We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak night”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Steak night”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We went to Friday night steak night and were not disappointed. Scallops and prawns for starters, which were cooked to perfection, followed by steaks which were perfectly cooked and accompanied by sides that were really good. I think the chef has a real talent and will go far. I haven't had a steak that well cooked for years....well done. Definitely try some of the other wares on offer. The staff were all really friendly too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    159
    62
    24
    10
See reviews for
49
252
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Spent a lovely couple of hours at this charming hotel in Lyme Regis. The sunday roast was excellent. Cooked to perfection and lots of choice of potatoes and veggies. Done with style, all freshly cooked and attractively served, not like the ping ping brigade. All for under a tenner.
The puddings very also lovely and yummy and fresh.
The surroundings were a nice mixture of old and new, with a lovely garden and superb views across lyme bay. It was also nice to find a nice loo, clean and tidy with hand cream as well as hand wash….lovely.
The good weather also helped.
I would highly recommend this little gem, yes you are going to pay a bit more, but it is worth it.
The staff are lovely and nothing is to much trouble.
Definitely going back…. steak nite on friday, here we come.

Room Tip: We didn't stay but there is a room that over looks the garden and sea view and if I were to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Came for my Birthday celebrations, traditional hotel on Silver street approx 10 minutes walk from Lyme. Comfortable spacious room on top floor, excellent food in the restaurant and excellent breakfast. Staff were outstanding. Free parking across the road, what's not to like? Will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djh&cjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a very enjoyable 3 night stay. Our room was very clean and tidy and nicely presented and very spacious. Our room was Room 1 on the first floor and we had a balcony overlooking the garden, well worth the extra to get a room this nice. Stunning views out to sea from both windows and of course the balcony. Lovely garden which we took advantage of as the weather was really nice. The hotel sits high up on the hill so you will need to be brave if you want to walk into town. The free patrons Car Park on the opposite side of the road is a nice touch and its nice and safe too. The staff were very friendly and helpful and also put some fish in their fridge for me to keep it fresh. The food here was outstanding and we ate in the bar or restaurant all three nights of our stay. To be honest, the food was that good that we didn’t bother taking a chance with other restaurants in the area when we knew we’d get a top class meal here. One point to note is that if you intend eating here do ask for a table when you sign in as it is a popular destination with the locals and guests are not automatically reserved tables.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a sea view room at the rear of the hotel, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pud1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The friendliness of the service was a major plus of this hotel: from the manager down everyone was cheerful and polite. High marks also for the quality (and generosity) of the breakfasts, the superb view from the residents’ lounge and a lovely garden overlooking Lyme (sadly too cold for us to enjoy in February). They also have a (free) patrons’ car park just across the road. Minor niggles were no mirror or power sockets near the dressing table – the latter meaning we had to boil the kettle on the floor – and the rather flimsy plastic nature of the shower installation, which duly broke while in use, although to be fair the hotel did repair it promptly the following day.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, the rear rooms are quieter and with superior views over Lyme Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallTraveller274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay on Wye
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Having previously stayed elsewhere in Lyme, this was our first visit to The Mariners. Our room was fine with a great view over the bay - it would have been lovely, had the weather allowed, to sit on the balcony! We had a a friendly and helpful welcome and the evening meal was enjoyable. We would certainly return if we were heading to/through Lyme.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great little gem of a hotel.

GOOD POINTS
excellent breakfast
Comfortable room at the front of the hotel no 3 ...... The first room that we saw was at the back, had no view and was a little gloomy
Friendly professional staff
Good fast wifi throughout
Good size hotel car park over the road

BAD POINTS
You need to be good at walking hills, the hotel sits quite high over the town

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
236 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
680 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing