We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing 1st anniversary getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Retreat Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Retreat Hot Tub
Fully equipped kitchen with every appliance - perishable items in photo  for advert not supplied. Retreeat for Couples with Private Garden with open air Hot Tub - bottle for photo & not supplied.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
133 reviews
Retreat Hot Tub
Fully equipped kitchen with every appliance - perishable items in photo  for advert not supplied.
Retreeat for Couples with Private Garden with open air Hot Tub - bottle for photo & not supplied.
Polycarbonate glasses for Hot Tub - bottle for advertorial purposes not supplied.
The Retreat for couples with own private open air Hot Tub
Private garden with Hot Tub - bottle for photographic purposes not supplied.
Brass Bed - overlooks gardens -  ensuite rainfall shower with underfloor heating.
King Size bed with specialist allergy free bedding
The Retreat secluded and private Hot Tub for your exclusive use.  Bottle for photo and not supplied.
Retreat Hot Tub, private, secluded with LED light function - simply fabulous
Retreat Sitting Room with feature fire, TV/DVD
Dualit & Joseph Joseph accessories. Fully equipped, every appliance.
Retreat Hot Tub, use it year round, light function, robes, slippers provided,
Brass Bed with blackout blinds, mobile phone charging station, dressing gowns, slippers.
We support the Jurassic Coast Heritage Trust
Kitchen diner with every appliance, dish washer, washer drier, hob, microwave, oven etc.
The Retreat for Couples is based at Hedgehog Corner!
The Retreat's own pear tree with fruit for you to compote and take home.
View of open Double French doors leading into Retreat  from Hot Tub
Huge Cantilever 2.7m x 2.7m umbrella for hot tub for rain or sun.
Great for Star Gazing!
3 minutes drive from TVs River Cottage - overlooking the Axe Valley
South West Coastal path just minutes away at Lyme Regis
Walking near the coastal foot path - so near Charmouth, Lyme Regis, Seaton.
Seatown beach just minutes away - great pub - great walks.
Everyone off to Forde Abbey Fete every July!  Historic house with gardens
Lyme Regis just a few miles from The Retreat at Hedgehog Corner
Beach huts on the prom at Lyme Regis just over two miles from The Retreat
The Cobb harbour at nearby Lyme Regis - fishing trips, fossilling, beach life
5 minutes drive from the Hix Oyster and Fish House at Lyme Regis
Near forest walks in Area of Oustanding Natural Beauty minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 133 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob_Yvonn...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing 1st anniversary getaway!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I booked this gorgeous accommodation from a River Cottage recommended accommodation list having booked for dinner at River Cottage on the Friday evening. Right from minute one Joy - the owner - could not have been more accommodating in a non-intrusive way. We were delayed in traffic and arrived two hours later than planned when we were actually due to be arriving at the restaurant!! Joy was there to greet us having checked on our progress during the journey. She put the ironing board up and left a hand drawn map to river cottage on our windscreen knowing we were pushed for time. What amazing care and attention to detail!! We woke the next morning in the spotlessly clean,gorgeous accommodation to find that you want for nothing....an amazingly generous breakfast basket and such a well equipped place with all the little things that are usually irritatingly absent such as salt,pepper,oil,fairy liquid. It really is home from home especially with the huge shower,reclining sofa and cosy,comfy bed!! Thank you Joy - we will be back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Wow, I am simply delighted that your special first anniversary celebratory stay went so well for you both.

Your kind words are so appreciated!

See you for another anniversary I hope!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murf55
lincolnshire england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Undoubtedly the best accommodation we have ever stayed in! Just everything you could wish for in a self catering let - equipped to the highest standard, comfortable, spotless and a wonderful breakfast basket. Nothing too much trouble for Joy, the hostess with the mostest! Ideally situated for exploring the area and for our trip to River cottage. Many thanks, will definitely stay again and highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Just delighted these words. What was particularly pleasant about this visit is that their son recommended us - just the ticket!

Many many thanks indeed - I will continue to do my bestest!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent advance information and helpful owner.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2014
Many thanks for such a wonderful review.

With The World Heritage Jurassic Coast, Coastal Footpath, Farmers Markets and nearby River Cottage, there is indeed a time in all seasons for our guests.

See you again, I hope.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jodyc1986
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb..”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were staying in the acorns apartment for 3 nights which was absolutely fabulous, the apartment was very large and had everything you could possibly think of needing. The hamper full of breakfast goodies was also a very nice touch and including some great tasting local apple juice and nicest homemade muesli I think I've ever tasted. The owner was a brilliant host and a lovely lady. If I was ever in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to look anywhere else. If the owner would considered adding a hot tub this could add that 5* feeling.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review - so glad the breakfast basket was appreciated.
The local apple juice is from Four Elms Fruit Farm at Newton Poppleford and they regularly win Gold in the Taste of the West producers Awards.

I have since added some rather nice Frobisher Orange Juice instead of the supermarket stuff. Frobisher select and bottle in Exeter, shame it's not this hot weather wise all year round or we could grow the oranges too!

A hot tub!! Well, there's a thought to ponder!

Many thanks indeed, very kind of you to write such lovely lines.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Retreat Cottage for Couples.

Many thanks indeed for your comments.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just about everything
Liked least: We could only stay for a couple of days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for coming back a 3rd time, and this time to The Retreat our new private one bedroomed cottage with breakfast basket set in the ground beside a copse and meadow.

The weather has been glorious and I'm so glad you were back to visit your family at such a lovely time of year.

Here's to the next visit!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PaulandBr...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I just can't stress enough how wonderful our stay was at The Retreat. From the moment we arrived, Joy was fantastic, taking us in and showing us around. She made us feel at home immediately. The cottage is gorgeous and such a lovely mix of cosy but also really fresh and modern. It was also incredibly well decorated, maintained and spotlessly clean. The private garden is also fantastic and we spent our evenings sitting in the sun and relaxing. Joy has thought of absolutely everything to make your stay special - the breakfast hamper full of local produce was so lovely and she even provides a coolbox and picnic rug as well as a huge amount of information about local amenities, along with personal comments which are really helpful. You can just tell how much love and hard work has gone into the whole place. Miller's farmshop was fantastic and we bought loads of local produce which we managed to eat over our short stay, then we went back for more to take home. This was our first time in Lyme Regis and the walk Joy suggested, following the river down from the cottage into Lyme Regis was gorgeous. All in all we had a brilliant stay and we wish we'd been there for longer. We will definitely be back - thanks so much Joy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't choose one thing as it was all so fantastic
Liked least: We loved everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2014
Thank you for not only this lovely review but being such charming guests.

It really was a pleasure to meet you both.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing