We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has so much potential to be great......” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean View

Ocean View
Ranked #54 of 80 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Price range: US$0 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Has so much potential to be great......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location and view can't be beat. Meals and service fall short on all fronts. Mediocre at best...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    117
    58
    41
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Stunning location, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We phoned ahead to book a table. It was a beautiful day but we wanted to be 'inside' but by one of the opening french doors. Table 2 offers just this. As it was so hot, it was perfect being in the shade but looking-out over the sea. It really is a perfect location for a leisurely lunch.

Parking is a real pain at Lyme Regis when the Sun is shining and this was early June on a Wednesday lunchtime. Indeed, we had just about given-up finding anywhere to park when my wife suddenly noticed a car's indicators flash, showing someone was unlocking it. We quickly drove to this spot and waited until he left - we were lucky, there were loads of people waiting for spaces at The Hobb. We had been the other end of the town and all the spaces there were full with people queuing. So, if you want lunch on a sunny day, I recommend you get there really early to get a car parking space.

I have MS so use a folding scooter. From the Hobb car park it is only a five minute walk to the Ocean View and, as promised, the owner had kept 'Table 2' reserved for us. There are quite a few outside tables for those who prefer to sit-out, but we opted for the shade inside bit still enjoyed the views.

We were seated and soon asked if we wanted a drink whilst we looked at the menus' The selection was good and featured a good selection of local fish. As my wife tries to give me healthy 'green' vegetables etc, I like to misbehave when I'm out, so chose their 'homemade' beefburger. The girls had fish. The beefburger was generous size served with chips and a small salad, The food was good and arrived in good time and nicely hot. For me the chips were only just OK, I do like mine really crisp on the outside and soft in the middle. These were slightly lacking in this way, but still fine. I would rate the food as average, but the location is stunning.

This has obviously been taken over recently as the last time we went it was called the Bay Leaf when we last went there.

I have to say that the toilets were poor, rather tired and not really wheelchair friendly. One door leads to a tight space where their is one ladies and one gent's loo. if you wait outside you block the corridor and there is not room to wait in the small space between the toilets. This caused a queue that had to back-up to the front door when people wanted to leave the loos. Not critical, but they really could do with more than two loos and no dedicated disabled loo.

Prices are about what I would expect considering the view. We were told that we were very lucky that we were able to book a 1:00pm table as this was a mistake and they had two sittings - one at 12:00 and one at 2:00pm. Had we been told we could only have 12 or 2:00 we wouldn't have booked. Be warned.

Summary: For the views on a sunny day ... unbeatable. Food average, staff helpful, but the uniform seems to be exceedingly short skirts.... not that as a man I am complaining, but the girls in our party felt the staff were a little 'underdressed'. Having said that, there were no complaints from the male side of our party.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StocklinchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Visited on a sunny day after walking the Cobb and had a really good meal. Sat at the window table which we had reserved (luckily as it was full) with the family and watched the world go by and others playing on the beach. Good food, good menu and good service. The decor is very upmarket for Lyme Regis and looks extremely clean and comfortable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Haccombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilminster
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfect beachfront location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We were a bit worried having seen some of these reviews, but were very pleasantly surprised. Had window table indoors, but with doors wide open on a glorious day. All our lunches were very acceptable, as good as a reasonable pub and we had a lovely lazy lunch watching the world go by. We thought the prices very reasonable especially considering the fantastic location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rovingspringfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent beachfront location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We visted Ocean view for an early evening drink and a quick snack during a wonderful sunny
It is a wonderful location to enjoy the view across the bay, and is within easy reach of the Cart Road which allows disabled parking, with a blue badge.
We had a few drinks and a couple of desserts, wrong I know but we were on holiday !!
The food was excellent, the staff very attentive and the location perfect.
Having seen the quality of the food being served to others for dinner, and hearing the commnets made, I would wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant if staying or passing through Lyme Regis.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RichJCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean View also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing