We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent vegetarian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tierra Kitchen

Tierra Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 80 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Award winning modern restaurant using the best local, seasonal and organic produce in the South West. Suitable for vegetarians and foodies alike.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have been several times since this restaurant opened two weeks ago. Service is friendly and efficient. Bread, which was a cheesy one the last evening we went , is delicious. Menu is varied, and not always the same dishes offered. Both quality of cooking, and presentation very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank imeldamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    109
    29
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seaton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tierra Kitchen, Lyme Regis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Three of us had dinner there Saturday evening. It was comfortable, good table and seating, and room between tables. We each had a different main course and dessert. The food was absolutely spot on. Delicious. Couldn't fault it. We had a bottle of red wine and that again was excellent. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant. I imagine it would also be great in the lunch time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evacaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis
Level Contributor
272 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“perfect veggie lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

I visited on the first day of opening and mentioned this on the Café sol restaurant trip advisor as it changed from Café sol to Tierra Kitchen on Feb 1 2013.
I had a lovely lunch with a friend and her plate of food looked great and was yummy, her words and I reiterated with my yummy lunch. It was packed out on its first day out to all and I can see why.
The little jem is clean ,nicely lit, with really good food for all.
Thoroughly recommend, I shall be back soon.
Thank you for making my coffee with lots of hot frothy milk on the side as requested.
Good luck in your new venture.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sall-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Cuisine comes to Lyme Regis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

The best vegetarian food I have ever tasted. Chef Mark Evans until recently ran Bristol's Café Maitreya – twice named 'Restaurant of the Year' by the National Vegetarian Society. Also voted best vegetarian restaurant by Observer Food Monthly. We are so lucky.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodyLymeRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“a welcome newcomer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Tierra Kitchen is going to be a very welcome addition to Lyme Regis if our meal on Saturday evening is anything to go by. The restaurant only opened the day before and a cold February night doesn't tempt many people out but the restaurant was busy.

It is located on the former Cafe Sol building and the two Marks who have started the venture are not making a big thing out of the fact that it is a vegetarian restaurant - and quite rightly. On the basis of our meal the food choices are interesting combinations of flavoursome ingredients which happen to be vegetarian.

The Evening menu was promising; short enough to ensure all dishes are freshly made - Four starters (or small dishes) three mains and three puddings.

We had Dorset red cheese and pistachio croquettes with smoked tomato and chilli (£4.75) and Crispy carrot and cashew cakes with avocado and tamari (£4.50). Both were bursting with flavour and were good for sharing. The main was a Sweet potato and winter vegetable tagine with crispy chickpea polenta, yogurt and mint (£10). A lovely combination and just right for a winter's evening. Service was friendly and from the chatter at other tables, the food was being received very warmly with lots of compliments.

Wine by the glass was reasonable at £2.75, £3.10 and by the bottle.

We had to pass on the puddings, which were all priced at £4.90 just below my self-emposed limit of £5 but will be sampled at a later date!

I gather that both owners have previous form with award-winning restaurants in the Bristol area and certainly expertise, experience and professionalism was evident on the night. Lyme Regis has many so-so places to eat but this venture might just have an edge in providing something different as well as being delicious!

Having read this through I feel I should say something to indicate that I have no connection whatsoever with the venture. We just booked on the basis of a local newspaper article announcing the opening and were very pleased we were one of the very first satisfied customers! Long may Tierra Kitchen provide excellent meals in Lyme!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tierra Kitchen also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to Tierra Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing