We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rotherfield House B&B
Ranked #10 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“exceptional B and B”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This B and B really is excellent - we stayed in the Patio Suite, meaning we had our own bedroom and lounge with a private entry. The delicious breakfasts were served in our lounge and were so tasty and large we didn't buy lunch on any day of our stay! Jaqui, our host, was extremely friendly and helpful, and has decorated the rooms in a tasteful and informal modern style. Everything was absolutely spotless.

The house is a short walk from the main streets, and like many places in Lyme Regis up a relatively steep hill. We used the extra walking to justify eating chips, ice cream and fudge so all was well.

We would be glad to return to this lovely place and are pleased to recommend it to anyone wanting friendly but private and high-quality accommodation in this wonderful town.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for the patio suite - it's lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
170
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Thoughtfully decorated rooms, amazing breakfasts & lovely hosts.Each room has its own entrance & patio area which can be enjoyed weather permitting. A short walk into the centre of Lyme Regis with many pubs serving the local brewed ales.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmitchell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights for my partners birthday. Great welcome, lovely room, comfortable bed and so very quiet. Situated 5 minutes walk from the sea in a lovely position up the hill with great views Jacqui was a great host and the breakfast was superb as were the other little touches such as the biscuits. Highly recommend, can't imagine there is a better place to stay in lovely Lyme.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsG6615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed a couple of nights for my husbands birthday and couldn't have chosen better. We normally stay in good hotels and this was the first time in a B&B. We liked the fact you have your own entrance so you can come and go as you please and don't feel like you are in someone's house. Jaqui and Andy the owners were amazing. The weather was awful the day we arrived and our journey was 5 hours instead of the expected hour and a half but Andy made us feel so welcome (thanks also for going beyond the call of duty and giving us a lift :-)

The suite was beautiful. Lovely decor, comfy bed, loads of space and a great bathroom. The view was also amazing out over Lyme bay and only a short walk into town. The arrangement for breakfast also works so well. Such a lovely spread and quality ingredients.

Walking around Lyme, we saw loads of places to stay so I can imagine it must be tough with so much competition. This place is fantastic and I'd recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FergieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We spent a very comfortable weekend at Rotherfield House - beautifully appointed rooms, with lots of extras, and off-street parking - a real bonus in the centre of Lyme. A very substantial breakfast was served in our room (choices to be made by 9pm the previous evening). Jaqui was very friendly and welcoming. We come to Lyme regularly (to visit an elderly mother) and this is the best b&b that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at Rotherfield for two nights for a break from the hustle and bustle of London. We were so pleased that we chose this. It was quiet and peaceful, walking distance to the beach and lovely restaurants within minutes. We stayed in the patio room which was decorated to a very high standard, including an incredible sensor bathroom mirror. The breakfast is amazing - Jaqui is a wonderful host and she was always available with tips and ideas for exploring Lyme regis. We will certainly be back and would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: The patio room is excellent,with access to the lovely courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayfay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We visited Rotherfield House for two nights last weekend; a late birthday treat for my partner as we were going to the River Cottage HQ on the Friday night.
Rotherfield House has two beautiful rooms, with patios to the front (which if the weather was better we would have made good use of). We were in the Patio Suite room, but got a glimpse of the Patio room the next day, and both are of equal appeal (though ours was slighly bigger). Beds comfy, decoration gorgeous and really bright and well looked after. There are lots of treats and drinks provided; a real winner for us :)
Breakfast was a real treat, delivered to your room, excellent first and second course!
Jaqui is a natural host, with the perfect level of service, and attention to detail.
Thank you for an excellent stay, we really enjoyed talking with you, and loved your property!
Lyme Regis is a great place to visit, and we thoroughly enjoyed the River Cottage experience,as well as dinner on the Saturday evening at The Harbour Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
680 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotherfield House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotherfield House B&B

Property: Rotherfield House B&B
Address: B&B View Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious contemporary guest accommodation in the heart of Lyme Regis, just a few hundred metres from the beach and High Street. At Rotherfield House our aim is to give you the freedom and convenience to come and go as you please, much like a hotel, but with all those personal touches you only get from an independent guest house. Our newly refurbished rooms enjoy independent access directly from private patios which have views to the sea and Jurassic Coast. Both rooms are beautifully appointed with Egyptian cotton bedding, modern shower rooms, Satellite TV/DVD, ipod dock, free WiFi, your own kitchen facilities stocked with breakfast welcome pack. Each room has allocated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rotherfield House B&B Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing