Being February we were not able to take advantage of the wonderful garden and the view from there, but the view from our room was fabulous.
Everything was pristine, breakfast was lovely, staff very helpful and friendly.
I will be recommending this place to friends and family and be coming back in the future.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
386 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
259 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#12 of 45 in Lyme Regis
109 reviews
0 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 45 in Lyme Regis
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range: £75 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing