We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
192
191
75
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
191
75
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park sea view steep hill low ceilings old building pretty garden twin beds small hotel breakfast was excellent full english friendly hotel rooms were very clean town centre nice room stayed one night comfortable lounge single room
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We visited this restaurant from local recommendation and were not disappointed. The quality and presentation of the food were outstanding, especially the complimentary tomato gazpacho! The setting, with the distant sea view, and the décor of the dining areas were delighful; although towards the top of the hill the journey is well worth it!
There are some excellent restaurants in Lyme Regis and I hope that the residents of this delightful town will add The Mariners to this list. We will definitely return when we stay at the equally special Kersbrook House.
Thank you to both venues for making our second visit to Lyme so enjoyable.

Room tip: I can not comment on the hotel side as we only had a meal there.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rhackney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We are a group of 15 walkers from North London and I had the task of organising our usual Group Dinner whilst away on our walking holiday. I spent some time searching on line and finally - having talked to The Manager, Toby - felt that The Mariners seemed to tick many of our boxes - I was not disappointed.

From the very beginning Toby and the chefs were very flexible with our menus and offered us a varied choice at a reasonable price - served in their private dining area.

We arrived in the bar to be greeted by a very friendly team and had access to the delightful garden which overlooks the bay - All the right vibes. We were then shown to our table which was really nicely presented and then the best bit of all - the food! This place produces some serious cooking and it was a very welcome change from all the pub grub that we had eaten during the rest of our holiday!

All in all the service was spot on and the courses reached the table almost simultaneously!

I am now looking for an excuse to return to Lyme Regis - Well done everyone.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SheshaNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Great hotel all the staff are very pleasant, be warned on a very steep hill though would be a real issue if walking problems
Breakfast was excellent - would definitely go back there again for a mini break

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank john K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

There are several positive things about Mariners Hotel, the most important being the food. We thoroughly enjoyed two evening meals, which we had arranged as a dinner / bed and breakfast deal, and were excellent value. The menu is varied, gave sufficient options for two days, and local produce was much in evidence. I'd recommend the Creedy duck breast, and the steak, which were my main course choices on the two days. Desserts were imaginative and beautifully presented. Complimentary homemade bread, olive oil and balsamic dips, and gazpacho were enjoyable extras. Breakfast was good, offering interesting and well-cooked choices (particularly the haddock), but the service would have been frustratingly slow if you were in a hurry.

The staff were young, pleasant and helpful, although appeared to be struggling a little during busy periods.

Accommodation is on the whole good although we found the double beds too small (we understand all the beds are the same size). Bathrooms in the two rooms we sampled were a bit claustrophobic, but the Mariners Hotel is an old building and they've fitted things in the best way they can. Fittings and furnishings are smart although I'd have preferred them a little less bland. Note that if you are unable face a maze of narrow stairs and steps to get to your room upstairs, the accommodation probably isn't for you.

At the back of the hotel there is a beautiful garden which overlooks gardens, rooftops and views to the sea. This is a major asset to the hotel and rooms at the back have the benefit of the views. Rooms on the road side of the hotel are reasonably quiet at night, but the traffic in the morning could be disturbing.

Parking is easy (although it's across the road), and we didn't find the walk up from the beached town too exhausting.
We'll be likely to return for another stay: the food was excellent.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Dyegourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We stayed at the Mariner's Hotel recently which is a short walk from the town centre. We were given a good-sized double room with access onto a terrace, at the back of the hotel. From here we could enjoy a beautiful view across to Golden Cap in the distance & we could also see across the hotel's pretty garden. The room had most of the usual facilities we have come to expect including a large TV & hairdryer, & even had a coffee machine with coffee pods. We enjoyed a couple of cups of coffee but were disappointed that there was not a decaffeinated option & no means of making tea. There were biscuits on the first day but these were not replenished subsequently. We had a good breakfast & would recommend the smoked haddock option in particular which seemed to have been freshly made to order.
In general it was a quite a quiet stay although there was a young child in a neighbouring room who unfortunately cried until quite late into the night which we could clearly hear through the wall. We were also a little disappointed that the Duck Island toiletries were not replenished for the second day of our stay & that the grouting in the shower was dirty. Overall it was an acceptable place to stay but we wouldn't feel particularly confident to recommend it to friends.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews