We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful accommodation.”
other travellers have booked this property
Retreat Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Retreat Hot Tub
Fully equipped kitchen with every appliance - perishable items in photo  for advert not supplied. Retreeat for Couples with Private Garden with open air Hot Tub - bottle for photo & not supplied.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
133 reviews
Retreat Hot Tub
Fully equipped kitchen with every appliance - perishable items in photo  for advert not supplied.
Retreeat for Couples with Private Garden with open air Hot Tub - bottle for photo & not supplied.
Polycarbonate glasses for Hot Tub - bottle for advertorial purposes not supplied.
The Retreat for couples with own private open air Hot Tub
Private garden with Hot Tub - bottle for photographic purposes not supplied.
Brass Bed - overlooks gardens -  ensuite rainfall shower with underfloor heating.
King Size bed with specialist allergy free bedding
The Retreat secluded and private Hot Tub for your exclusive use.  Bottle for photo and not supplied.
Retreat Hot Tub, private, secluded with LED light function - simply fabulous
Retreat Sitting Room with feature fire, TV/DVD
Dualit & Joseph Joseph accessories. Fully equipped, every appliance.
Retreat Hot Tub, use it year round, light function, robes, slippers provided,
Brass Bed with blackout blinds, mobile phone charging station, dressing gowns, slippers.
We support the Jurassic Coast Heritage Trust
Kitchen diner with every appliance, dish washer, washer drier, hob, microwave, oven etc.
The Retreat for Couples is based at Hedgehog Corner!
The Retreat's own pear tree with fruit for you to compote and take home.
View of open Double French doors leading into Retreat  from Hot Tub
Huge Cantilever 2.7m x 2.7m umbrella for hot tub for rain or sun.
Great for Star Gazing!
3 minutes drive from TVs River Cottage - overlooking the Axe Valley
South West Coastal path just minutes away at Lyme Regis
Walking near the coastal foot path - so near Charmouth, Lyme Regis, Seaton.
Seatown beach just minutes away - great pub - great walks.
Everyone off to Forde Abbey Fete every July!  Historic house with gardens
Lyme Regis just a few miles from The Retreat at Hedgehog Corner
Beach huts on the prom at Lyme Regis just over two miles from The Retreat
The Cobb harbour at nearby Lyme Regis - fishing trips, fossilling, beach life
5 minutes drive from the Hix Oyster and Fish House at Lyme Regis
Near forest walks in Area of Oustanding Natural Beauty minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 133 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katie P
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful accommodation.”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My friend and I recently stayed here for two nights and had a fabulous time. Joy is the perfect host; warm, welcoming and helpful while still being discreet and unobtrusive. The cottage is beautifully furnished and styled, and the bed was ridiculously comfortable. The breakfast Joy provided was delightful - freshly baked bread, home made jams, organic eggs, local Apple juice; it was all fantastic! I can not stress how delightful our stay was and I would unequivocally recommend this place to anyone. I wish we had stayed longer!!

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
What a wonderful start to my day!

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to our nearby famous cookery school which made the long journey worthwhile.

Thank you for such lovely words and I hope the rest of the trip goes off well.

Best wishes,

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The organisation!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Nov 2014
Delighted that a wild and windy night found our Retreat comfy, warm and welcoming!

So glad you enjoyed your visit to nearby River Cottage HQ - there is just so much going on there these days I am amazed.

Very much hope to welcome you again!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southbourne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you for your helpful lines - we love to promote local restaurants - from the pub that serves food at the top of our road within walking distance to the more well known ones such as the Hix Oyster and Fish House in nearby Lyme Regis and the River Cottage Canteen in nearby Axminster.

Hope to see you again and thank you for choosing to stay with me!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
united kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
What a lift to know our guests enjoyed their stay - please be assured a warm welcome awaits you should you return.

We are lucky to have Terry and his Taxi for a £15 return fare to River Cottage HQ - and good advice to book in advance. It's a popular place to visit for Dinner in the 17th Century Barn or take a cookery course year round!

Thank you for you fabulous review.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for being so kind to write such a lovely review of The Retreat.

I hope future guests reading our reviews can be confident that we are an established accommodation offering multi award winning property and service.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
It is heartening that our guests take the time to write a review and I am delighted our guests enjoyed their visit.

The Retreat is a true hideaway fully equipped with everything you would need for a break.

I am a true local and enjoy passing on hints and tips to our guests. I meet you personally on arrival which is a great opportunity to show you around the property and answer any questions you may have.

Thank you for your kind words.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cebazat
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Hard to beat.”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at The Retreat for 4 nights and were very happy with everything. The facilities and cleanliness of the apartment were excellent and the breakfast hamper was all that one could wish for.
We loved the fresh looking lime green and white decor, the large screen TV, heated towel rails, power shower, slippers and bathrobes. For the cook Joy provided everything one would need - all in matching colours of course.
Joy, mine hostess, was also a font of information about where to eat and visit. If only it was closer to Australia!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
Thank you both for such lovely lines.

It was so kind of you to offer to show us Canberra should we get there!

Would love to see you again if you are down this way again!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing