We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could very happily live here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arty B+B By The Sea
Ranked #21 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at the Little Place/Art B&B. We booked very last minute for just one night. We had planned to go somewhere cheaper the second night but as soon as we arrived we knew we didn't want to be anywhere else - we booked a second night and could have happily stayed a lot longer. It was worth every penny. The house and artworks around it are beautiful and Hugh and Candida were welcoming and warm hosts. It felt like a very special home from home. We had never been to Lyme Regis before but thoroughly enjoyed it. Breakfast in the sunshine on the terrace overlooking the sea was a real highlight, as was the walk down to the beach through the woods of wild garlic and bluebells. Hugh even sold us some of his artwork as a gift for our friends. Thank you for a lovely stay and we hope we'll visit again sometime.

Room Tip: The blue room was quiet, fresh and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyF1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and everything about this place is magical. From the hand painted wallpaper to the home made cups and the gang of chickens in the little wood. We even bought some of the art from our charming host Hugh.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northsouth95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I cannot recommend this place enough.
We had a wonderful weekend in Lyme Regis staying at this very lovely B&B. Its unique arty decor, spacious and comfortable room and very special breakfast (amazing yogurt and homemade bread) made it one to remember. And home-made cookies! The hosts, Hugh and Candida, were super welcoming and helpful. Thank you! Jo and Joe

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannae613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We could not recommend Arty B and B more highly. We stayed there for two nights as part of a literary tour of Dorset. Hugh and Candida are very welcoming. The rooms are clean and comfortable with lots of bohemian flourishes, which tells us that they have been put together with flare and care. We loved the House, it has a really creative but also cosy atmosphere. We had our breakfast on their beautiful terrace over looking Lyme Regis, with the sea glimmering in the distance. The sun was shining and we had fresh eggs from their own hens, accompanied by Hugh"s delicious home made bread and marmalade. Anyone out there who is looking for something refreshingly different and artistically inspiring should look no further, there is nothing run of the mill about Arty B and B.

Room Tip: Blue room and Red room both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at this lovely house with our one year old son. The red room is great with its four poster and adjoining shower room and lavatory.
The house is beautiful with Hugh's art everywhere; wallpaper, paintings, prints, post cards and most excellent bread at breakfast. They coped with our vegan diet and supplied copious tea at breakfast.
Hope to be down for the Guitars on the beach record breaking session in September.
Also thanks Hugh for sending back our phone charger.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red room. The blue room looked equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

As lovers of organic home made food we were delighted by Hugh´s bread and marmalade. That was just the icing of the cake.
A very warm welcome once we arrived and an amazing view from our room made us feel at home straight away.
We only stayed for a night in our very comfortable, quite and beautifully decorated with hand printed wallpaper ensuite room. We will definitely come back to discover more wonderful walks and have more inspiring conversations with the landlords.
A big Thank You to both of you.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarinUrlaub99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candida B, Owner at Arty B+B By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to seeing you here again! Candida and Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just had a lovely winter weekend here. Beautifully decorated red room, plenty of space and very comfortable. Loved the house - welcoming and relaxed atmosphere and came away inspired to try some simple printing which was an unexpected bonus! The view from the garden only appeared briefly through the mist but was worth the wait. If you eat out, don't miss the Tierra Kitchen - new vegetarian restaurant which is fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanandmark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
443 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#10 of 45 in Lyme Regis
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
#24 of 45 in Lyme Regis
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 45 in Lyme Regis
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arty B+B By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arty B+B By The Sea

Address: The Little Place Silver Street | Dorset, Lyme Regis DT7 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range: £90 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay the weekend, or longer, in our beautiful Georgian home in the pretty seaside town of Lyme Regis, the Pearl of West Dorset's Jurassic Coast.Here in Lyme Regis you will never be bored. You can laze on a beach, collect fossils or jetsam from the Victorian dump that is crumbling onto the shoreline. You can trawl the shops or eat yourself silly. It takes a morning to explore the face of this charming Georgian gem, but this is a small town with a large town's appetite for adventure.Turn to the page Things to Do, or ask Hugh when you arrive - what's new? Decorated in handprinted wallpapers, paintings of the coast and of the artist's family, this studio home* is set in the very heart of the town. Little Place is 5 minutes uphill from Broad Street, the main drag, and Langmoor Gardens with its celebrated view and access to the ancient Cobb, the harbour and the beach. We have two rooms with en suite shower, not sea views. You can have breakfast on the verandah with a stunning sea view overlooking Golden Cap, and sit in our garden. Most of the breakfast is home made produce; and we strive to live in an environmentally-friendly way. Parking in nearby pay and display carparks. "One of the prettiest places in the UK" as recently described by John Sargeant, Lyme Regis and especially Little Place continue to be an inspiration to its present artist owners. Here's your opportunity to share that inspiration by staying in a quite unique house in this jewel of a seaside town.This arty house has pedigree. For many years it was the home of Sir Laurence Whistler, The Queen's Glass Engraver. He left his mark on several beautiful windows about the house.This is a creative, working house and we welcome those who respect a quiet atmosphere. Your host Hugh is a working artist with a busy practice in portraits, landscapes, & lino prints together with textiles & wallpaper making. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arty B+B By The Sea Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing