We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice cream & take away”
Review of The Alcove

The Alcove
Ranked #5 of 6 Dessert in Lyme Regis
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Takeaway and Ice Cream on the seafront
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ice cream & take away”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I live in Lyme Regis & this is the only ice cream parlor I visit! The whippy ice creams are so colourful with so many different flavours which you don't get anywhere else in Lyme Regis! & all the scoop ice creams are amazing! & for the take away, perfection.. All the food I have ever eaten from there has beaten any take away along the seafront!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurajunee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    13
    0
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyme regis
2 reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

From good fish and chips and an amazing selection of local and "flavoured" whippy ice creams to holiday trinkets and beach necessities this shop has it all... Good all round prices and friendly staff the Alcove is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medmeades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Frozen fish”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Had cod and chips ,,, not what I expected, chips were just about passable , but the cod resembled a typical frozen triangular fish portion which you would associate with a low cost supermarket... Will give this place a miss in the future .....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Q4054FArichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Started with lunch, had delicious fish and chips. We then tried the flavoured whippy ice creams (loads to chose from) which were fab! Size really does matter. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mollieclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Cornish pasties ever!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The pasties are great, the staff are helpful and friendly and it's all topped off by the stunning sea views. Would definitely go back here if I return again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alcove also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Alcove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing