We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true delight as always - fantastic. You can't...”
other travellers have booked this property
Acorns Ground floor Garden Apartment for couples with own Hot Tub. Bottle for advert & not supplied.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Acorns Ground floor Garden Apartment for couples with own Hot Tub. Bottle for advert & not supplied.
Acorns Private Hot Tub for your exclusive use. Bottle for photographic purposes & not supplied. Large Conservatory overlooking copse, patio, gardens, centrally heated with full blinds.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Acorns Ground floor Garden Apartment for couples with own Hot Tub. Bottle for advert & not supplied.
Acorns Private Hot Tub for your exclusive use. Bottle for photographic purposes & not supplied.
Large Conservatory overlooking copse, patio, gardens, centrally heated with full blinds.
Acorns brass Bed with fitted wardrobes and ensuite bathroom with rainfall shower and slipper bath
Acorns bedroom with fitted wardrobes and ensuite shower room
Fully fitted designer kitchen. Every appliance. *Perishable items in photo not supplied
Conservatory with ceiling fan, full blinds, leads to large patio with garden furniture
Acorns sitting room with wi fi, TV/DVD
Ensuite bathroom with rainwater shower, slipper bath, 2 hot towel rails, robes, slippers supplied
Night time LED Hot Tub light function - robes,slippers, towels provided
Acorns private terrace with own Hot Tub overlooking glade of trees.  Bottle not supplied.
Kitchen French doors lead to patio overlooking lavender and summer mint
Acorns conservatory looking out on to private patio with Hot Tub
Acorns own Private Hot Tub on private terrace.  Bottle not supplied.
Acorns  Hot Tub LED lights setting, robes and slippers provided
Acorns terrace with private hot tub for your use
Hot Tub with polycarbonate glasses provided. Bottle not supplied.
Acorns Garden Apartment is based at the award winning Hedgehog Corner
French doors from fully fitted Kitchen lead to patio.  Oven, hob, microwave, dishwasher
Acorns with double French doors open from Kitchen to another private patio.
Friendly neighbours in this pretty rural setting.  Peaceful, rural near Nature Reserve
Just 5 minutes drive to Lyme Regis on the Jurassic Coast - fossil hunters paradise
The famous Cobb at Lyme Regis - just 5 minutes drive or catch the local bus.
Near River Cottage HQ, just 3 minutes drive from Acorns.  Convenient for Hix at Lyme Regis.
Minutes from the South West Coastal Path - your host Joy is a font of local knowledge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wiltshire...
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true delight as always - fantastic. You can't go wrong!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This is our 3rd time staying at hedgehog corner, but the 1st staying in the new Acorns apartment. I was a little concerned on booking that we would no longer get to enjoy Joy's lovely breakfasts - but the breakfast basket did a cracking job of making up for it.
The apartment is decorated and furnished to an impeccably high standard, and the "quooker" instant boiling water meant we have never drunk so much tea, as it's so quick and easy to make it!
We stayed at Acorns in order to attend Saturday night at River Cottage which didn't dissapoint - beautiful food and a great relaxed night.
The taxi firm Joy recommended "Terry's taxis" only charged £15 for a return trip which I thought was really reasonable. He was on time and didn't require payment until the return journey. Other river cottage diners got onto the tractor bemoaning the taxi drivers who had demanded payment up front and advised their "customers" if they didn't get the appropriate tractor back up in time to meet the taxi for their return journey that they wouldn't wait - a slightly sour way to start their evening, and certainly very different from our drivers attitude. This was revealed again later when we unfortunately missed the 2nd tractor returning to the car park, but when we arrived Terry was still waiting - unlike the couples taxi we had sat next to who was nowhere to be seen.
Fortunately Terry was able to take them back after dropping us off.
As a host at Acorns, Joy was on hand to meet us on arrival and as always a font of helpful knowledge, and a pleasure to deal with. She was on hand if needed to deal with any queries, but left us in peace to enjoy our weekend getaway. She pointed us in the direction of the local farm shop where we a were able to buy a few nice treats, and her freindly banter added to a thoroughly enjoyable weekend.
If you have any doubts about where to book I would highly recommend Acorns or the newly refurbished Retreat which looks lovely too; I promise you won't be disappointed.
As always, thank you Joy!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for such a stunning review of our new Acorns Apartment.

I am so glad that our guests had such good service from the local taxi man Terry - who gives personal service and waits for guests should the meal take a bit longer than expected. Terry takes care of you and his number is on our web site.

I am particularly pleased that the return fare was reasonable - we are one of the nearest accommodations to River Cottage HQ.

Delighted that our return guests enjoyed their stay - we certainly had couple of laughs together!

Here's to your next visit!


Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charmedwi...
Wantage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat with some many extra touches you wont want to leave!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

From the minute we arrived we knew we had chosen the right place.. Joy made us feel very welcome, the 'Acorns' is stunning!! This was our first 'child free' weekend since our honeymoon 9yrs ago and it was just perfect. Relaxing, stunning views, luxurious.. we didnt want to leave.
Joy you made us feel special, we will be recommending you and we will be coming for another stay very soon x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2014
Fantastic - look forward to seeing you again - and of course if DO decide to bring the children we have Goodlands along the road a huge three bedroom bungalow with 6 acres of fields which is senior and child friendly - bring the whole family!

It was lovely to meet you and so glad you enjoyed your meal and course at nearby River Cottage that is literally within walking distance from us here.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve m
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a fantastic stay in this beautiful accommodation. The location is ideal for Lyme Regis but especially close for River Cottage. Everything was prepared and presented superbly. The furnishings and fittings were all brand new to a very high specification.
We will be back again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation close to River Cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for writing a line about our new accommodation Acorns Apartment here at Hedgehog Corner.

I'm so glad you found us convenient for River Cottage being just 1.6 miles away - only 33 minutes to walk in good weather! Still, I gather from our chat when you departed that you enjoyed being in the warmth of the conservatory in the early evening catching up with work using our wi fi.

Do come again - there is so much happening here in summer - Carnivals, Fetes, Regattas, Walking Tours, Fossil Hunting, Music Festivals - River Cottage Food Fairs - it's all happening!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing cosy atmosphere.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Feb 2014
Thank you - delighted that my home made and locally sourced produce in the Breakfast Basket went down so well!

I am pleased that our Breakfast Basket can be as much or as little as you require before setting off for River Cottage where you will be surrounded by food in a foodie paradise!

Hope to see you again!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AndyE123
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High standard of accommodation, clean and modern.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed here and loved it. A well put together self contained apartment with outside space. Really happy with the well equipped kitchen, not just a hob and toaster but instead all high spec appliances… perfect to try out all I had learnt at River Cottage!

Many Thanks… we'll be back.

Andrew & Emma

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our new accommodation Acorns.

It really is fitted out with washer drier, dishwasher, built in microwave, all Siemens appliances which are top spec.

I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to welcoming you both again.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybil C
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“PERFECT FOR LYME REGIS AND RIVER COTTAGE”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We decided to take a short break to Lyme Regis and visit the famous River Cottage as part of our trip.

We were absolutely delighted with this gorgeous and huge apartment. There is also a conservatory (which was well heated for the time of year) where we had our breakfast one morning looking on to gardens with lots of trees. We counted at least 6 different sorts of birds and could hear the owls hooting early in the morning. We actually saw a hedgehog and lots of rabbits when we took short walks up around the field attached to the property.

This is a very well equipped, modern and luxurious apartment with everything you could possibly think of provided from toiletries to salt, pepper and quality olive oil as well as the usual linen and loads of towels. The breakfast hamper really was excellent and had everything you could possibly need, including delicious home made apple and cinnamon bread.

Comfortable bed and bathroom with a powerful shower - but the best bit for us was the "slipper" bath - you can sit back in it and read a book. It was nice to come back to the fire in the evening was very cosy with a stack of DVDs.

Out and about we even caught the double decker bus which took us all the way through the villages which is great for sight seeing especially if you go up on the upper deck. There were fabulous Christmas lights in Lyme Regis and we enjoyed our strolls along the sea front -with a Christmas market going on which really gave it a festive feel - visit the brewery and cheese shop next door.

Our meal at River Cottage was a real experience and would highly recommend as it is only a few minutes away by car.

All in all we were delighted with our find and we enjoyed chatting to Joy the owner who is full of local information and showed us around Acorns when we arrived.

Lovely countryside setting with good parking at the property (you have a choice of where to park) and free wi fi.

We will definitely be back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2013
The first review for Acorns - and how thrilled I am that this couple enjoyed their visit!

Lyme Regis is special at any time of year - the Christmas Lights really are fantastic and watching the sea launch itself against the Cobb Wall is a sight to behold!

Lovely and snug in Acorns though - and so glad the feature fire was enjoyed.

Best wishes and hope you visit us again,


Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing