We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gem of a find”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We had a one night stay at this lovely hotel, and wish we could have stayed longer.
We booked it on route to Lyme Regis, as it was a last minute decision to have a night away. We were advised that they had a room available but it was not a room with a seaview. It did not matter because as soon as we arrived we were very impressed with the lovely room. It was exceptionally clean & comfortable with lots of lovely modern features. The shower was excellent, & the toiletries etc; were of a good quality. The bed was very comfortable, & we had an excellent night's sleep, despite the fact that the hotel was on a quite busy through road, we were not affected at all.
The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice served very promptly & the staff were all very friendly. We were very happy with this lovely hotel & would not hesitate to go back again. Car park opposite was a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

I found this hotel on trip advisor and i have to say i was most pleased. Its in a great location, it has a car park (which i think is a must for lyme regis), its rooms are good, the place was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful indeed.
i would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Just returned from 2 nights at Mariners Hotel, and overall a very pleasant stay. Everything seems to be newly refurbished and decorated in mostly neutral tones (no chintz, pot pourri or knick knacks - thank god). All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was of a high standard. The hotel is also located near to Hix Oyster and Seafood House which is well worth a visit. Quite expensive but I would consider staying here again. However I found it rather unusual that they took full credit card payment for my stay about a week before I arrived.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilioTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I had a wonderful stay at the Mariners. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, the rooms were very comfortable and clean (very clean bathrooms with excellent showers) and the food was delicious! Had dinner on the last night there and it was the best meal we had all weekend.

The hotel itself is done out really well. Very tastefully decorated inside and it has a really pretty garden terrace out the back with stunning views.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. I would definately reccommend this hotel and would love to return again some day

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We first went to the Mariners last March, for my Goddaughter's 50th birthday dinner, and stayed the night.
We were very impressed with the food and the accommodation, so decided to return for our wedding anniversary trip.
We were not disappointed. The welcome was warm and friendly, our bags were carried to our room, and any request we made was carried out at once.
We had three memorable dinners in the Restaurant, and neither my husband or I have eaten better hotel-restaurant food anywhere in the UK, neither flavour nor presentation could be faulted.
And the breakfasts were excellent too.
The hotel has a pleasant garden, with wonderful views across Lyme Bay. Unfortunately persistent rain stopped any idea of sitting outside with our coffee.
I can heartily recommend this hotel. If there is a minus, it is the fact that it is sited at the top of a steep hill.
But there are buses and taxis for those who can't cope and it is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fannyblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a 3-night stay B & B over Christmas at Mariners Hotel. Somewhere on this site there is a picture showing a man with his head just clear of the ceiling of his bedroom, not mentioning that he must be well over 6 feet 6 tall. We were concerned when, AFTER we booked, we read his review which warned against the attic rooms . We, being of average height, had no such problems and were pleased to find Room 12 (the subject of this picture) very comfortable with an excellent view over the town and the Bay. The staff were welcoming and attentive to our slightest needs. The Breakfasts were excellent and we were sad that because we were celebrating Christmas with friends we had no opportunity to sample the Dinner menu which we were told was excellent. We will certainly do the same again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertsGandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I've stayed at the Mariners twice before but this was the first time since its renovation and updating. It is a lovely hotel and the owners have done well to combine the old world charm of the original building with new fittings and facilities. Everywhere you look, there is quality - hardwood floor in the dining room, slate in the pleasant bar area, John Lewis New England furniture in the bedrooms. The residents' lounge with its collection of sofas and easy chairs - plus beautiful view over the garden and out to the sea - reminded me of an old-style girls' boarding school. (Anyone who's ever read Enid Blyton's Mallory Towers series will know what I mean.) The staff, too, are very pleasant.

I can't comment on dinner because we were only there for breakfast but that was excellent. They do the usual full English, plus kippers and smoked haddock. Mine was delicious and perfectly cooked. I was also pleased to find Tiptree marmalade and jam on the table. It's a small touch but another sign that the hotel doesn't skimp on quality.

The downside, for us, was the room we were allocated. We had requested a view of the sea - for which we paid extra. While the view was certainly lovely, the room itself was in the attic. Anyone who's ever stayed in an attic room knows the problems and the Mariners was no exception. The ceiling in our room was so low that my husband had to remove his shoes if he wanted to stand upright. It was even worse in the ensuite, where a roof joist ran across the top of the shower and the shower frame sported a 'Mind your Head' notice (see picture). The room was really too narrow to accomodate a shower - imagine trying to shower in a trouser press and you'll get the idea. There was no heating, no towel rail, and no counter space for the lovely mandarin and bergamot toiletries, which had been placed on the floor beside the loo. On the plus side, it was all sparkling clean, the fittings were new and the bath towels were unusually generous in size.

Was the view worth the disadvantagest? It depends. In the middle of summer, if all the other seaview rooms are fully-booked, then maybe. In the winter months, you might want to think twice. The view might not be quite as spectacular on a lower floor, but you'll be more comfortable and you won't have to worry about going home with a bump on your head.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargretUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
256 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 45 in Lyme Regis
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range: £113 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing