We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Lyme Guest House
Ranked #6 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just got back from a week staying here and it was outstanding. It is a Home that Paul and Tracy welcome you into with comfortable clean rooms, superb breakfast and is ideally located in the centre of Lyme with 2 minutes walk of the beach and several high quality restaurants, serving local food, are located within short walking distance.We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone. We will be going back, if there are any vacancies.

Room Tip: Room 1 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLane20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
127
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Have just spent three nights at the Old Lyme Guest House and have to say it is the best guest house ever - Paul and Tracey were very friendly, helpful and served up the most delicious full English breakfast. Our room was very cosy and comfortable, not cramped in any way and very quiet even though we were at the front overlooking Coombe Street. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was my second visit to the Guest House. I loved it so much the first time I visited in April this year to go fossil hunting, I returned for the Guitars on the Beach event and never even considered booking a room anywhere else. Paul and Tracey didn't disappoint as the room was immaculate with plenty of tea/coffee etc, fluffy white towels in the bathroom and in the morning, the best cooked breakfast you could possibly have. If I visit Lyme Regis in the future, Paul and Tracey's is where I'll stay, you won't be disappointed if you do too.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are on the top floor, if stairs are an issue, ask for rooms 1, 2, or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

If you have got this far in your research, look no further. Just book it. You will NOT be disappointed. Just wonderful in all aspects. Paul and Tracey are helpful, friendly, polite and efficient. Placing a jug of filtered water in the room each day is a nice touch and very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinAitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We visited this Guest House in August. It is in a very narrow street, but if you call Paul just before arriving he will meet you at the front door, give you the car park pass and take your luggage. By the time I arrived back from parking the car the luggage was already in our room. Great customer service. This continued throughout our two night stay, nothing was too much trouble. It's a great location, just minutes from the centre of the town. As stated by other reviews, very clean and comfortable rooms and a great breakfast. Next time we visit Lyme Regis this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor could be tricky for people with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the trouble to review us. Paul & Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

What an excellent Guest House this is. A lovely friendly welcome - super information given about the Guest House, and the local area. Spotless room, and very comfortable. Great little touches - soap, shampoo/shower soap, tea/coffee making facilities(and nice biscuits),even a darning kit!
Superb breakfast cooked to order, and fruit juices, cereals etc. available and plentiful. Arrangements for car parking are really good and after a little walk uphill the car park is most convenient, as is the Guest House in easy distance from the main facilities in Lyme. This lovely base helped us to enjoy a golden wedding couple of days with local friends.
It's a must say again place!

Room Tip: First floor - room 1 with en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiloHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - so kind of you to take the trouble. Glad you liked the biscuits, I must say the butterscotch crunch are my favourites... although Paul prefers the chocolate shortbreads :-) . Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Booked to say at the Old Lyme Guest House for a couple of nights in July as a birthday treat for my partner. From my first e-mail to the second we unfortunately had to leave Tracy & Paul could not have been better hosts. This is a fabulous place to stay, the location is perfect (made easier by the free parking a very short distance away), rooms are immaculate, breakfast is excellent, cooked freshly to order and made with locally sourced produce. We cannot imagine a better place to stay, our only concern is that with all the fantastic reviews it will be harder to return due to its popularity! Don't be put off by Room 2 (the only room without en-suite facilities) as the private bathroom was only a few steps away and as clean and immaculate as everything else. Thank you both for a wonderful stay.............we will definatley be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It's great to know that our private bathroom for Room 2 didn't detract from your enjoyment, and it's very kind of you to point it out. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
436 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
350 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lyme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lyme Guest House

Property: Old Lyme Guest House
Address: 29 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA "Highly Commended" winner of Gold Star award for 5 consecutive years. 200 Yards LEVEL walk to the sea, restaurants and shops from our front door, in the "Old Town" area of Lyme Regis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Lyme Guest House Hotel Lyme Regis
Old Lyme Hotel
Old Lyme Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing