We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Retreat Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Retreat Hot Tub
Fully equipped kitchen with every appliance Retreeat for Couples with Private Garden with open air Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
Retreat Hot Tub
Fully equipped kitchen with every appliance
Retreeat for Couples with Private Garden with open air Hot Tub
Polycarbonate glasses for Hot Tub
The Retreat for couples with own private open air Hot Tub
Private garden with Hot Tub
Brass Bed - overlooks gardens -  ensuite rainfall shower with underfloor heating.
King Size bed with specialist allergy free bedding
The Retreat secluded and private Hot Tub for your exclusive use
Retreat Hot Tub, private, secluded with LED light function - simply fabulous
Retreat Sitting Room with feature fire, TV/DVD
Dualit & Joseph Joseph accessories. Fully equipped, every appliance.
Retreat Hot Tub, use it year round, light function, robes, slippers provided,
Brass Bed with blackout blinds, mobile phone charging station, dressing gowns, slippers.
We support the Jurassic Coast Heritage Trust
Kitchen diner with every appliance, dish washer, washer drier, hob, microwave, oven etc.
The Retreat for Couples is based at Hedgehog Corner!
The Retreat's own pear tree with fruit for you to compote and take home.
View of open Double French doors leading into Retreat  from Hot Tub
Great for Star Gazing!
3 minutes drive from TVs River Cottage - overlooking the Axe Valley
South West Coastal path just minutes away at Lyme Regis
Walking near the coastal foot path - so near Charmouth, Lyme Regis, Seaton.
Seatown beach just minutes away - great pub - great walks.
Everyone off to Forde Abbey Fete every July!  Historic house with gardens
Lyme Regis just a few miles from The Retreat at Hedgehog Corner
Beach huts on the prom at Lyme Regis just over two miles from The Retreat
The Cobb harbour at nearby Lyme Regis - fishing trips, fossilling, beach life
5 minutes drive from the Hix Oyster and Fish House at Lyme Regis
Near forest walks in Area of Oustanding Natural Beauty minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DebnMartM...
Mid Glamorgan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a find ,Every detail taken care of a most relaxing break to chill out 5 star plus
Joy the owner very provisional lady she as nailed , Thanks Joy for a very nice Stay we will
Be back to chill out in your Hot tub .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub and hamper and the peace
Liked least: Can't pick one
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
And it will be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
977richar...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very welcoming host , Generous breakfast basket and beautifully equipped accommodation.
Hot tub was lovely and everything was well maintained and clean. Signs and instructions made everything simple. Location was slightly less rural than I had imagined from reading other reviews and there was quite a lot or road noise at busy times though this did not detract from our stay. A mirror on the end of the driveway would make exiting safer. All in all a great mini holiday. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Not so rural as expected
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review. Delighted you had a great mini holiday here in an official East Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

I must point out that if guests don't turn the jets off in the hot tub after use then when it filters this can be mistaken for road noise which has happened before.

Fortunately most traffic departs Lyme Regis by early evening when there is a 4pm rush and as you said it did not detract from your stay - the Retreat is set well back from the road itself between fields and gardens.

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again one day.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place so relaxing.”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Absolutely wonderful place relaxing, nothing beats sitting in a hot tub after a long day. Accommodation immaculate everything you need. Owner friendly and very helpful. Couldn't recommend the "Retreat enough"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say but I think the Hot Tub.
Liked least: No wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely lines.

I'm glad you found it restful here and I very much hope to see you both again.

Best wishes,

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spoons166...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute Gem, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is the perfect place to take a short break, the facilities provided were spot on and everything we needed was available, the breakfast basket was a very nice touch.

Joy was really friendly and introduced herself straight away and was available for any questions we needed to ask.

It was our first time in the area and we really enjoyed ourselves, it is definitely somewhere we would re-visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Absolutely delighted this couple enjoyed their stay in The Retreat with Hot Tub & Breakfast Basket and found the facilities spot on. I was particularly pleased they enjoyed a visit to the Axe Valley Wildlife Park close to here - Hedgehog Corner sponsors the racoons and it was good know they are thriving!

See you again!


Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christell...
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent/Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I know this is rather late as we stayed in November but have to add our review.

We stayed in Acorn Cottage. What a wonderful place to spend a romantic weekend. Joy was extremely friendly & helpful. The basket of goodies was amazing and enough for the whole weekend. We didn't need to bring anything but our clothes really as there was enough toiletries / teas/ coffees/ biscuits etc. It was spotless and comfortable and well furnished. Lots of lovely little touches.

Although the weather was not great - as we expect as it was November, we still enjoyed the hot tub and the serenity & privacy of the place. The electric fire made it very cosy and we would love to go back at some point so we could enjoy the conservatory and the outside more. We visited Axminster, Lyme Regis & of course the Market close by too which was also amazing.

Cannot recommend it enough and still talk about it to our friends.

Thank you for a lovely memorable weekend at your gorgeous place.

Graeme & Christelle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you for this lovely review - I'm even more delighted that our guests still remember their winter Hot Tub Holiday and have written such a fabulous review.

Our guests here did indeed stay in Acorns but as with the Retreat both here at Hedgehog Corner they each have a Cedar Hot Tub of their own at each property.

Delighted our guests enjoyed the breakfast basket too!

See you again I hope!


Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie P
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had an AMAZING weekend staying at The Retreat. Beautiful surroundings, the accommodation was lovely and full of everything you could need. The weekend was topped off by sitting in the hot tub watching deer in the field opposite. We will definitely return one day!
It's worth taking note of Joy's recommendations of places to visit too. We ate at the Hunters Lodge and Lucy's Tea room and had a delicious meal and cake! Thank you Joy :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The utilities, especially the hot tub!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Delighted our guests saw the deer in the field that is fantastic - and from the hot tub too - how lovely! The deer tend to wander the fields about 7am in the morning or at dusk.

Lucy's Tea Room at Oathill Farm on the B3165 is absolutely brilliant - light lunches or the fabulous cream teas are not to be missed (closed Tuesdays) - all set in a traditional cottage garden. Home made cakes..... and a terrific welcome from the family.

You clearly made the most of it during your stay! See you again one day soon again!

Best wishes,

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd visit... Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had another amazing time at 'the retreat'.

This is now starting to feel like a second home definitely cannot wait to come back again for our 3rd visit.

We just loved spending time relaxing in the hot tub with a glass of vino..star gazing again.. Heaven!

See you again very soon Joy

Julia & Paul x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave again
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Fantastic all round! Star gazing from the hot tub is clearly recommended!

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best wishes, Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing