We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Lyme Guest House
Ranked #6 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Book it!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

If you have got this far in your research, look no further. Just book it. You will NOT be disappointed. Just wonderful in all aspects. Paul and Tracey are helpful, friendly, polite and efficient. Placing a jug of filtered water in the room each day is a nice touch and very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinAitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
121
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We visited this Guest House in August. It is in a very narrow street, but if you call Paul just before arriving he will meet you at the front door, give you the car park pass and take your luggage. By the time I arrived back from parking the car the luggage was already in our room. Great customer service. This continued throughout our two night stay, nothing was too much trouble. It's a great location, just minutes from the centre of the town. As stated by other reviews, very clean and comfortable rooms and a great breakfast. Next time we visit Lyme Regis this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor could be tricky for people with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the trouble to review us. Paul & Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

What an excellent Guest House this is. A lovely friendly welcome - super information given about the Guest House, and the local area. Spotless room, and very comfortable. Great little touches - soap, shampoo/shower soap, tea/coffee making facilities(and nice biscuits),even a darning kit!
Superb breakfast cooked to order, and fruit juices, cereals etc. available and plentiful. Arrangements for car parking are really good and after a little walk uphill the car park is most convenient, as is the Guest House in easy distance from the main facilities in Lyme. This lovely base helped us to enjoy a golden wedding couple of days with local friends.
It's a must say again place!

Room Tip: First floor - room 1 with en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiloHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - so kind of you to take the trouble. Glad you liked the biscuits, I must say the butterscotch crunch are my favourites... although Paul prefers the chocolate shortbreads :-) . Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Booked to say at the Old Lyme Guest House for a couple of nights in July as a birthday treat for my partner. From my first e-mail to the second we unfortunately had to leave Tracy & Paul could not have been better hosts. This is a fabulous place to stay, the location is perfect (made easier by the free parking a very short distance away), rooms are immaculate, breakfast is excellent, cooked freshly to order and made with locally sourced produce. We cannot imagine a better place to stay, our only concern is that with all the fantastic reviews it will be harder to return due to its popularity! Don't be put off by Room 2 (the only room without en-suite facilities) as the private bathroom was only a few steps away and as clean and immaculate as everything else. Thank you both for a wonderful stay.............we will definatley be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It's great to know that our private bathroom for Room 2 didn't detract from your enjoyment, and it's very kind of you to point it out. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I spent two nights here and have had a great time. The rooms are scrupulously clean and comfortable, everything you need, lovely towels, good shower, comfy bed, friendly and helpful hosts, very good breakfast, immaculate breakfast room with fresh linen and really excellent choice of food. Could not recommend enough. Perfect central location and free parking. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerbenaBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review - look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

After 3 nights in a not very good establishment the Old Lyme was like finding an oasis in the desert. It was clean, comfortable, beautiful fluffy towels in the ensuite and those little touches that you usually only find in hotels (hand soap, shampoo, shower gel, etc.). Breakfast was cooked to order and there was fruit, cereal yoghurt and orange juice to help yourself to. Ideally located in the town close to all the amenities and the beach and a good bus service to places like Seaton and Beer further down the coast so no need for the car. We were made to feel welcome straight away and Paul even took our luggage up to our room while I parked the car. We would certainly recommend it and will stay there again when we next visit Lyme Regis.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Nice bed and breakfast, rooms clean and tidy . This is a great location for the town and beaches. Breakfast was ok, no fried bread! Parking wasn't an issue for us but might be for others as you need to park at council car park up a steep hill.

Room Tip: If you don't like hills don't stay here as car park is at top of a hill.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and did not find our parking arrangements a problem. We were disappointed at your comment that the parking is at the top of a hill, because this is incorrect. Our car park is 200 yards from our front door, 150 yards along the level Coombe Street, then a further 50 yards which takes you less than half way up Hill Rd. Lyme Regis is a very hilly town, but fortunately we are just 200 yards level walk to the seafront, so you only need go up this short hill at the end of your stay to retrieve your car. I would think it's more appropriate to say if you don't like hills don't stay in Lyme at all! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
424 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lyme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lyme Guest House

Property: Old Lyme Guest House
Address: 29 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA "Highly Commended" winner of Gold Star award for 5 consecutive years. 200 Yards LEVEL walk to the sea, restaurants and shops from our front door, in the "Old Town" area of Lyme Regis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Lyme Guest House Hotel Lyme Regis
Old Lyme Hotel
Old Lyme Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing