We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Lyme Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Lyme Guest House
Ranked #5 of 47 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

After 3 nights in a not very good establishment the Old Lyme was like finding an oasis in the desert. It was clean, comfortable, beautiful fluffy towels in the ensuite and those little touches that you usually only find in hotels (hand soap, shampoo, shower gel, etc.). Breakfast was cooked to order and there was fruit, cereal yoghurt and orange juice to help yourself to. Ideally located in the town close to all the amenities and the beach and a good bus service to places like Seaton and Beer further down the coast so no need for the car. We were made to feel welcome straight away and Paul even took our luggage up to our room while I parked the car. We would certainly recommend it and will stay there again when we next visit Lyme Regis.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
115
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Nice bed and breakfast, rooms clean and tidy . This is a great location for the town and beaches. Breakfast was ok, no fried bread! Parking wasn't an issue for us but might be for others as you need to park at council car park up a steep hill.

Room Tip: If you don't like hills don't stay here as car park is at top of a hill.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and did not find our parking arrangements a problem. We were disappointed at your comment that the parking is at the top of a hill, because this is incorrect. Our car park is 200 yards from our front door, 150 yards along the level Coombe Street, then a further 50 yards which takes you less than half way up Hill Rd. Lyme Regis is a very hilly town, but fortunately we are just 200 yards level walk to the seafront, so you only need go up this short hill at the end of your stay to retrieve your car. I would think it's more appropriate to say if you don't like hills don't stay in Lyme at all! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

As a B&B virgin, I fear it's only downhill from here having started with something as charming and delightful as Old Lyme Guest House. A stone's throw from everything that is good about Lyme Regis you couldn't wish for a better location. We where made to feel welcome the minute we arrived by Paul which was only made better when we where shown our spacious room, which contained everything you could need.

The breakfast was all you could ask for and set us up perfectly for the day. Our only disappointment is that Paul didn't stop us travelling on for an average 2nd night in Weymouth.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted that you've seen the light and converted to B&Bs !!! Hope to see you again some time. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed two nights at the Old Lyme Guest house. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and the room spotlessly clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were all freshly cooked and very tasty. The Old Lyme is well located centrally for exploring the town and visiting the many restaurants so we didn't need our car at all. Look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramblingsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had a fantastic stay in the Old Lyme Guest House, The house was very close to everything in the town, Paul's knowledge of just about everything going on was amazing. the breakfasts were consistently good, always just enough abd always served with a smile.
Next time in Britain we will most definatly be back.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are winners as far as we were concerned
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huwman307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Friendly , very clean , cosy , great breakfast everything you want.Great location and very convenient for town with free parking nearby . This is a superb B &B.and cannot recommend more highly. Stay here ! Will be going back next time in Lyme .

Room Tip: Second floor with bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davecrosswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We had a two night stay at the Old Lyme Guest House, which has to be one of the best B&B's i've stayed in. Paul, the owner greeted us at the door and was so helpful and attentive. The room was clean, bright and comfortable. Breakfast was cooked especially for you by Tracey and the standard of the food, accomodation and friendliness of the owners cannot be beaten.
Parking was easy as Paul gives you a pass for the car park just 150 meters away.
It's located right in the heart of Lyme with fast access to the beach and the high street.
The Old Lyme Guest House should be your first choice for accomodation in Lyme Regis!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyboywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 47 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lyme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lyme Guest House

Property: Old Lyme Guest House
Address: 29 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA "Highly Commended" winner of Gold Star award for 5 consecutive years. 200 Yards LEVEL walk to the sea, restaurants and shops from our front door, in the "Old Town" area of Lyme Regis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Lyme Guest House Hotel Lyme Regis
Old Lyme Hotel
Old Lyme Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing