We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our second visit to the hotel which had undergone refurbishment under the current management. Good standard in the room, nice décor throughout and very comfortable. Food was of a high standard and service very friendly. It's a little way out of the town but that's good for walking off the lovely food! Easily reached by car with the added bonus of parking opposite. Highly recommended. Will go again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

I woke up this morning to the sound of songbirds in the garden, a few seagull calls but no traffic noise. The Mariners Hotel is right on the roadside so we asked for a room at the back, with a sea view. We were given room 12 which must be the best in the hotel for us. Smallish (and not suitable for tall people because of the low ceiling) but with views of the sea from both windows and amazingly quiet for a town centre hotel. Good car park (which is a real bonus in Lyme Regis) and good breakfasts.
Steep stairs may be a problem for those with mobility problems. (There may be a lift - we didn't ask.)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and I guess that most have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JanefromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is in a good location, a few minutes walk uphill (not for the unfit) from Lyme Regis beach/the cobb. It has a car park accross the road. due to the age of the hotel it has low ceilings and beams so is not for the very tall (I'm 5'11'' and had to duck at times). I had a single room on the top floor. It was a quiet room, and although on the main road the windows kept most of the noise out. the staff were friendly (though it seemed understaffed). the bar lounge and gardens have a lovely view over the bay. the breakfast selection was reasonable but not dazzling, but the hot food was freshly cooked and tasty. the bar wasn't badly priced either. the downsides were that my room was clearly made up in a rush and looked a bit unfinished. it wasn't filthy but it could have been cleaner. Also, the sign in the bathroom said that the tap water was not suitable for drinking, but they only provided one small bottle of water, so that meant having to go down to the bar to get more water if needed, which was a little frustrating. It was a reasonably priced hotel though, given the location and general cost of things in Lyme, and it was clearly very popular for sunday lunch, and dinners, so i suspect the restaurant is good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrotsWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had booked my wife a one day cookery experience at nearby river cottage, so decided to take the kids with us so we could make a weekend of it.
We arrived Friday evening and were given a warm welcome and shown to their family room. The room comprises of one double bed in one room and a room with twin beds in for the kids, sharing one bathroom. It was very comfortable and clean.
Breakfast on Saturday began at 8.30 an we had to be at river cottage(5miles away) at 9.30am so it was going to be tight. I mentioned this to the girl on reception who said "no problem I will get the chef in early, come down at 8am. Excellent !

The morning breakfast was very nice. We had a meal in their restaurant in the evening which was also lovely, be it a tad pricey.

I would certainly stop again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank startpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked a Sunday evening meal at this hotel, to be fair to them they are one of the few restaurants open this time of the year on a Sunday,The receptionist(in the evening) who turned out to be the master of many guises and I think was scottish was an example of industry and so much more and because of her we have upgraded this experience o very god witgout her input, nfortunately would be average. They did try hard however, we were seated in a lounge area, and invited to our table after our order was taken and starters were ready to be served, I had the the seafood main course which although well cooked I thought was over priced and unfortunately the fish cooked was not fresh fish but supermarket quality. The blond svelte lady who I have previously eluded to was the highlight for us althought the food was well cooked and I would recommend,. she was definately the star of the show and I would willingly eat at any restaurant she was employed at, as I know I (we) would be well looked after.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We went to Friday night steak night and were not disappointed. Scallops and prawns for starters, which were cooked to perfection, followed by steaks which were perfectly cooked and accompanied by sides that were really good. I think the chef has a real talent and will go far. I haven't had a steak that well cooked for years....well done. Definitely try some of the other wares on offer. The staff were all really friendly too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Spent a lovely couple of hours at this charming hotel in Lyme Regis. The sunday roast was excellent. Cooked to perfection and lots of choice of potatoes and veggies. Done with style, all freshly cooked and attractively served, not like the ping ping brigade. All for under a tenner.
The puddings very also lovely and yummy and fresh.
The surroundings were a nice mixture of old and new, with a lovely garden and superb views across lyme bay. It was also nice to find a nice loo, clean and tidy with hand cream as well as hand wash….lovely.
The good weather also helped.
I would highly recommend this little gem, yes you are going to pay a bit more, but it is worth it.
The staff are lovely and nothing is to much trouble.
Definitely going back…. steak nite on friday, here we come.

Room Tip: We didn't stay but there is a room that over looks the garden and sea view and if I were to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dollygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
256 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#10 of 45 in Lyme Regis
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range: £114 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing