We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A family party for a 60th birthday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter Geo...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A family party for a 60th birthday”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The property was perfect for our party. the rooms had great views and the space was appreciated by 12 of us.
Spotlessly clean and with valuable town centre parking included meant it was a no hassle long weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thank you very much Peter for your positive review - hope to see you all soon.
Terry - The White House - Lyme Regis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-Jane...
1 review
“Fabulous weekend with friends”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The White House was the perfect location for one of our friends meet ups. It was walking distance to Lyme Regis town and beach which meant a day without the car
The house was clean and well presented and equiped. The children ( and adults) loved exploring the house! The games room was a bonus too.
The owners were very helpful and left a lovely treat basket for us too
We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2017
Thank you MJ for such a great review. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Dec 2016
Dear J, Thank you so much for your positive review and thanks also for being such great guests. Look forward to you staying again. Terry & Jinling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tonycroft...
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

First rate accommodation, well equipped, clean and tidy, ideal for 12-14 people. Central to Lyme Regis with off street parking!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: House and location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you Tony for your positive review. We look forward to you and your friends visiting again. Regards Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaJan
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome house, perfect location”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The White House is absolutely perfect for a large group getaway. Terry and Jinling made a point of welcoming us personally and were most friendly and helpful; we didn't have any problems, but I'm sure they would have responded immediately if we had. Terry also answered emails very promptly pre- rental.
Most bedrooms have ensuites and are equally well appointed so no arguments about who goes where, all but one have a TV. En suites/fittings/decor all modern and tasteful. There are nice touches like a welcome pack of wine & Devon biscuits and slippers for everyone. The lounge is enormous and comfortable and, if you have children, the games room with giant TV, console games, pool/table football is awesome! The kitchen is very well equipped and has everything you need ( conveniently 2 kettles, cafetières to cater for large groups) with attractive serving dishes and crockery. We cooked in on the Saturday night and enjoyed a 5 course meal around the giant dining table
There is designated parking for 7 cars at the back of the house down a short driveway.
The house is a 5 minute walk down the hill to the centre of Lyme Regis, well placed for all sightseeing, restaurants and shops. We'd recommend the Millhouse restaurant, the Harbour Inn and the Volunteer Inn ( be warned that no food is served between 2 and 5 in most pubs; we got caught out being used to food available all day long where we live).
We walked (climbed!) up to the Golden Cap where the views were just spectacular and also along Monmouth beach to the Ammonite Pavement where we found several good fossil specimens.
The White House is also available to rent directly through their website.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Dear Fiona, Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We could not have stated it better ourselves - Look forward to seeing you guys again soon. Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G905VAchr...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Place to stay.”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I stayed in the White House with my family to celebrate my Mother's 80th birthday. The trip down was a typical Friday afternoon experience, long and so it was so nice to be greeted by the owners who were extremely friendly and helpful. Parking in Lyme Regis is a nightmare and so to have ample parking at the house was a real bonus. The property itself is beautiful with plenty of space and all the rooms have been furnished to a very high quality. The views are breath taking. I would strongly advise anyone looking far a wonderful place to stay in the Lyme Regis area to stay here and I would have no hesitation in returning for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property experience
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
C, Thank you so much for your positive review - we look forward to having you and your family again soon. Regards Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabCarnt
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I've just returned from a perfect weekend in Lyme Regis staying at The White House.
From the offset when enquiring about the house Terry, the owner, was helpful and friendly making the planning of a group holiday a little less stressful.
The whole party - 12 adults - were extremely happy with the house. There are no 'bad' rooms, everything was clean and comfortable, and the facilities were spot on.
Whether we were cooking and sitting down to eat (comfortably at one table) or relaxing in the living room nothing had been forgotten. A home from home!
We didn't even use one reception room, the games room, which was well kitted out with games consoles and table football... wine and food was more on the agenda for this weekend.
In terms of location it is perfectly positioned at the top of the high street. Right in the heart of Lyme Regis, but still somewhere peaceful to retreat to.
To top it all off Terry and his wife (and a friend) acted as a first rate taxi service to take us to the River Cottage on the Saturday night, picking us up at 11pm. A 5 star service.
The whole group were so complimentary about the weekend and the house played such a central role in making sure the weekend was perfect for everyone.
I would recommend this accommodation to anyone having a large party - both for families and adults. We'll be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rooms all a high standard
Liked least: More toilet roll
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank Gaby - Such a great review - You were a fantastic group and we look forward to you staying gain. Take Care. Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing