We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B & B thoroughly deserves its number 1 spot !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rotherfield House B&B
Ranked #11 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“This B & B thoroughly deserves its number 1 spot !”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed in the patio suite for three nights in May with high expectations having read previous reviews. We were not disappointed it actually exceeded our expectations (and we are very fussy) Jaqui goes the extra mile providing extra touches that make this B & B stand out. From the warm friendly welcome nothing is to much trouble she just has a real desire to ensure your stay is perfect.
From the spotlessly clean room to the fridge containing bottled water and milk, the plate of treats containing biscuits chocolate and nibbles, the quality tea and coffee making facilities all contribute to making this an exceptional place to stay, coupled with the lovely patio area, breakfast and your own front door. We could not fault a thing and would not hesitate to recommend.

Alan and Jackie

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
170
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent the last bank holiday at Rotherfield House and it was absolutely wonderful. We have never had room service in a B&B for starters! We booked the patio suite which was well worth the small additional cost. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, the fridge and wine glasses were especially welcome as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary (we had to keep the bubbly cold!) And the breakfast...well what can we say. The full English was superb and I loved my salmon and scrambled eggs on the second morning. Everything was beautifully cooked, we had toast and croissants, fresh fruit, juice and tea. We didn't need to eat again until the evening. This B&B really is a little gem and it's in a great location. Thanks Jaqui!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the patio suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just spent two nights at this excellent B & B. The whole experience was first class from the well appointed rooms to the lovely breakfast.There was even a private outdoor sitting area for breakfast in good weather. Jaqui was the perfect host, very welcoming and extremely helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and we will certainly return. How a B & B should be!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willoughbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had a perfect weekend while staying at Jacqui's lovely B&B! Extremely comfortable bed, lovely soft white towels, and even a view of the sea! The pretty garden and patio chairs finished everything off perfectly. Not to forget the fantastic breakfast and very friendly service! Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the patio room, which was perfectly fine for a couple of nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank High_expectations081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our third stay at Jaqui and Andy's lovely B&B and it won't be our last ! As always a spotless, comfortable room with lots of space and luxuries to make your stay extra special. The breakfast was plentiful and Jaqui made sure mine was tailored to my diet. We find the location and the parking brilliant. We even sat on the patio in the sun this time , which was very relaxing at the end of a day sight seeing. This is more like a boutique hotel room than a B&B but with the personal touch , which makes Rotherfield house our only choice when we visit Lyme Regis. You should try it. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The patio room has a separate seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonviveurTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We spent a weekend at Rotherfield house, and I could not fault it. Jacqui and Andy are perfect hosts, breakfast was amazing and the rooms beautiful. Spotlessly clean and tidy, the room was large, light and airy. Breakfast is really as brilliant as the reviews suggest - you'll need a good walk afterwards! We were given great reccommendations for restaurants and looked after like family, while being able to come and go as we pleased and retain that all important privacy. I loved the fact that complementary tea and coffee came with a proper milk jug (in the fridge of course!) instead of those awful mini UHT pots! We will come again - thank you so much for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the suite - makes things easier when one of you is an early riser!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonEbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This B and B really is excellent - we stayed in the Patio Suite, meaning we had our own bedroom and lounge with a private entry. The delicious breakfasts were served in our lounge and were so tasty and large we didn't buy lunch on any day of our stay! Jaqui, our host, was extremely friendly and helpful, and has decorated the rooms in a tasteful and informal modern style. Everything was absolutely spotless.

The house is a short walk from the main streets, and like many places in Lyme Regis up a relatively steep hill. We used the extra walking to justify eating chips, ice cream and fudge so all was well.

We would be glad to return to this lovely place and are pleased to recommend it to anyone wanting friendly but private and high-quality accommodation in this wonderful town.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for the patio suite - it's lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
436 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
350 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
711 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotherfield House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotherfield House B&B

Property: Rotherfield House B&B
Address: B&B View Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious contemporary guest accommodation in the heart of Lyme Regis, just a few hundred metres from the beach and High Street. At Rotherfield House our aim is to give you the freedom and convenience to come and go as you please, much like a hotel, but with all those personal touches you only get from an independent guest house. Our newly refurbished rooms enjoy independent access directly from private patios which have views to the sea and Jurassic Coast. Both rooms are beautifully appointed with Egyptian cotton bedding, modern shower rooms, Satellite TV/DVD, ipod dock, free WiFi, your own kitchen facilities stocked with breakfast welcome pack. Each room has allocated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rotherfield House B&B Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing