We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local ingredients, freshly baked bread, unsung hero in heart of Lyme” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Italia

Italia
Ranked #6 of 80 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Italian, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local ingredients, freshly baked bread, unsung hero in heart of Lyme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

With an Italian chef and sous chef, this is a proper Italian with impeccable cooking right in the heart of Lyme. I just wish they would make it known what they have on offer! I can't think of many other restaurants in Lyme, if any, that bake their own bread, make their own pasta, and think so carefully about where they source their ingredients. Everything - from the finely prepared seafood risotto inside the stuffed squid, to the locally sourced crab in the seafood pasta - is done so well and without any great fanfare. I imagine just how they do it in Italy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hinnerk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyBoo100, Owner at Italia, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely words and great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant and the fresh ingredients our chef uses . He enjoys making his own bread, pizza dough etc and we think this is important and you can certainly tell the difference. We also source our fish locally to ensure quality and freshness so we are glad you were pleased with your calamari dish as we do try and have many daily fish specials to choose from. Thank you again and we hope you will return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    85
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A new favourite in Lyme Regis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I recently visited Italia for a family dinner. It was our first visit and after seeing it regularly so busy we were keen to see what all the fuss was about. We were not disappointed as the quality of service and the fantastic food made for a great evening. The portion sizes were really good and the pizza's delicious, all of this coupled with a final bill that doesn't make your eyes water means it won't be long before we're back again!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tobaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyBoo100, Owner at Italia, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Many thanks for leaving us a great review. We enjoy having families in our restaurant and are very glad you enjoyed your meal and your pizzas. Thank you also for your comments about pricing as we do think our prices reflect the dishes we serve and do not agree with prices rising unnecessarily in some restaurants. We look forward to you returning to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Resident's View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We live in Lyme Regis and have now been to the restaurant 3 times! We love it. It's positively the best Italian food we have ever had and the service is impeccable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyBoo100, Owner at Italia, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
We were extremely pleased to read your review and your lovely comments about our food and service. Thank you for coming back to us repeatedly and we hope to see you again soon in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I ate in this lovely restaurant a few weeks ago with my two daughters, we really enjoyed our meal. The service was great, super friendly but also really efficient. The owners clearly care deeply that you leave satisfied.

My older daughter was in raptures about the tomato sauce on her pasta, telling me I needed up my game & to get the recipe! My younger daughter being a fuss pot opted for a Margherita which I managed to get a taste of, it was delicious. The Parmigiana was the best I've ever had, just right. The decor also needs a mention, it's so lovely & airy, really well thought out & subtle - well done Italia you've bought something really fresh to the area. I'm really looking forward to visiting again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chlobo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyBoo100, Owner at Italia, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Great to have your super feedback and thank your for leaving us a review. You are right-we do care greatly that all our customers leave satisfied and are glad that you and your family did. The chef takes great pride in creating all his pasta sauces from scratch so was very happy to hear about your daughter enjoying hers! Hope to welcome you back to our restaurant soon and thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Italia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Very good experience. In spite of slightly nervous waiting staff we enjoyed it.
Excellent food and atmosphere. Starter of crab, avocado and baby tomato was divine. Lasagne was perfect.
Best value in Lyme.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 51SBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyBoo100, Owner at Italia, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and thank you for your kind comments. You had one of our daily specials-the Crab Timbale to start which we are glad you thought was divine. Our chef enjoys making different dishes for daily specials so is glad they go down well. Thank you for mentioning the value also and we hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Italia also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing