We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sanctuary Bookshop and Booklover's B&B
Ranked #20 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

As an all-time booklover and graduate of literature I was pretty excited to stay here. My boyfriend booked it some time ago and I wasn't disappointed. Books were stacked here, there and everywhere which made just walking down the stairs interesting. Wonderful rooms, warm bathrooms, clean and Mariko can cook a mean breakfast. It was just perfect. There are two double rooms, each with it's own private bathroom. There is also a living room for the guests and a door which can be used to access the bookshop itself.

Room Tip: There are two double rooms, one faces over the sea and the bathroom to it is down a level, the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganPaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I wanted to visit Lyme Regis because of the connection with Jane Austen's novel Persuasion, and the Booklover's B&B was the perfect place to stay! It was itself like something out of a book - going up the narrow, windy staircase, shelves of books stretching up all around you, and then your room, its walls also full of books and pretty tea sets - my room even had a lovely writing desk. My window overlooked the street, but the noise didn't bother me, and I could see out to the ocean and the sunrise. The owners were so friendly and full of great restaurant and shop recommendations. It was a good value, the location was perfect, and the breakfast was great. The only thing I would mention is that the room I stayed in only locked from the inside. The door to the street is always locked, however, and you get a key to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My mum and I stayed here for a couple of nights while exploring the area, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There are two double rooms (we think), each with private bathroom. On the floor below the rooms there is a dining / lounge room that guests are free to use at any time, and where breakfast was served by the lovely Mariko. There is also a small kitchen where Mariko makes breakfast (the family don't live onsite) but we were welcome to make cups of tea or put things in the fridge.
It is an old building, and did house a young family, so while well kept and clean, there is some wear and tear. Notably, though, there was no old-book smell! I think just about every room had books in - even books lining the staircases!
The BnB is situated above the bookshop, right at the seafront in Lyme Regis - very convenient for walking around the town. Mariko and her husband, Bob, were very happy to chat, helpful and friendly, recommending shops, places to eat, and even helping us out with directions for parking in the backstreets or in the pay-and-display carpark right next door (if you would like to use their garage a few streets away, just let them know!)
Lyme Regis was also a handy base for us for exploring a lovely part of England. We visited Axminster (for the River Cottage canteen - yum!) and explored inland and along the coast from here - there is a lovely donkey sanctuary at Sidcombe, not far away!
We had a fantastic time here, and it was amazing value for money - and certainly wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: The Seaview room's private bathroom is down the stairs, but is bigger, as far as we could tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here in June for two nights for a family wedding in Lyme. We all loved The Sanctuary B&B! Mariko is so welcoming and was the perfect hostess. The whole place is unique and different, with books everywhere that you can pick up and browse through. The rooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms modern and very clean. Breakfast was to order and the choice was perfect. The location is very central and the view from the lounge is of the sea.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank facet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

It may not be for everyone but we loved it. Surrounded by books across three floors, it is right in the heart of the town. We chose to have the Japanese breakfast made by our gorgeous host Mariko. Not only was it delicious but it made a lovely change from the standard cooked breakfasts you get at most B&Bs. There is a lovely deep bath in the bathroom. It does take a long time for the hot water to reach the top floor though. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary this is a great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We decided last minute to stay the night in Lyme Regis and found this intriguing B&B via a google search. The location was ideal, the room was just gorgeous - very cosy and homely with THE most comfortable bed - and the breakfast - cooked by Mariko, the lovely hostess with mostest - was superb. No complaints whatsoever and we'll certainly stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyZobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed here one night on a recommendation and found it to be very comfortable and the owners, Bob and Mariko, were so welcoming. It is quirky with the books literally crammed in everywhere but I found it charming. We had the front room with the view of the sea, but no-one else was staying that night (there are only two rooms) so we basically had a flat to ourselves for a very reasonable price. There is a living area that you can use as well as the bedroom & bathroom and Mariko came in and cooked us an excellent breakfast in the morning! The location is also great, right by the sea & shops. The room did overlook the main road but was still extremely quite, although this could be because it was a Sunday night in January! We will likely be going to Lyme Regis again in the near future and will definitely try to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
7.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Garret B & B
The Garret B & B
#28 of 45 in Lyme Regis
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Bookshop and Booklover's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Bookshop and Booklover's B&B

Property: Sanctuary Bookshop and Booklover's B&B
Address: 65 Broad Street | The Sanctuary Bookshop, Lyme Regis DT7 3QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Bookshop And Booklover's B&B Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing