We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped house in great location perfect for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
oldkenlad...
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well equipped house in great location perfect for family get togethers”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Positioned just off the main street The White House has multiple car cars spots for people staying here which was perfect. Beautifully presented and every possible bit of kitchen equipment you may need this was a home from home house- rare to find.
We were a family group of 8 with 3 cars meeting up in Lyme Regis and this house would comfortably manage its 14 capacity. Lovely town, great restaurants and amazing walks made this a great weekend destination that we would love to return to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2018
Dear Oldkenlady,
Thank you for your great review of your stay at The White House and thank you for leaving the house as you found it.
Look forward to you staying again.
Regards
Terry & Jinling
The White House - Lyme Regis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpez
Walton on Thames
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We booked the White House for our mum's 80th birthday, so all the family could be together. The house is beautiful, beds are very comfy. The owners are lovely people and could not do enough for us. Our mum had a lovely birthday and it was nice for us all to be together from all over the country.
Would recommend the accommodation and location. Will definitely be booking again for a family get together.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
Dear Sanpez,
Thank you for your Fabulous review and thanks for leaving the house as you found it. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Best Regards
Terry & Jinling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattie86
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Our stay could not have been better!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had a wonderful time at the White House! On first walking in we were wowed by the beautiful style of the interior and how light and airy all the rooms were. This is such a practical house for a large group with loads of space. The kitchen was superbly equipped with everything we needed for cooking large group meals together and I have to highlight how delightful both Terry and his daughter were. They came over in minutes when we couldn’t work out the oven and were so friendly and made us feel really very welcome.
The parking is very practical for the centre of such a compact place as Lyme and the location is wonderful! We had silent peaceful nights on comfy beds, waking up and hearing only birds and yet only 2 minutes walk to the beach and centre of Lyme Regis town. The sea views from several of the bedrooms are stunning and from the outdoor patio space. The website photos do not do the house justice. I cannot rate this house highly enough! It completely surpasses our expectations!
We are already discussing when to book to go back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Hattie, You are a STAR - thank you so much for brilliant review. Look forward to you guys booking again.
Regards
Terry & Daughter Nathalie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham S
1 review
“Briliant”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Four generations in our party, all loved the White House. Lyme Regis has something for everyone, will defiantly book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Graham,
Thank you so much for your review and thanks for being such perfect guests - look forward to you booking again. Regards
Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overton_f...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great house for a big group!”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We booked The White House to celebrate a special birthday with friends and family of various ages. Each of the 7 bedrooms was well appointed with ensuite bathrooms. There are great general areas with TV and games consoles and a very comfortable large living room which was big enough for all of us to get together in. The kitchen had several toasters and kettles which made it easy when preparing breakfast for 14. The kitchen seemed to be well equipped but we didn’t actually prepare any meals there. A big dining room table which could seat all 14 but a slightly cramped dining room but still ample for the job!,
The position of The White House is absolutely brilliant with loads of parking which is amazing to find in Lyme!,
The owners are Terry and Jinling but we only met Terry on this occasion who was a really nice, laid back guy who just let us get on with it but clearly would have been happy to help us out had there been any problems. He was really flexible regarding timings to check in and out. He left a generous basket with wine and biscuits on our arrival which was a lovely touch.
Thoroughly recommend staying here. You won’t be disappointed.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2018
Thank you K for your fantastic review and thank you for leaving the house as you found it - You were great guests and look forward to you staying again. Regards
Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcmullan2...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT EASTER FAMILY HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My family were looking to go to Lyme Regis for Easter weekend 2018 .I started searching a few places that not only could fit us all in but also in our price range.
The White House looked perfect so got in touch with the owners. So glad i did, not only was it the perfect location it had everything you could wish for we all had our own room with en-suites, tv's in most of them. which meant we could all have our private time.The house is massive,well equipped plus the extra benefit of 7 free parking spaces at the property.The games room, the lounge, the kitchen all big enough for us all not to mention the dinning room which sat us all around and perfect for beer pong.Look forward to booking it again.Thank you Terence & Jinling

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Thank you for your very positive feedback - look forward to you guys coming again. Best Regards Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachpj
2 reviews
“Very central location to town and the beach - fabulous cottage with stunning views of the bay from most of the bedrooms”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We booked an adults long weekend at this fabulous character cottage. Most bedrooms had amazing views over the bay. Great for entertaining, huge dining table and great seating arrangement in the main lounge area. Games room also with a multi functional games table which would be great for younger kids. Would recommend for families as well as adults for a comfortable and relaxing week/weekend away. The two double bedrooms on the top floor had stunning views and there was also a double and twin room with a Jack 'n' Jill bathroom, ideal for a family unit. Indian restaurant/take-away next door, which came in very handy :-))

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Thank you R, It was a pleasure having you as guests - hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing