We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“40th Birthday Treat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Howard W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“40th Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We booked the White House for my Wife’s 40th Birthday. This house was a brilliant find. It is extremely well equipped down to every detail. All of the rooms are very well decorated and are large. Even though we were a group of 10, 14 could easily be accommodated. Terry and his Wife met us on arrival and were really helpful.

In summary we all loved it and both the house and Lyme Regis were perfect for our break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2018
Howard,
Thank you so much for your positive review and comments in the visitors book. And thanks for being such great guests. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards
Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC900
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home, but better!”
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Great location at the top of the High Street, off street parking, warm welcome, excellent accommodation throughout including really well equipped and thought through kitchen. Stylish and comfortable sitting room and games room. Plenty of bathrooms.
Very happy to recommend and hopefully will get to return another time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Hi H, Thank you so much for your very positive review and for being such great guests - look forward to seeing you again soon. Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJHARR201...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful House in a great location - perfect for a large family gathering!”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This property exceeded all our expectations. The location was great - just off the Main Street - with plenty of private parking (a real bonus in Lyme) and the sea views from many of the rooms were fabulous.
The house was spotlessly clean and all the many en-suites immaculate.The beds were comfortable with lovely crisp white bed linen and TVs in each room. With so much attention to detail, contemporary furnishings and a very well equipped kitchen, suitable for catering for large groups, it really did feel like a home from home.
The rooms were far more spacious than they appeared in the photos and it was lovely to be able to have everyone fit comfortably into one room for a film night on the huge TV!
The only reason I would not recommend this property is that I would like it to be available for my next trip to Lyme Regis!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
T, Thank you so much for your fabulous review - very much appreciated. Please let me know the dates in 2019 you are interested in. Happy New Year.
Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nood1986
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Christmas”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We booked the White House to celebrate our baby's first Christmas with both sides of the family. It was a fantastic house and exceeded all expectations! We loved everything and the owner's had even put up a tree for us. Truly the best way we could have spent our first Christmas as a new family and it felt like a real home.
The location was brilliant, right in the town. All the bedrooms had en suites and were well kitted out (nearly a tv in every room). The lounge and games rooms were very spacious. The whole house was fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Dear Nood1986,
Thank you so much for your review and positive comments - my wife and I love The White House and are so pleased that guests appreciate its charm and beauty also. Hope to see you guys again soon. Happy New Year. Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Dec 2017
David, Thank you so much for your positive review - look forward to you booking again. Best Regards. Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roving580...
1 review
“Perfect location and everything you need for a perfect break away.”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We are a group of 13 friends who enjoy meeting up to celebrate an early Christmas together. The White House is perfectly situated in Lyme Regis, and only a short walk to the shops, beaches and the Cobb. We enjoyed a takeaway from the Indian next door which was very tasty. The house is very homely and welcoming and the views from most of the bedrooms are stunning. It was very clean and modern. We had good weather so didn't get to enjoy the games room but maybe next time. There are lots of original shops in Lyme Regis and can recommend the Lyme Bay Christmas Pudding Wine. Have already recommended the White House to my work colleagues and will definitely return one day. Its a wonderful place to unwind and have fun with family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments - Look forward to seeing you all again soon. Best Regards. Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The White House”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The house was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. We were a party of twelve and there was plenty of room to relax in the lounge. The games room and multiple large screens were very popular. The location is perfect to explore Lyme Regis and the surrounding area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
David,
Thank you for your positive comments and for leaving the house as you found it. Look forward to your group visiting again. Regards. Terry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing