We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - thoroughly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rotherfield House B&B
Ranked #13 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We were, frankly, dreading the prospect of staying in a B&B in a seaside town in England in winter... Staying in someone else's house, being subjected to a plethora of rules, a lumpy bed, questionable decor and breakfast straight out of the 70s...

Thank goodness for this place; the perfect antidote to these fears. Off-street parking. Our own, separate entrance to a fresh, brand-spankingly-newly-done room, a super-comfortable bed, television with freeview, power shower, organic Clipper tea and biscuits (staved off two hangovers) and a delicious, lovingly prepared breakfast served when we wanted it (on a snazzy trolley - the only nod to the 70s and perhaps Jacqui's previous incarnation with BA?).

Good work Jacqui. Your discrete, warm presence was very welcome. And based on our stay with you, we might even stay at another B&B sometime (and definitely with you if we find ourselves back in Lyme).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Rotherfield House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

We were told by friends, who live in Lyme Regis, that this was a lovely B&B and they were right! We arrived on a cold and blustery Saturday afternoon in January to find a warm welcome awaiting us. The room was bright and beautifully furnished with everything you could possibly need. The towels and bed linen were excellent quality and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was a feast of locally sourced ingredients beautifully prepared. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Martine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Loved it and everything about it. Breakfast, naughty little treats, size of room, fab shower, brilliant location, ! Would love to visit again in the summer to take advantage of the patio. Thank you Jaqui, you're a star. We'll be back x

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Jaqui makes you feel so welcome straight away. The patio suite was absolutely great, spotlessly clean and with a separate sitting/dining room area. The shower was superb, a huge deluge of water, lovely after a long days hike! The suite is bright and modern and with your own patio, you feel very free and have great privacy. Not having to go through the owner's personal space or feel as though you are in their house is excellent. Jaqui is most attentive though, and is always at the touch of a bell to help. She has thought of everything to make your stay perfect. The towels are the best I have ever known in a B & B, huge great fluffy items! Breakfast is fantastic, high quality ingredients perfectly cooked. The parking is great too, off road and just a few steps away from your door. The location is superb, a few minutes walk to the High Street and down to the Cobb and seafront area. We didn't move the car once during our stay. Rotherfield really is an ideal place to stay in Lyme Regis and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

There's not a lot to add to previous reviews of this lovely B&B. It was very clean and comfortable and the overall service and the breakfast Jaqui provided were excellent. We had the patio suite and it was great to have some extra space. The views from the bedroom and patio are stunning - so we might need to return in the summer to experience an al fresco breakfast. We will also try starving ourselves in advance so that we can actually eat all that's on offer! Although only 5 minutes or so from town, the walk is quite hard work and so might not be suitable for someone with mobility issues who want to walk to the sea. However this applies to most places in Lyme so it's not a criticism - just a point to note. I feel fitter after a couple of days at Rotherfield! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We have stayed in most B&Bs in Lyme over the last 15 years and have finally found one we will go back to. Convenient location, clean, warm and welcoming. Andy and Jacqui were the perfect hosts - we enjoyed all the little extras too.

Room Tip: The ground floor is great for those who can't manage stairs!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNCKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Excellent B&B, our two night stay was perfect and owners went out of their way to make it as comfortable as possible. We requested one Gluten free breakfast that was supplied by the owners. Everything very clean and of a high standard. We will stay there again in the future and can recommend Rotherfield House!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
438 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
366 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 45 in Lyme Regis
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotherfield House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotherfield House B&B

Address: B&B View Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range: £80 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious contemporary guest accommodation in the heart of Lyme Regis, just a few hundred metres from the beach and High Street. At Rotherfield House our aim is to give you the freedom and convenience to come and go as you please, much like a hotel, but with all those personal touches you only get from an independent guest house. Our newly refurbished rooms enjoy independent access directly from private patios which have views to the sea and Jurassic Coast. Both rooms are beautifully appointed with Egyptian cotton bedding, modern shower rooms, Satellite TV/DVD, ipod dock, free WiFi, your own kitchen facilities stocked with breakfast welcome pack. Each room has allocated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rotherfield House B&B Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing