We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at the Blue Sky Lyme Regis”
Review of Blue Sky

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Sky
Ranked #44 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at the Blue Sky Lyme Regis”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just finished our second stay at the Blue Sky B&B. Since our last stay the place has had a lick of paint and the same room we stayed in last time redecorated. The breakfast room has changed which has made it more communal which we liked, but listening to some other guests comments wasn't universal. The cooked breakfast sets you up for the day with a continental breakfast also available in your room. Its well situated with easy access to the beach and town and a 24 hour car park only two minutes away for £2.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Well, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My Partner and i enjoyed staying at the Blue Sky B&B. The location was ideal providing easy access to the beach and town on foot. The room was decorated to a good standard and the bed was very comfortable. There was a good variety of books to read in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I don't understand the less-than-complimentary reviews posted here. We had a FANTASTIC stay. My partner and I (32 YO) stayed for 3 nights at the end of a long holiday around Europe. We organized our stay mid-travel and the host, Claire, got back to us straight away via email and gave us very helpful info about getting there, and events that were on the night we were going to arrive. The B&B is just up the road from the bus stop in the centre of town (1 minute walk!). Key pin system for the door is brilliant! We stayed in the King room downstairs (#7?). The room itself was lovely, with views of the trees outside the window. Big white wrought iron bed, reading lamps, wardrobe, sitting chair, and a very cosy feel. Bathroom was small but clean. Highly recommend the veggo cooked breakfast (Yummo veggie sausages!). Not sure how some reviewers complained of being hungry - there's cereals and yoghurt, toast, juice and fruits, then a full cooked breakfast! Claire was even kind enough to give us (permanently!) her spare adaptor for English sockets as we hasn't realized our European one wouldn't work. We had a great time here, and would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This b&b is in a great location and the car park is cheap and within easy reach, plus there's short stay parking right outside if you have a lot of luggage. But we were disappointed with our stay for a number of reasons. Firstly the room was very compact - wardrobe not big enough to hang more than a couple of things, shower so small that you can't shave your legs without banging your head on the wall. The lamp in the room had no bulb in and when sat on the bed you could not see the tv due to the bed foot (and no space to sit elsewhere!)
The breakfast time is 8.15 til 9.15, even at weekends and the main breakfast self service table was right outside our room, which meant the early risers woke us up( through no fault of their own). The breakfast itself was poor.. No fresh tea, coffee or toast ( left on a hot plate) when i asked for some toast i got one slice and never offered any more! At 9.15 on the dot it all got cleared away without asking if we would like anything else. The cooked breakfast was cheap... Tinned mushrooms, poor quality sausage and beans. For the price paid you would at least expect a fresh and good quality breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night whilst bicycle touring the south-west coast.

Was greeted with a lovely response from the host and she was more than happy to let me keep my bike inside.. (Even in my room)

The room & onsuite was gorgeous & really laid out well. Was gasping for a cuppa when I got in and it was great to see mugs in the room instead of those piddley cups you normally find in B&Bs :)

I had a cooked breakfast which was nice but quite small.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareyMcbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Blue Sky was easy to find and is in a handy location for the town. Agreement on the door-entry system; very simple! Clare the `landlady` was very friendly and welcoming, as were the rest of her staff we saw (but not overbearing). My wife (another Claire) and I, found Room 5 to be clean and comfortable enough for our short 3 night stay. The floor has a quirky tilt to it, which can be a bit disconcerting, and it lead to a few comedy moments! The only odd thing was the shower and its fitting; they didn`t seem to match, and this made getting a good angle difficult! Can`t have been too much of a problem as we forgot to mention it to Clare! The view was better than expected, it was good to see a bit of sea.
The breakfast room is compact and bijou, but does its job! Not sure what happens when all the rooms are taken though, queuing system?!? The food was fine, plenty of toast, cereals, and fry-up options. A selection of tea, coffee (a mild one, which was ok for a starter-upper), fruit and yoghurts where also on offer. We did think that a sitting room might be available, but I suppose it`s not a `guest house` after all. Thanks Clare, we may well come back sometime!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickPGtBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Had a lovely experience there a few months ago, highly recommend. everything was very clean and the staff were very friendly, We also loved the location and found it to be perfect, will tell my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin6449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.2 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
141 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Garret B & B
The Garret B & B
#28 of 45 in Lyme Regis
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
#23 of 45 in Lyme Regis
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky

Property: Blue Sky
Address: 8 Pound Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bed and Breakfast at Blue Sky. All rooms have undergone full refurbishment ready for Jan 2010 under new ownership. We hope that you like our rooms as much as we do and look forward to your visit. Just a stone's throw from Lyme Town Centre and Heritage Beach, we offer quality Bed and Breakfast all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Hotel Lyme Regis
Blue Sky Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing