We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Lyme Guest House
Ranked #6 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem of a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our first visit to this beautiful town and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Warm and friendly hosts who shared a wealth of knowledge of the area that was not in the guide books. Absolutely spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds, quiet and yet minutes away from everything. The breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent ingredients served with a smile. Would not hesitate to recommend this gem.

Room Tip: Room 5 was a pretty room and with a large ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise190919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you've enjoyed your stay ( and the large bathroom!). We look forward to seeing you again some time. Kind Regards Tracey and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
117
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a B&B in a perfect location, a stone's throw from the seafront, with spotless accommodation, beautifully presented breakfasts and charming hosts, then look no further - the Olde Lyme is for you. We have just spent a week there and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Tracey and Paul are a delightful couple who will make your visit, however long or short, very worthwhile. So, look no further - get booking!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks, Judith, for your lovely review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your week with us. It's very kind of you to recommend us. Best wishes Tracey and Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The house is in a side street, with parking provide a short walk up the hill. The room, whilst not large, was comfortable and charming. The breakfast was excellent, and the hosts welcoming and helpful. Best of all was the location, quiet but still in the heart of Lyme. We would definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review! We're delighted to hear you've had a good time in Lyme - maybe see you again on your next visit. Best wishes Tracey and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

A return visit to the Old Lyme; as clean, comfortable and central as ever. Breakfasts still great (my husband says no one poaches such a great egg as Tracy) and friendly and considerate as they have always been. Perfect location and this historic building is the perfect lace for a Lyme visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effiejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank-you, Jill, for taking the time to review us again. We're so glad that hubby is still enjoying the poached eggs - but we can't take all the credit - it's down to the eggs, which we source from a local farm. I'm sure a happy hen makes for a better poacher!! :-) Look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Tracey and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night. This B&B has a warm and welcoming feel. Paul & Tracy were good hosts and our room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was really good also. Lyme sells itself as always. This B&B is to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us - we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks, best wishes Paul and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

just back after a three night stay at old lyme and can honestly say we could not fault this b&b. paul and tracey were lovely hosts and the breakfast was all you could ask for. would certainly stay again. thanks for everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thanks, Thomas, for your very kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay - despite the rainy Sunday, typical Easter, eh?! Thanks again, and hope to see you if you visit Lyme again in the future. Kind regards Tracey and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night stay over Easter at the Old Lyme. This is a fabulous B & B, just off the seafront, in the former Post Office building. The owners Paul and Tracey were extremely helpful throughout the booking process and during our stay. We stayed in rooms 4 and 5 at the top of the house which was ideal as it meant we had the top floor to ourselves. Room 4 is extremely spacious with an extra bed (for families ) and a two seater settee. Everything was spotless and looked newly decorated with lots of extra touches to make our stay extremely comfortable. Breakfast was from 8.15 to 9.00 am which was fine by us and there was plenty of choice including fresh fruit salad and homemade muesli. Paul was very knowledgable about the area and gave us some good tips about the various restaurants and pubs.

Lyme Regis is a delightful quaint seaside town with lots of trendy restaurants and shops. The seafront and the cobb are spectacular. The only negative comment I would make was that many of the restaurants and pubs seemed very expensive which was a surprise - main courses were about £15 each and pub lunches about £8 or £9 (even more expensive than London prices). We found a newly opened café/restaurant on the front called the Lime Tree which was much more reasonable and ate dinner there twice. The chip shop next to the Old Lyme was also very good.

We did part of the coast walk to Seaton on the Saturday which was very pleasant. We only went part of the way as the whole walk takes about 4 hours and there is a notice saying that it is quite difficult in places.

Then on the Sunday we went to Seaton to the tram attraction as it was a cold wet day. This was very reasonable only £10 each. They have restored various trams which go along the river for about a 25 minute ride. At the end there is a nice shop and café and it is only a short walk to the village centre.

So all in all I would definitely recommend Lyme Regis and the Old Lyme Guest House especially.

Room Tip: Room 4 at the top of the house is a family room so has plenty of space with a 2 seater settee and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay, not just with us, but also in Lyme itself and the surrounding areas. Thanks again! Best wishes Tracey and Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lyme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lyme Guest House

Property: Old Lyme Guest House
Address: 29 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA "Highly Commended" winner of Gold Star award for 5 consecutive years. 200 Yards LEVEL walk to the sea, restaurants and shops from our front door, in the "Old Town" area of Lyme Regis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Lyme Guest House Hotel Lyme Regis
Old Lyme Hotel
Old Lyme Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing