We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Enigma”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Wokingham
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Hotel Enigma”
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This hotel is something of an enigma. It does not seem to know what it is trying to be. The original building is 18c but the refurbished interior is very modern, and the two do not seem to quite mix. Most of the hotel scores highly. The staff are friendly, the food is excellent and the view from the garden is superb. There is a new large gazebo with heating and lighting so it is possible to sit in the garden until late in the evening.
Because the hotel was full I had to take a 'four poster bedded room'. The room was dark and the one window looked out onto a thick leylandi hedge a few feet from the window. This was the only view. The fourposter consisted of four 2x2 poles sticking up in each corner of the bed and looked like "MFI under construction". For this I was charged extra which came to the same as the larger bright airy rooms with views over Lyme across the bay. The flat roof was an invitation for the seagulls to play football at 4.00 am.
Would I recommend the hotel? Yes I would but avoid room 5.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmSWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    161
    63
    24
    10
See reviews for
49
257
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We had a one night stay at this lovely hotel, and wish we could have stayed longer.
We booked it on route to Lyme Regis, as it was a last minute decision to have a night away. We were advised that they had a room available but it was not a room with a seaview. It did not matter because as soon as we arrived we were very impressed with the lovely room. It was exceptionally clean & comfortable with lots of lovely modern features. The shower was excellent, & the toiletries etc; were of a good quality. The bed was very comfortable, & we had an excellent night's sleep, despite the fact that the hotel was on a quite busy through road, we were not affected at all.
The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice served very promptly & the staff were all very friendly. We were very happy with this lovely hotel & would not hesitate to go back again. Car park opposite was a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I found this hotel on trip advisor and i have to say i was most pleased. Its in a great location, it has a car park (which i think is a must for lyme regis), its rooms are good, the place was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful indeed.
i would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Just returned from 2 nights at Mariners Hotel, and overall a very pleasant stay. Everything seems to be newly refurbished and decorated in mostly neutral tones (no chintz, pot pourri or knick knacks - thank god). All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was of a high standard. The hotel is also located near to Hix Oyster and Seafood House which is well worth a visit. Quite expensive but I would consider staying here again. However I found it rather unusual that they took full credit card payment for my stay about a week before I arrived.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilioTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I had a wonderful stay at the Mariners. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, the rooms were very comfortable and clean (very clean bathrooms with excellent showers) and the food was delicious! Had dinner on the last night there and it was the best meal we had all weekend.

The hotel itself is done out really well. Very tastefully decorated inside and it has a really pretty garden terrace out the back with stunning views.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. I would definately reccommend this hotel and would love to return again some day

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We first went to the Mariners last March, for my Goddaughter's 50th birthday dinner, and stayed the night.
We were very impressed with the food and the accommodation, so decided to return for our wedding anniversary trip.
We were not disappointed. The welcome was warm and friendly, our bags were carried to our room, and any request we made was carried out at once.
We had three memorable dinners in the Restaurant, and neither my husband or I have eaten better hotel-restaurant food anywhere in the UK, neither flavour nor presentation could be faulted.
And the breakfasts were excellent too.
The hotel has a pleasant garden, with wonderful views across Lyme Bay. Unfortunately persistent rain stopped any idea of sitting outside with our coffee.
I can heartily recommend this hotel. If there is a minus, it is the fact that it is sited at the top of a steep hill.
But there are buses and taxis for those who can't cope and it is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fannyblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a 3-night stay B & B over Christmas at Mariners Hotel. Somewhere on this site there is a picture showing a man with his head just clear of the ceiling of his bedroom, not mentioning that he must be well over 6 feet 6 tall. We were concerned when, AFTER we booked, we read his review which warned against the attic rooms . We, being of average height, had no such problems and were pleased to find Room 12 (the subject of this picture) very comfortable with an excellent view over the town and the Bay. The staff were welcoming and attentive to our slightest needs. The Breakfasts were excellent and we were sad that because we were celebrating Christmas with friends we had no opportunity to sample the Dinner menu which we were told was excellent. We will certainly do the same again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsGandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
241 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#17 of 45 in Lyme Regis
269 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing