We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Alexandra

Alexandra
Ranked #40 of 81 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I booked the private Dinning Tower for My boyfriends Birthday and it did not disappoint.

We had Champagne on the lawn, looking over Lyme Regis in the beautiful evening sunshine. We were taken to the tower where dinner followed, the food was amazing, the flavors, colors and smells really impressed.

We had a very knowledgeable waiter who could tell us about the course and where the ingredients came from. it was such an enjoyable experience with great views from the tower, it was nice to have the privacy.

I would highly recommended for any food lover, its very romantic! It can fit up to 6 people so it would really good for families also.

I will defiantly be going back one day x

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temps89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    36
    16
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful Dining Experience”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We booked to eat in the conservatory to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we experienced a terrible dining experience.. My wife ordered ham hock with poached egg and pear. When it arrived there was no poached egg, we were advised that it was a mistake as it should have been just poached pear. The menu was from Saturday night and we were dining on a Sunday! The chef did cook one but in the wait my scallops went cold! The sauvignon blanc white wine was warm so we had to send back only to be told that it difficult to keep wine chilled so we had to go for a Chenin which was also warm but we kept it as we were losing the will to live by this time. As soon as we finished our starter the main course was whisked out with no time between courses. My wife had the hake dish which was bland and lacking in flavour. When someone came to ask us if the meal was ok we passed on our comments but to no avail as when the bill came it was for the full price and no allowance for the whole experience. I then went to find a duty manager to discuss it further but told there was no manager on duty for the entire hotel that night...unbelievable. In summary a hotel which clearly sits back on its laurels and clearly feels the view will pacify any poor food or service....such a shame!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers is better than this”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

What a disaster - in such a beautiful setting, but the whole experience was laughable. A table had been reserved for lunch outside on the terrace, but on arrival, we were informed that no outside tables could be pre-booked. Ignored by the barman until we asked to be served. Opted for pink sparkling wine - none in the bar fridge. He reappeared with a bottle and proceeded to spill most of it over himself and the floor before serving us. Lunch menu was very limited and expensive. We ordered salads which took nearly an hour to arrive - how long does it take to make a salad? Not asked if we wanted a drink with our meal. Food very mediocre when it arrived - with a solitary bread roll on a small plate put down incorrectly on the table for each person. The staff were completely lacking in any training - and were noticeable by their absence. Finally went to the bar to ask for 2 black coffees which took over half and hour to arrive, along with hot milk. Again had to go to the bar to ask for our bill, as no staff in sight - with great aplomb, the wrong bill was given to us, so we had to go through the whole procedure again. Do NOT think of going there if you want decent service, and quality food at reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The quickest meal we have ever had. The food was very overpriced and they took our order at the bar before showing us into the restaurant. Starters arrived as soon as we sat down and we'd just about finished them when they took the plates away with one hand and gave the mains with the other. Was still eating the bread roll when waiter leant right across me the take the side plate. They wasn't busy, so just terrible service! From ordering to asking for the bill took 30 minutes. My advice? Don't bother.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie-1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cocktails on the terrace”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We visited the hotel on a Saturday evening for cocktails on the terrace overlooking the beautiful bay of Lyme Regis. The view and setting were fantastic but the cocktails were a little disappointing. Not terrible, but just about ok - maybe their usual bartender was away but for the price we paid I would expect a great cocktail. On top of that our waiter arrived and didn't know which was which drink. Not good service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexandra also viewed

 

Been to Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing