We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views!”
Review of Rock Point Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rock Point Inn
Ranked #40 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed here for a last minute trip to Lyme Regis.
The location is great. Right against the seafront and at the bottom of the hight street of Lyme Regis itself.
There are 2 short stay car parks by the Hotel so for longer visits I'd recommend the long stay car park at the very top of the hill which is only £1.75 for 24hrs! DON'T get stung using the NCP car park half way up the high street!
We booked the king size room which faces the sea. There are 2 lovely large windows in the room looking straight out onto the water. Good comfortable king size bed. Lovely en-suite bathroom. The room was clean and tidy. Although it wasn't an issue for us it's worth pointing out there isn't a wardrobe or set of drawers in the room, just 2 bedside table and some coat hooks with coat hangers provided.
Our TV didn't work which really wasn't too much of a problem. We pointed it out should it have been a "user" error and after someone came to check the TV we were offered the chance to use the penthouse room to watch TV for the evening if we wanted it.
Overall I'd recommend a stay here for it's location and views alone. Room 2 was the king size room and having seen the penthouse room also I would suggest that's worth staying in too!

Room Tip: Room 2 - King size. Amazing sea views Room 5 - Penthouse. Large room, great spec, amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahrowe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
8
38
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed in a lovely penthouse room with fabulous views across the bay. Very exciting views too on a stormy weekend with floods all around us. We had trouble getting across the road for our breakfast as the gales were so strong but it was certainly worth the struggle as we enjoyed a great full English and excellent service there too. The staff at the Rock Point were all welcoming, friendly, helpful and keen to please. The downside of this hotel has been well documented - pub entrance and lack of parking. Also, I would have appreciated the usual toiletries in the bathroom, rather than a couple of tablets of soap and lack of surfaces in the bathroom meant that I had nowhere to perch my soap bag and toiletries. Also a couple of hooks and towel rails to hang towels and robes would be nice. Penthouse entrance is a bit narrow and not very suitable for elderly or disabled but there are 4 other rooms on a lower floor which are easy to reach. Do visit this nice pub and you will receive a warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We spent the night at The Rock Point Inn and had a wonderful stay! I do agree that the entrance to the rooms, through the pub and past the kitchen, is not very attractive but I think you need to accept this to be part of the feel of an old Inn. The location is fantastic, the staff couldn't be more helpful and the rooms are some of the neatest we have stayed in in England. Modest but they have everything you need and the decor is very tasteful (horray!!). We had dinner in the pub in the evening overlooking the sea and we had the best seafood chowder we have ever tasted!! Not offering breakfast wasn't an issue and I would highly recommend The Towm Mill Bakery on Coombe street if you dont fancy a big fry up but for a unique experience. All in all it was a lovely stay in a lovely part of the world. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFiveO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Penthouse room is a must with views to die for. Plenty of room to swing a cat and had the bathroom of all bathrooms which inc a bath for two and a huge walk-in shower.We felt like A-List celebrities staying at a exclusive resort without the paparatzi! Our stay in Lyme Regis was due to a family member getting married, therefore over 20 members of our family were staying in different hotels.Not only did we stay for 3 nights we also ate at the Rock Point Inn with four other family members who were staying at The Bay Hotel and they where amazed and jealous of what we had compared to theirs. The food was excellent, the portions were large and the menu was varied, compliments to Carlos the chef. The barstaff, John, Matthew and Tom were very friendly and funny which made us feel very welcome as if we were long time locals. Also a very big thankyou must go to Gail, the owner, who has created a fantastic team of staff and a wonderful place to stay, we will definately be returning to see them again.

Room Tip: Double rooms are adequate but if you can manage an extra 10 steps and want something extra special t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah132p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Get the penthouse room! It's a huge room with a comfy bed and a bathroom worthy of a rock stars house. Its certainly worth it. Great views from the large window over the Cobb and Golden Cap. Seagulls in the morning. Seaside bliss.

After a hard days walking the food was perfect - reasonably priced and good portion size. I'll be back next year when my legs take me walking again.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is certainly worth the extra. The room is huge and the views excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Taking pot luck on this place - offering accommodation at the town centre end of Lyme Regis, we were nearly going to turn around when we saw the bar entrance. But glad we didn't and the nice man showed us his "second best room". Despite there being no food or breakfast available at that time of this time of the year, we took it - so we could get on with the evening. Glad we did - what a lovely room (2) with panoramic views of the Cobb, the sea cliffs and of course the sea - just feet away and the beautiful old town of Lyme Regis on the door step. Friendly welcome even in the morning and they do have a great terrace (despite the bar!) Restaurant menu looked as if it will be good too when it is on offer! Oh and by the way there were loads of hip and ambitious places offering every sort of dinner, and then breakfast in the morning in the town - so even that was not really a down side of this out of season find.

Room Tip: You might like to sleep with your feet the other way, or put something under the feet of the bed, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJS781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Fried everything, On the sea front but frozen everything including the crab. Do not eat here. You have been warned.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matjam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladygsh, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Point Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
I can only assume this reviewer has mistaken us for another establishment. We have an extensive food menu, incorporating locally sourced produce cooked from fresh by our very successful Chef.

Homemade specials and a very good selection of fresh fish dishes work well alongside good old fashioned traditional pub fare.

Booking in advance advisable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyme Regis hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyme Regis hotels
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#15 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Garret B & B
The Garret B & B
#28 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Point Inn

Property: Rock Point Inn
Address: Broad St, Lyme Regis DT7 3QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rock Point Hotel
Rock Point Inn Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing