We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a lovely town”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a lovely town”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here for a night on Business - The hotel had friendly staff who were eager to please. the room I boked was a bit small - but it was just a single room. Breakfast was good All in all a pleasant stay - I will come again!

Room Tip: The single rooms are small - no bath just a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    166
    63
    25
    10
See reviews for
51
262
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hurghada, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

First visit to Mariners hotel ,good friendly staff , our room ,tidy ,but shower room needs a up grade ,shower cubicle quite dirty ,some grouting needed now .
Dinner first night , my wife's had dressed crab it was excellent , i had ordered moules marinieres but received moules mariners there own type with chorisa sausage ,not good ,very bitter , they offered to replace or take it off the bill ,but I had eaten it ,so paid for it but should not have happened . would stay again in hotel but would check room . enjoyed our two nights there .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is in a very old building which brings with it a lot of charm. It was approx a 10 minute walk into town but uphill on the way back so may have taken a minute or two more.

We found the service to be friendly but would have appreciated a couple of pointers and/or a map of the town having arrived late evening and wanting to find somewhere to eat. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast freshly cooked and of a good standard.

All in all if we were to return to Lyme Regis, we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarup, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you ar looking for show off - don´t come. But if you are looking for warm and frendly service and good food. Clean and nice rooms and sea wievs from the common areas and some of the
rooms and the small garden.Then it´s perfect for a couple of days. The restaurant was so good we prefer not to go out, but stayed for dinner.
Realy value for money.

B. Nielsen, Denmark

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nielsen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our second visit to the hotel which had undergone refurbishment under the current management. Good standard in the room, nice décor throughout and very comfortable. Food was of a high standard and service very friendly. It's a little way out of the town but that's good for walking off the lovely food! Easily reached by car with the added bonus of parking opposite. Highly recommended. Will go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I woke up this morning to the sound of songbirds in the garden, a few seagull calls but no traffic noise. The Mariners Hotel is right on the roadside so we asked for a room at the back, with a sea view. We were given room 12 which must be the best in the hotel for us. Smallish (and not suitable for tall people because of the low ceiling) but with views of the sea from both windows and amazingly quiet for a town centre hotel. Good car park (which is a real bonus in Lyme Regis) and good breakfasts.
Steep stairs may be a problem for those with mobility problems. (There may be a lift - we didn't ask.)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and I guess that most have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JanefromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is in a good location, a few minutes walk uphill (not for the unfit) from Lyme Regis beach/the cobb. It has a car park accross the road. due to the age of the hotel it has low ceilings and beams so is not for the very tall (I'm 5'11'' and had to duck at times). I had a single room on the top floor. It was a quiet room, and although on the main road the windows kept most of the noise out. the staff were friendly (though it seemed understaffed). the bar lounge and gardens have a lovely view over the bay. the breakfast selection was reasonable but not dazzling, but the hot food was freshly cooked and tasty. the bar wasn't badly priced either. the downsides were that my room was clearly made up in a rush and looked a bit unfinished. it wasn't filthy but it could have been cleaner. Also, the sign in the bathroom said that the tap water was not suitable for drinking, but they only provided one small bottle of water, so that meant having to go down to the bar to get more water if needed, which was a little frustrating. It was a reasonably priced hotel though, given the location and general cost of things in Lyme, and it was clearly very popular for sunday lunch, and dinners, so i suspect the restaurant is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrotsWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
350 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
157 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing