We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(Not so great) Night at the Museum”
Review of The Museum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Museum Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“(Not so great) Night at the Museum”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of the great reviews it has had in the past as the perfect place for a short break in Dorset. Unfortunately the quality control/management of the hotel didn't match the infrastructure and the food sourcing. We arrive in the middle of December to be shown into a freezing cold room - because the heating had not been switched on; free Wi-Fi is offered but the signal is so weak (in the Stable Block at least) as to be useless. It took half an hour for our starters to arrive, over an hour for the main course. Whilst waiting, the table next door had to send their food back because it was too cold - and the same happened to my partner, meaning that we ate our dinner separately - rather than together. Hardly what you would expect from one of Dorset's premier gastro-pubs. Having said that, the two young ladies that were the front of house team worked exceptionally hard to recover the failings of the kitchen. The bar was busy and it was clear that they were over-stretched - the lack of a managerial overview was very evident in terms of customer care. The room was clean and well appointed and the breakfast was far better - although we had to wait to be served (due to a wine delivery). So - the food when it was eventually served was very good/excellent - ****; the oversight of the customer experience was sadly lacking - **, hence the *** star rating overall. There's a lot of competition in this space in Central Southern England, I'm not sure we would stay again - especially at the rates they charge.

Room Tip: Better to book in the Inn, rather than the stable block - rooms have more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    59
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
42
114
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were passing, stopped off for lunch, and settled by the log fire. We chose from the Main menu the Sea Bream and the Lamb Shoulder Croquette . Delicious and well crafted meals, every item on our plates a culinary work of art, nothing was bland; we were sorry when the performance came to an end. As is usual for lunch we gave pudding a miss. Expensive? If you were aiming to fill a large hole and had little regard for the value of the Chef's creativity and effort you might think so. But the range of food and prices is large and clearly printed on the menu. If you want simple, filling and less expensive food, as we often do, you can have that here.
Ambience? It's a friendly inclusive sort of place, clearly used as a Meeting place by locals, drinking at the bar, reading their papers in and out of the buzz of conversation and bouts of laughter with the 'owners'? . You’ll see the odd dog or two, padding about the pale flagstones, flagstones still managing like magic to remain spotlessly clean! The pub’s elegant style suggests old, and yet unusually the colours, even of the wood, although muted are relatively light, honeyed, as one might see in a Scandinavian period house. Outside a man was painting the sturdy wooden fencing. Everything everywhere looks pristine - and I include the loos. When I've finished writing this I will read about the place! Presumably it has at one time been a museum. If I turn out to be wide off the mark at least I will have given my first impression.
Would we eat there again - or recommend it to anyone else? Of course we would. It looks to be the sort of eating - or just drinking - establishment that will adapt to requirements ( e.g Restaurant or Pub? Gourmet or Simple food?) and give a warm welcome

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suejoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Booked as my birthday treat. Fabulous!!
"The Catch" bedroom was wonderful, full of character, beautifully decorated & spotless! Bed was the comfiest I've ever slept in!!
Very friendly staff, efficient, attentive & welcoming.
Good choice in the bar.
Food was delicious, huge portions!!
Definitely recommend!! Thank you for a memorable birthday x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownsea-KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Been coming here for years,I like the fact that you just come in with your wellies on and your dog and have a pint of local beer in the flagstone floor bar or dress up a bit and eat in one of 3 carpeted dining areas with a smarter feel,although there were 3 dogs in the small room we were in.Food is upmarket gastro pub, well presented and locally sourced.Good sized starters such as Dorset Blue Vinny souffle(£7), hand dived scallops with crab risotto(£9)-enough for light lunch, followed by good sized Sunday roast with all the trimmings- beautiful medium rare beef, cauliflower cheese,3 other veg,roasties which were they only disappointment (bit hard) and big puffy crispy Yorkshires and gravy.Hard to finish after a starter! Good puddings too for those with room left including a scoop of ice cream+espresso if you can't manage chocolate &Guinness torte or sticky toffee pudding.
Pub located in Cranborne Chase Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with wonderful walks in the vicinity.Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have been to The Museum quite a few times for drinks but last week we had Sunday lunch, the food was absolutely lovely and not over priced as some very close by...
H & G (landlords)were lovely and very friendly as were all the locals we met.

We will certainly be going back for drinks and food, we will be accompanied by a lively puppy next time which were reliably informed would be very welcome.
Cant wait.

R x

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhyan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the General's room which is a nice big room for 3 of us (2 adults and a 2 year old). Breakfast is nice but only comment is that there is a price list on it (which was irrelevant to us as we had breakfast included) but you could get a full English for the same price as 3 tiny croissants, kinda made me feel sorry for anyone that doesn't want to eat so much as they have to pay anyway! Also the food is nice, not amazing but nice but for the price you are paying it needs to be much better considering the portions aren't huge. Also on weekends it gets busy and sometimes service slips as they can't seem to handle it. All in all though it was great and i would definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshj6618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is my second stay with my boyfriend.
When we came here first we loved it. We wanted to come back. And we did.
Rooms are gorgeous. Very homely. The breakfast is very tasty.
I would recommend this pub/ hotel.
We definitely want to come back.
Located in a very peaceful area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyGirl_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
4.0 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
290 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
422 reviews
2.0 mi away
King John Inn
King John Inn
#1 of 1 in Tollard Royal
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cashmoor Inn
Cashmoor Inn
#2 of 3 in Sixpenny Handley
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Museum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Museum Inn

Property: The Museum Inn
Address: High Street, Farnham DT11 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Museum Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Inn is a superb 17th Century country inn situated in the delightful village of Farnham, Dorset, on the glorious Cranborne Chase, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a renowned countryside pursuit's destination. The pub has eight beautifully appointed double en-suite rooms, four in the pub itself and a further four in the old Stables. If you want to add an extra luxurious touch to your stay, choose our General's room which comes complete with floor-to-ceiling French windows, darkwood antique furnishings and a stunning four poster bed. Each of our bedrooms come with luxury Feather and Black bedding, flat screen digital television, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, and tea & coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits. Our 2 Rosettes restaurant serves seasonal British food and you can expect that every plate on the Museum Inn menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With low ceilings, flag stone floors and a roaring log fire, the Museum bar has a cosy, traditional feel with a relaxing ambience that ensures a steady stream of local clientele. It offers a wide selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list. Salisbury and its cathedral are only a 30 minute drive away whilst the beautiful hillside town of Shaftesbury is only 20 minutes. The Museum Inn also sits 2 miles away of the historic Rushmore Park, an area of lawn and open woodland home to the Rushmore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Museum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Museum Hotel Farnham
The Museum Inn Farnham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing