We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How lovely!”

Alice's Bear Shop and Teddy Bear Hospital
Ranked #4 of 10 Shopping in Lyme Regis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the home of the Alice's Bear Shop story books. You can often find the Author and illustrator Rikey Austin working on her next project or meet some of the real life characters from the books. Come visit the Teddy Bears and Dolls in the Teddy Bear Hospital. If you have time they'd just love a get well soon card. We also have a large selection of Vintage and collectable bears as well as many lovely soft toys.
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“How lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My daughter took in her beloved Bertie for a bit of TLC and many years of cuddling have taken the stuff out of his tum. They were so sweet with her and made her feel important. Bertie was fixed within 2 hours and returned to one very happy owner. I thought the shop could have had more products on offer, but maybe they've had a good summer. Recommended and thank you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thepickytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    0
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing place could have stayed the for hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Fabulous people run this shop! They are obviously very interested in their subjects and their customers. The knowledge of the man in the fossil workshop was enthralling with my girls still talking about their visit. He was happy to spend time talking and the children loved asking him questions and his tips helped us find our own fossils during out stay! The lady in the teddy shop was kind and chatted to the girls about the teddies and the hospital. Wish we could have visited you again during our stay. Go there if you can, much better than the larger fossil shops in the town!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KettonLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Wow wow wow, what an amazing shop with the most friendly staff including the author of the books who was more than happy to take time playing the new Alice bear shop brain box games with my children. They was treated so wonderfully and the parents too. Such a magical place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Holland180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid mail order with this shop”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Ordered a bear on the 4 September 2012 that was stated as being in stock. Order confirmation said 3/5 days delivery and when it did not arrive emailed and was told that it was not in stock and it should have stated pre-order. Since then have emailed twice the last time asking for our money back. Have not had a reply and out of time with Paypals so it looks like we have to go to small claims court to get our money back

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RikeyA, Owner at Alice's Bear Shop and Teddy Bear Hospital, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Hi Graham

I am so sorry you've had problems. I afraid I can't find any record of your calls in our day book but that may be an oops with temp staff at our end while we've been filming for the Alice's Bear Shop TV documentary. Please do call me on 01297 444589 and I'll be sure to sort your refund out myself. We have a short waiting list now for some of the bears so someone will be more than happy to offer the long awaited arrival a home when they do get here at last.

Regards
Rikey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not do business with this shop”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We disagree with all previous reviews of this shop. Near the beginning of 2012, we ordered a bear from them by mail order. In August 2012, we visited the shop and asked the owner when our bear would be delivered. We were told that she was working with UNICEF and that the bears would be distributed soon. It is now January 2013, the shop's website is currently "under construction", we have had no correspondence whatsoever from Alice's Bear Shop and Teddy Bear Hospital and worst of all, my 5 year old daughter is still waiting for a bear which we ordered 10 months ago. Once again, I would advise you not to do business with this shop under any circumstances.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank JakartaPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RikeyA, Owner at Alice's Bear Shop and Teddy Bear Hospital, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
I am so sorry that your daughter has been kept waiting. She can't be any more desperate for their arrival than we all are here.
As we have explained to everyone who we have contact details for, the manufacturing of the bears has been delayed. We have a new website www.alicesbearshopuk.com whch your pc should be redirecting you too. As soon as we heard of the delay we posted details on our website and have offered refunds to everyone who did not want to keep a bear reserved. As we know that the Alice Bears will be very popular when they do arrive most people have chosen to wait with us for their much longed for arrival. Please do feel free to contact us for a refund if that's not what you want to do.
Regards
Rikey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alice's Bear Shop and Teddy Bear Hospital also viewed

 

Been to Alice's Bear Shop and Teddy Bear Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing