We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue for a great family Christmas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westwood Guest House
Ranked #2 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue for a great family Christmas!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Our extended 'family' of 16 stayed here for a lovely Christmas. The ensuite rooms were ideal for allowing us all to stay comfortably and the conservatory dining room accommodated us all for some truly special Christmas meals. The house had been tastefully decorated for the festive season and the short walk into town allowed us to make some last-minute purchases! A long walk on the beach on Boxing day was just what was needed to help to walk off those extra calories!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Derbyshire-Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    56
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
273
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Westwood Guest House has to be one of the best kept secrets in Lyme Regis.
The quality of the food and the rooms were very good but the helpfulness of Lavinia who runs it is second to none, There was nothing that was to much trouble.
She made our stay perfect.
The balcony outside our room gave a lovely view over the bay.
We cant wait for the summer, to sit out there in the warm evening with a glass of something nice.

We will be returning for another stay in the new year even before the summer weather gets here.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a lovely balcony to enjoy the view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have just returned from a few days break in Lyme Regis where we stayed at the Westwood Guest House. The room was lovely- comfortable and warm bed, very large ensuite with shower,and all the other essential facilities-including stunning views of Lyme bay from two windows. There was a sofa in the room which was so comfortable it was a struggle to leave it to walk down to town for dinner! - (which was a lot easier that we thought for- don't be put off by the hill!) Breakfast was of a high quality with lots of choice and prompt service. Thoroughly recommend this lovely guest house to anyone wanting somewhere of quality in Lyme

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACole1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just had a delightful overnight stay in the Westwood Guest House with a friend. Both our rooms were delightful and spotlessly clean, both leading out on to a roomy balcony with a wonderful view over Lyme Bay. Breakfast in the light-filled conservatory extension - again overlooking the bay - was excellent. Very friendly and helpful owner, who makes a point of personal service and attention to detail. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJB194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We hired the guest house for the Fri-Sun weekend in November and invited 14 guests along. Everything was as promised, the rooms comfortably furnished and the lounge, kitchen and conservatory great settings for our party to mingle. A real home from home and tastefully decorated throughout. We had booked breakfast for our group each morning and no one was disappointed. A leisurely 15min walk to the seafront on Saturday, via the microbrewery, good local pubs (Nags head is 5 min and played great live music) and diner (Sat) at the Mariners (very friendly excellent value and good quality seafood). Managed to park 5 cars on site and every single member of our group said they would pick this guesthouse to holiday if they were returning or recommending to a family or friend. We had a fantastic stay - thanks to Lavinia and staff

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for those not wishing to take the stairs. Some rooms open onto raised decking, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13HarryB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was in Lyme Regis for a friend's wedding and stayed at the hotel in May. The owner is an excellent hostess, and was very helpful. The bedroom and hotel was spotless. I received an excellent level of service, above and beyond one's expectation. Breakfast was delicious.I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent 3 nights here recently. Would recommend the Garden Suite, which gave that extra bit of space to sit and relax. (no WiFi connection - so had to go to the main part of the house for this). The owner was very helpful. We used the dining list she suggested and were not disappointed with the restaurants that we visited. After a breakfast at this guest house, you want nothing more than a cup of tea and a piece of cake for lunch. The Guest House is close to the town centre. Plenty of hills to climb!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
436 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Guest House

Property: Westwood Guest House
Address: 1 Woodmead Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Guest House is a luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the beautiful Dorset resort of Lyme Regis at the heart of the Jurassic coast. The building as been extended and tastefully refurbished to the highest standards. The contemporary feel to Westwood offers much, much more than you’d expect from a guest house. We think you’ll be pleasantly surprised!Each room has been individually designed to be comfortable, relaxing and features stunning views from every aspect. From the front of the house you can look over Lyme Bay, right across Lyme Bay to Portland Bill and Golden Cap, from the rear of the house you can enjoy wonderful woodland views.All our rooms have either Super King, King or Twin beds and feature large en-suite shower rooms, each one offers a host of features such as: flat screen TV’s, hairdryers, iron and ironing boards.On arrival you will find fresh milk in your own fridge, in addition, there’s a safe for your valuables… just the right size for your laptop. And talking of laptops, the whole of the house is totally ‘wifi’ enabling you to stay in touch whenever you take your holiday break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Guest House Hotel Lyme Regis
Westwood Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing