We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Dining area Main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Lounge
Dining area
Main bedroom
Main bedroom (2)
Second bedroom
Second bedroom (2)
Front of house
Small rear garden with decking area
Pool view & Dorset countryside beyond
View across Lyme Bay from Fernhill
Heated swimming pool
Heated swimming pool (2)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angie e
1 review
“Great location and accomodation”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a terrific week at this house.. everything we needed was there. We all enjoyed the pool and it's a nice walk into the village and beach of Charmouth..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our lovely holiday home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llaidback
leicester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely pet-free bolthole between Lyme Regis and Charmouth”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This lovely little house is set (with other holiday lets) in the grounds of a hotel on the road between Lyme Regis and Charmouth. It is a very pleasant, quiet area. The hotel allows use of their outdoor pool and furniture (if you are fortunate enough with the weather) with a returnable deposit and the purchase of a drink from the bar. It is a short drive to local beaches for fossil hunting or strolling, or to good local pubs (esp' the Royal Oak - great home cooked style food), or to the towns themselves. The house itself is a pet-free zone (for the allergy sufferers) and is a homely 2 up 2 down - but with 2 bathrooms (handy with kids!). The Wi-Fi is about £18 for 5 day tokens from BT and isn't the strongest signal but manageable. The kitchen was more than adequate. The owner is friendly and helpful. I'm really struggling to find anything to moan about at all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your excellent review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Where was the "lovely holiday home"?”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have stayed at other accommodation on the Fernhill Hotel site during several previous stays. We were expecting this particular stay to be at the top end in terms of decor and cleanliness, given the higher price we paid and the description given. We were sadly mistaken however. Furniture was tired and damaged. Dust and cobwebs were in abundance. The fridge was way too small and needed defrosting and there was nowhere to put our shopping in the kitchen. There wasn't even free WiFi! The site around the Fernhill Hotel has many similar properties at much more competitive rates and higher standards. ln my opinion the description, "lovely holiday home" is just not accurate, unless you happen to like dirt and dust.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lack of cleanliness and tired out furniture
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
We were very disappointed to read your feedback following your holiday. We would love to have been able to assist you during your holiday and we are always available to assist our holidaymakers if and when they contact us.
We were sorry to hear that our normal high levels of cleanliness did not reach your expectations on this occasion. Thank you for your feedback which has been passed on to our cleaning team who will act upon it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
averil201...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful, comfortable, warm!”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Have just spent 9 days at property, cannot fault at all. Would be my own choice of decor
And furnish, clean, modern and comfortable. A few chilly days came upon me, so was so
Glad of heating - very efficient and so easy to operate! My main draw was waking up to
The nearby sound of the birdsong nestling In the trees outside bedroom window, absolute
Paradise, hope to take my sister and mother with me later this year. Daffodils all in bloom
Around complex, so pretty!
Averil, Oxford

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we look forward to welcoming you back later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday cottage for our family”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just had a fabulous stay in this perfect holiday home. From our initial queries about the property to our departure, the owner was so helpful and informative.

The house is in the perfect position. So close to both Lyme Regis and Charmouth. It is set in stunning woodland grounds that were great to explore with our young daughter. Being able to access the close by Hotel and it's out door pool was fantastic. Being so lucky with the weather we went swimming everyday.
The house itself had everything we needed,. It was spotless and airy. It also had extremely comfortable beds.
It was also very practical for a family, having two bathrooms and wooden floors (Easy to sweep up any sand that followed us back from the beach!) The kitchen was well appointed and easy to use.
We would love to come back and would highly recommend it to families that want to explore such a beautiful area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's proximity to a pool and local beaches
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
We are delighted that you had such a fantastic stay in our house and of course we would be pleased to welcome you back again. We welcome your great comments about the house and the surrounding facilities and amenities. Many thanks for the feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owdfossil
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation.”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed with Wife,Daughter and Grand daughter. Owner very helpful when booking. Cottage very well located for Charmouth,Lyme and Jurassic Coast. Accommodation very clean and well maintained. Everything we needed was provided. Swimming Pool and Fish Lake was much appreciated by Grand daughter. (fish feeding most evenings !!) Evening meal at Hotel very good. Beds comfortable and over all a great experience. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of cottage. Location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your very positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments confirm our own opinion about the house, the facilities, and the fantastic attractions close by. We hope to welcome you gain to our holiday home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmileyT63
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, location location!”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family had a lovely stay here. The home had everything we needed, bijou but comfortable, clean and charming. It is set in glorious, peaceful grounds next to fields and woodlands and just off the A35. We startled a deer very near our homestead and spotted a fox near the golf course through the woods. We found the hotel's heated outdoor pool very pleasant. It's a 20 minute stroll to Charmouth beach with its fossil visitor centre which we really enjoyed (also a well stocked convenience store in the village). We also walked through the woods, over the permissive path through the golf course and down to the diverted Coast Path to Lyme Regis a few times (45 mins). Wonderful views out to the Cobb and over the town on the way down but a very steep climb on the way back (alternatively use the bus which stops outside the hotel). This place is ideal if you like the outdoors but is equally well placed to visit the many wonderful places in Dorset and beyond. We'd definitely like to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No access to garden from house (but could walk around)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in our house as well as taking advantage of the surrounding countryside. Also, we would be delighted to welcome you back. Best Wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing